Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios & CPU

Cpu is overheating Core 2 quad Q6600

This is a discussion on Cpu is overheating Core 2 quad Q6600 within the Motherboards, Bios & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. My CPU is running hot its running at 60C-80C and i don't know why Ive reseated the heat sink twice


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-08-2010, 07:56 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: USA , Michigan
Posts: 42
OS: Windows 7 64 bit



My CPU is running hot its running at 60C-80C and i don't know why Ive reseated the heat sink twice so the only thing i can think of is thermal paste but the computer was working fine it just randomly started doing this. my system specs are ATI 4870 graphics card, 4gb ram ddr2,750 watt corsair, Stock CPU heat sink,I don't know the mother boards name but i know its a EVA brand or something like that. Also my CPU is a core 2 quad Q6600.

__________________
HowDareYouKitty is offline  
Old 07-08-2010, 08:31 AM   #2
Moderator Hardware Team
 
koala's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 21,321
OS: Win7-64

My System


When you reseated the heatsink, did you reapply fresh paste? This needs to be done every time the heatsink is removed.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16835100007

__________________

watch?v=CBVFpYN0iNo
koala is offline  
Old 07-08-2010, 08:43 AM   #3
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,053
OS: XP Pro-7



What are you using to see the 60-80C temps?
__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline  
Old 07-08-2010, 09:26 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: USA , Michigan
Posts: 42
OS: Windows 7 64 bit



No i don't have any thermal paste im getting some later today, Im using Coretemp and i know its not a false reading cause if i put my cpu fan on low it goes up to 90C also i used HWmonitor. i don't know if this helps but my old power supply was failing it would overheat plus the back fan was dying then i got my new power supply the corsair 750watt but that was a while ago like 3 weeks ago. Could the heat sink be failing?. im just gonna try add some thermal paste and see if that fix's it
__________________
HowDareYouKitty is offline  
Old 07-08-2010, 09:30 AM   #5
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,479
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



make sure you apply the paste correctly

http://www.arcticsilver.com/methods.html
__________________
dai is offline  
Old 07-08-2010, 12:19 PM   #6
Moderator Hardware Team
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 15,048
OS: Windows 7

My System


if you dont apply paste then it will overheat.
__________________


Microsoft Certified Professional
compTIA Certified Professional
greenbrucelee is offline  
Old 07-08-2010, 12:31 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: USA , Michigan
Posts: 42
OS: Windows 7 64 bit



K i'm getting some paste in like an hour and I'll try that and let you know how it goes.
__________________
HowDareYouKitty is offline  
Old 07-08-2010, 10:29 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: USA , Michigan
Posts: 42
OS: Windows 7 64 bit



Thermal paste didn't help much cause all my cores are at 50C-70C
__________________
HowDareYouKitty is offline  
Old 07-08-2010, 11:01 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: USA , Michigan
Posts: 42
OS: Windows 7 64 bit



Heres a image of what coretemp says
__________________
HowDareYouKitty is offline  
Old 07-09-2010, 02:00 AM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: USA , Michigan
Posts: 42
OS: Windows 7 64 bit



I think I might just buy a new heatsink what heatsink would you guys recommend
__________________
HowDareYouKitty is offline  
Old 07-09-2010, 02:05 AM   #11
Moderator Hardware Team
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 15,048
OS: Windows 7

My System


did you apply the paste correctly?

is the heatsink free of dust and secure?

This is a good one http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showpr...odid=HS-011-NC

So is this http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showpr...57&subcat=1395
__________________


Microsoft Certified Professional
compTIA Certified Professional
greenbrucelee is offline  
Old 07-09-2010, 02:20 AM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: USA , Michigan
Posts: 42
OS: Windows 7 64 bit



The heatsink is dust free and i think I applyed the paste correctly. well when I first got the computer the heatsink was unhooked and one of the pins was broken from shipping but I could still get it to stay in their with 3pins and it was secure.
__________________
HowDareYouKitty is offline  
Old 07-09-2010, 02:57 AM   #13
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,479
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



it needs the 4 pins to be secure it will not be seated with 3
__________________
dai is offline  
Old 07-09-2010, 06:21 AM   #14
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: USA , Michigan
Posts: 42
OS: Windows 7 64 bit



K when I can I'm going to buy the zalman http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showpr...57&subcat=1395
__________________
HowDareYouKitty is offline  
Old 07-09-2010, 08:14 AM   #15
Moderator Hardware Team
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 15,048
OS: Windows 7

My System


good choice. As dai said even if a heatsink seems secure with 3 legs it actually isn't so it will not be doing its job correctly.

Just be aware that to fit the zalman and most other aftermarket coolers you will have to remove the motherboard from the case as there is a special bracket which goes on the bottom of the motherboard to help secure it.
__________________


Microsoft Certified Professional
compTIA Certified Professional
greenbrucelee is offline  
Old 07-09-2010, 08:53 AM   #16
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: USA , Michigan
Posts: 42
OS: Windows 7 64 bit



Ok I don't really have much money right now so would this be good http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...-092-_-Product

I don't overclock so I don't need a really good 1
__________________
HowDareYouKitty is offline  
Old 07-09-2010, 08:58 AM   #17
Moderator Hardware Team
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 15,048
OS: Windows 7

My System


never heard of that brand but if your not doin much on the pc then I suppose it will do.

Just be aware that it wont be able to be turned down or up and will probably be noisy. Actually one the reviews said it was noisy but it will do the job.
__________________


Microsoft Certified Professional
compTIA Certified Professional
greenbrucelee is offline  
Old 07-09-2010, 09:30 AM   #18
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: USA , Michigan
Posts: 42
OS: Windows 7 64 bit



Well I play alot of games but I could do that with no problem with the stock heatsink so this should work fine if I don't get that 1 I'll probly get this one but I don't want to remove my motherboard cause I've never had to remove a mobo



http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...-116-_-Product
__________________
HowDareYouKitty is offline  
Old 07-09-2010, 09:46 AM   #19
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,479
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



i would go for the one that bolts down,the pin set up is a pain

removing the m/b is not hard if you take your time
__________________
dai is offline  
Old 07-09-2010, 09:55 AM   #20
TSF Enthusiast
 
shotgn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 3,897
OS: Win 7 Ultimate 64bit

My System


Only one I could find with screws instead of clips is this one
I imagine if you are not overclocking should be fine till you can afford a better one

__________________
Please post your System specs
CPU-Z - GPU-Z - Speccy - PSU Info and Selection - How to Bench Test - Test your PSU - Memtest86
Do or do not, there is no try -yoda-
shotgn is offline  
Closed Thread
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question

Gear in this thread


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:22 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts