Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios & CPU

Computer Shutting Down Due to Overheating CPU

This is a discussion on Computer Shutting Down Due to Overheating CPU within the Motherboards, Bios & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hey there: Title says it all. My computer shut down on me twice tonight due to the fact that I


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-12-2011, 06:01 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 52
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium



Hey there:

Title says it all. My computer shut down on me twice tonight due to the fact that I think my CPU is overheating. The reason I say this is because it looks like there's a lot of dirt and dust in the heatsink. I did buy a can of compressed air last month but being that I'm nervous of stuff, I probably didn't blow it out that well or maybe it's the fact that the dirt is caked on and that I need to actually take the heatsink off the CPU and manually clean it. Now I haven't done it on the computer I have, but did it once on an older computer I used to have. But on the older computer, I could take off the fan and not the actual heatsink itself, but on this computer, it looks like I would have to take off the actual heatsink. Now when I built this computer, it said that I didn't need any thermal grease/heatsink compound since the CPU already had some type of thing on it. But I believe that I would need to have some of that stuff this time. Is that correct? What I'm also worried about is either putting too much or too little of the stuff on.

The CPU is an Intel Core 2 Duo Processor running at 3.0 GHz. I put this computer together in 2008. Now it is in an environment where there's cigarette smoke and now we are in an apartment that has a fireplace in it and it has gotten some fireplace smoke too. I think this is why it's shutting down. What should I do about this problem?

Also, I have a big case fan that will sometimes start up with a grinding noise and doesn't go up to full speed. Usually when this happens, I do not let the PC boot all the way up into the OS and after letting the computer run for a minute or two, I will turn off the computer, turn it back on and it seems to be normal again. What's the cause of the grinding fan/not getting up to full power?

__________________
pcdoctor2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2011, 07:01 PM   #2
Hardware Tech Team
 
makinu1der2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 14,884
OS: Win7,Win XP,PC LinuxOS

My System


Post the complete specs of the PC.

Motherboard-CPU-RAM-Graphics card-Power Supply brand/wattage

Post the temps and voltage readings from the BIOS.

Removing the heatsink to clean would be a good idea.

You will need to thoroughly clean the old thermal material from the heatsink and CPU then apply a new application.

There are numerous tutorials and videos to show the process.

Arctic Silver Incorporated - Route to Product Instructions for Arctic Silver 5

As to your fain may need cleaning, could be failing,or power issue.

__________________
makinu1der2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2011, 07:58 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 52
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium



The motherboard is an ASUS P5Q SE Plus

When I built the computer, I originally put in 2 GB of RAM. I since upgraded it to 4 GB

The video card is an ATI Radeon 4850 I believe It's 512 MB

It has a 500 Watt Power Supply. I don't recall the brand off the top of my head

It;s a 640 GB Sata Hard Drive running windows 7 home premium.
__________________
pcdoctor2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2011, 08:49 PM   #4
Hardware Tech Team
 
makinu1der2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 14,884
OS: Win7,Win XP,PC LinuxOS

My System


Check the temp and voltage readings in the BIOS.
__________________
makinu1der2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2011, 06:20 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 52
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium



I just checked, but as of this point, the temps were 61.5 C/143 F and they were going up a bit too and the fan motors are starting to sound a bit higher. I did watch some videos and it looks rather risky. I may end up having to take it in.
__________________
pcdoctor2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2011, 06:23 AM   #6
Moderator Hardware Team
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 15,258
OS: Windows 7

My System


you need to get those temps down by taking of the cooler and clean the cooler and cpu wih 90% isopropyl alcohol or arti clean 1 & 2 and apply fresh paste.

I would also recommend that you get a decent make of power supply and replace it as obviously you not knowing the make means its a piece of junk. However you can open the case and look at the label on it to find out what it is.

You should have a 550w psu in your system

The psu is the most important component. xfx,seasonic and corsair make the best
__________________


Microsoft Certified Professional
compTIA Certified Professional
greenbrucelee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2011, 08:51 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 52
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium



The power supply that I put in is this kind:

Newegg.com - Antec Basiq BP500UB 500W ATX12V Version 2.01 Active PFC Power Supply - Power Supplies

I put it in this type of computer case:
Newegg.com - Antec Three Hundred Black Steel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case

The case already came with the two big fans that are in it. The one on the top is the one that sometimes grinds at startup but goes away after the computer's been running for a couple of minutes and by turning it off/on.

Of course, I built this system in 2008.
__________________
pcdoctor2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2011, 09:19 AM   #8
Moderator Hardware Team
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 15,258
OS: Windows 7

My System


what were the voltages for the 3.3,5 and 12v readings in the BIOS?

that psu is rubbish should be 550w quality make.
__________________


Microsoft Certified Professional
compTIA Certified Professional
greenbrucelee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2011, 09:20 AM   #9
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,351
OS: XP Pro-7



Redo the Thermal paste as suggested by greenbrucelee.
Your PSU is poor quality and not 80+ certified and that can also contribute to higher temps. You should be at 550W with a good quality 80+ certified unit. SeaSonic-XFX-Corsair (nor the CX or GS Series).
__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2011, 12:25 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 52
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium



OK I took my computer to have it cleaned out last week and all was going fine until just today. I was doing something and the computer shut down on me again. I don't know why it did and I don't think it has to do with the CPU temperature. It was at about 120 degrees farenheight. Now I will say that the computer is up in the loft area of my apartment where it does get rather warm. Not sure if that has to do with it. But what could be the cause?
__________________
pcdoctor2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2011, 01:15 PM   #11
Moderator Hardware Team
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 15,258
OS: Windows 7

My System


check the voltages in the BIOS

as said atleast twice before your psu is low quality and should be replaced.

why did you have to take to somewhere to get cleaned? couldn't you get a can of compressed air and do it yourself?
__________________


Microsoft Certified Professional
compTIA Certified Professional
greenbrucelee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2011, 03:03 PM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 52
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium



Tried compressed air and that didn't work. It was caked on black stuff. Voltage readings are normal. About how much would I expect to spend for a good power supply and what one do you recommend?
__________________
pcdoctor2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2011, 02:45 AM   #13
Moderator Hardware Team
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 15,258
OS: Windows 7

My System


have you cleaned of the old thermal paste and reapplied as suggested?

seasonic,xfx and corsair (not cx or gs models)
__________________


Microsoft Certified Professional
compTIA Certified Professional
greenbrucelee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2011, 04:46 AM   #14
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 52
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium



The guy I took the computer to to have cleaned out blew it out with powerful compressed air than I had. Taking the heatsink off, cleaning off the old thermal paste and reapplying new is something that I am not comfortable of doing myself. I'm afraid of either putting too much paste on or damaging something when trying to get the old stuff off.
__________________
pcdoctor2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2011, 05:18 AM   #15
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Amd_Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 5,106
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1

My System


As mentioned several times earlier your PSU is complete junk and not up to the job. One would think that a user with the user name pcdoctor2 would already know this to be true. You need at minimun a quality 550w psu.
__________________
http://www.piriform.com/speccy - System Specs Link
Amd_Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2011, 06:22 AM   #16
Moderator Hardware Team
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 15,258
OS: Windows 7

My System


how to put on thermal compound http://www.arcticsilver.com/pdf/appm..._line_v1.1.pdf

you must clean of the old compound by using 90% isopropyl alcohol and a lint free cloth although some cofee filters will do the job or you can use arti clean 1 & 2 instead of alcohol.
__________________


Microsoft Certified Professional
compTIA Certified Professional
greenbrucelee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2013, 03:09 AM   #17
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 52
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium



I have a question. Why would you not recommend CX types of power supplies? What's wrong with them?
__________________
pcdoctor2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2013, 05:39 AM   #18
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,351
OS: XP Pro-7



CX, as well as almost the entire Corsair lineup, are supplied by a lower quality manufacturer.
Stay with SeaSonic & XFX for insured quality/reliability.

XFX Core Edition PRO550W (P1-550S-XXB9) 550W ATX12V 2.2 & ESP12V 2.91 SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS BRONZE Certified Active PFC Power Supply - Newegg.com

SeaSonic S12II 620 Bronze 620W ATX12V V2.3 / EPS 12V V2.91 80 PLUS BRONZE Certified Active PFC Power Supply - Newegg.com

If you want Corsair, this is one of the very few SeaSonic made units they still offer: CORSAIR HX series HX650 650W ATX12V v2.2 / EPS12V 2.91 SLI Ready 80 PLUS GOLD Certified Modular Active PFC Power Supply - Newegg.com

__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Overheating CPU?
Hello. I have a Pentium D processor from about 2006. I believe it is the 830 model, since it runs at 3.00 GHz. The computer I've been using has been neglected for years. My brother, who owned it, never cared to maintain it. Now it has been passed down to me. Temperature readings from speed fan...
Maht33n Motherboards, Bios & CPU 4 10-14-2011 04:27 PM
cpu overheating - causing crashes
hey - i know i had a thread about my monitor not working, but i had a better monitor lying around anyway that worked perfectly. please feel free to close my earlier thread. i am having a much more disastrous issue now. after i got my rig set up and working 100%, i decided to get a new case with...
submarinesauce Motherboards, Bios & CPU 15 08-03-2011 12:34 AM
[SOLVED] CPU overheats and computer shutdowns
Hi everyone I built a computer (4 months ago) Recently when I turned on the computer the CPU fan makes a lot of noise (by the way the CPU I am using is a intel i5 3.33ghz) and the computer automatically shutdown itself, I checked the core temperature using a software program *the software states...
lakasaan Motherboards, Bios & CPU 11 01-03-2011 03:38 PM
How to Bench Test / Troubleshoot Your System
The purpose of this thread is to demonstrate an easy way to test your system prior to complete assembly. If you take the time to bench test your build prior to full assembly you will save yourself hordes of time in troubleshooting a faulty component. The most efficient way to minimize lost...
linderman Building 1 08-01-2007 04:15 PM
Power Supply Information and Selection
:smile: CHOOSING AND UNDERSTANDING A POWER SUPPLY UNIT The power supply unit in today’s modern computer assumes a role probably more critical than any other single component in your system even when compared to the CPU and motherboard. Therefore, there are multiple factors that must...
Tumbleweed36 RAM and Power Supply Support 0 07-09-2006 03:41 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:55 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts