Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios & CPU

Computer starts; No Display, worked in Safe Mode, not anymore

This is a discussion on Computer starts; No Display, worked in Safe Mode, not anymore within the Motherboards, Bios & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Specs: I really have no idea what brand etc my CPU/motherboard/RAM are so I'm going to copy some stuff from


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-03-2007, 03:14 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 4
OS: Vista



Specs:

I really have no idea what brand etc my CPU/motherboard/RAM are so I'm going to copy some stuff from the website.

Dell XPS 400:

Mainboard
* Intel 945G

PSU:
* Operational power consumption
* 375 Watt

Hard drive interface
* DMA/ATA-100 (Ultra)
* 160 GB

2G RAM.

http://reviews.cnet.com/Dell_XPS_400...-31530074.html

OS: Windows Vista(upgraded)

Video Card:

I replaced the video card when I first bought the computer about a year ago. The card that is currently in use is an Nvidia Geforce 7600 GT.

*
I've had the computer for about a year and until now everything has been fine. I was playing World of Warcraft when out of no where the screen turned black, and the green power button on the monitor went from Green to Orange(kind of like a sleep/hibernation mode). I restart the computer and the Dell Intro screen had white verticle ripples in it throughout the screen.

Tried to start in normal mode and nothing worked all I get is a black screen with a mouse pointer. Safe mode worked, until I tried to system restore and it is now doing the same thing as normal windows i.e. the Black screen with the mouse pointer. I hear all the fans when I turn on the computer, no beeping. Whats odd is the screen saver still works with all the designs... I tried changing my video card thinking it was the problem. There are no longer ripples in the screen but I still get the black screen afterwards with the mouse pointer. I can still access the boot menu and stuff but can't get any further.

Now if its not the video card... What else could it be? I'm thinking maybe the power supply? IS there anyway to isolate the problem? What do you think it could be?

__________________
Robby123 is offline  
Old 05-03-2007, 06:06 PM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
linderman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 25,024
OS: win 2000 pro / Win XP pro

My System

Send a message via MSN to linderman

Most likely its your PSU; or at least its a damn good place to start, manufactured PC's like Dell use power supplys that are just barely able to handle the original spec, when you upgraded your video card most likely you you accelerated the decay of the psu life (capacitor aging)

if I were in your shoes, I would try another PSU, if you have to buy one get an Antec Trio rail TP-3 650 watt from best buy, comp usa, staples etc. then if your problem is not solved most large chain stores will let you return the item. Dont get the cheapey house brands, they are real big time junk.

The Antec Trio will not let you down, if you are stuck while in the store the Antec Neo 550 will work although that would not be my choice vs the trio 650

post back with your progress

__________________
Power Supply Selection

If you think a poor quality power supply cant make weird issues; think again!http://www.techsupportforum.com/f15/...ot-458103.html

http://www.techsupportforum.com/f15/...ml#post2598903
linderman is offline  
Old 05-04-2007, 05:18 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 4
OS: Vista



Well I just bought the Antec Neo 550 from Best Buy. I could've sworn I installed it correctly but now when I boot up my computer, instead of the steady green light on the on/off switch of the tower, I see a flashing orange. I dont hear any fans not even the power supply fan, nothing is moving. Im starting to panick. Any help please.
__________________
Robby123 is offline  
Old 05-04-2007, 05:29 PM   #4
TSF Enthusiast
 
linderman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 25,024
OS: win 2000 pro / Win XP pro

My System

Send a message via MSN to linderman

try removing the video card and ram sticks reseat them both
__________________
Power Supply Selection

If you think a poor quality power supply cant make weird issues; think again!http://www.techsupportforum.com/f15/...ot-458103.html

http://www.techsupportforum.com/f15/...ml#post2598903
linderman is offline  
Old 05-04-2007, 05:31 PM   #5
TSF Enthusiast
 
linderman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 25,024
OS: win 2000 pro / Win XP pro

My System

Send a message via MSN to linderman

did you remember to install the four pin cpu power plug ????

the correct four pin cpu power plug should have a snap lock, please verify this
__________________
Power Supply Selection

If you think a poor quality power supply cant make weird issues; think again!http://www.techsupportforum.com/f15/...ot-458103.html

http://www.techsupportforum.com/f15/...ml#post2598903
linderman is offline  
Old 05-04-2007, 05:38 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 4
OS: Vista



Quote:
Originally Posted by linderman View Post
did you remember to install the four pin cpu power plug ????

the correct four pin cpu power plug should have a snap lock, please verify this
It looks as if the power is travelling through the computer I left it open and started it up, noticed a green like by the motherboard.

As for the four pin plug, I did put that in I believe. I replicated the exact way the old PSU was plugged into my comp, but there are alot of left over cables, not sure if I had to plug in some more stuff.
__________________
Robby123 is offline  
Old 05-04-2007, 05:56 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 4
OS: Vista



Tried reseating the vid card, same results, Im starting to think I may have damaged the computer with static, or maybe I connected something incorrectly.

I dont know where the RAM sticks are in the computer heh kind of new at this.
__________________
Robby123 is offline  
Old 05-10-2007, 01:51 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Round Rock, TX
Posts: 90
OS: XP



Robby123, you can get the service manual for your system from the Dell support website (http://support.dell.com/support/edocs/systems/xps400). This has instructions for replacing all of the parts, including the motherboard and power supply.

If the power (on/off button) light is blinking amber (yellow/orange) then make sure the voltage switch on the power supply is set correctly for the power you are connecting to (110 or 220 volt). If the power light is solid orange then a component (memory, or expansion cards such as video or audio) may have failed or need to be reinstalled/reseated.

If you still have the original video card, or if your system has integrated video on the motherboard, try using that instead of the 7900GS to see if the system still has the problem or not.

If you have other questions about the XPS400 I will be more than happy to answer them for you.


Larry
Dell Customer Advocate

__________________
DellCA is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Asus P4P800-P4C800 Series: Promise IDE mode
Here is my version of a step-by-step procedure to create a non-RAID system using a motherboard (mobo) having a Promise PDC20378 chip, such as the Asus P4C800-E Deluxe and many other models. It may be useful for PDC20375 and PDC20376 too-- I'm not sure. This is probably overcomplicated --many...
clintfan Motherboards, Bios & CPU 2 10-13-2009 03:19 PM
Urgent Checkup
Recently had a friend over who installed some software mainly limewire and he was downloading i'm not sure what all he downloaded but I removed most of it and uninstalled limewire. Logfile of HijackThis v1.99.1 Scan saved at 10:37:18 PM, on 12/2/2006 Platform: Windows XP SP2 (WinNT...
dking131504 Inactive Malware Help Topics 6 12-11-2006 12:46 PM
unable to start windows
Yesterday while playing a game, my computer froze up and I had to reboot from the button on the case. While starting up, chkdisk came up. I let it go through the scan and it came back with no errors and proceeded with the normal startup. When the windows loading screen came up however, the system...
mc900 Windows XP Support 8 10-23-2006 11:22 PM
Please help me analysis.
Logfile of HijackThis v1.99.1 Scan saved at 2:40:30 PM, on 11/25/2005 Platform: Windows XP SP1 (WinNT 5.01.2600) MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106) Running processes: C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe...
Daniel89 Resolved HJT Threads 14 11-30-2005 07:25 AM
Websiteviewer-Please help
Websiteviewer porn dialer has found its way onto my computer. Please help. Here's my Hijack this log: Logfile of HijackThis v1.99.0 Scan saved at 4:14:51 PM, on 12/28/2004 Platform: Windows XP (WinNT 5.01.2600) MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 (6.00.2600.0000) Running processes:...
Cropduster Inactive Malware Help Topics 14 01-08-2005 05:09 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:47 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts