Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios & CPU

Computer Shuts Down A Few Minutes After Turning It On

This is a discussion on Computer Shuts Down A Few Minutes After Turning It On within the Motherboards, Bios & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have a Dell Dimension 4700. I've been using it for 3 years now. Today, I turned it on, I

Closed Thread

Old 03-26-2008, 06:45 PM   #1
Registered Member

I have a Dell Dimension 4700. I've been using it for 3 years now. Today, I turned it on, I was about to get to the screen to select which OS to boot from, then it just suddenly shuts down. I tried again, this time pressing F12 on the Dell screen for sytem info, in a few seconds the same thing happened. There isn't a power switch on the back, so I just unplugged it for about 30 minutes, plugged it in again and turned it on. This time I was able to select which OS to boot from, then 2 seconds later it shut down again. This same thing has been happening for the past hour. Each time it shuts down, the power LED blinks yellow and I have to hold it for a few seconds to turn it off then retry.

The last thing I did before this started happening was that I shut down he computer by holding the power button for 4 seconds instead of shutting down properly, I think this has something to do with it.

This has happened before in the past a few times, but never so much at once and I was able to get on eventually. I haven't added any new hardware or installed anything. I don't think its Windows XP since a few times it shut down before I was even able to select which OS to boot from(Both OSes are WinXP on different hdds in case one ever screws up).

So can anyone help?

Old 03-26-2008, 07:33 PM   #2
TSF Team Emeritus

My System

The first thing to do is make sure the heatsink that sits on top the cpu is tight, if it is loose that will cause this.