Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios & CPU

Computer not connecting to monitor or USBs

This is a discussion on Computer not connecting to monitor or USBs within the Motherboards, Bios & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. http://www.techsupportforum.com/f15/...ve-471089.html My problem is similar to the one above, not sure on forum policy regarding where to post similar problems


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-24-2010, 09:57 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 3
OS: Vista 64bit



http://www.techsupportforum.com/f15/...ve-471089.html

My problem is similar to the one above, not sure on forum policy regarding where to post similar problems though.

My computer isn't putting out a monitor output or connecting to USBs. When powered on, all the case fans and the CPU fan come on, as well as the little power LED on the motherboard signalling that it has normal power. The RAM appears to work (the LEDs on my RAM stay lit).

It's a desktop and did undergo a car journey a few days ago, didn't try booting it til last night to find it wasn't working.

Motherboard- Asus P5Q Pro
CPU- Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600
GPU- Radeon HD4850
RAM- 2 x 2Gb GeIL (DDR2)

All help appreciated, tried resetting the CMOS and it didn't work.

__________________
djridley is offline  
Old 03-24-2010, 10:34 AM   #2
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,478
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



what psu

brand
model
wattage

__________________
dai is offline  
Old 03-24-2010, 02:02 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 3
OS: Vista 64bit



PSU is a StealthXtreme 600W.

It's brand new (few weeks old), my old PSU gave out after a power surge. The rig was working fine until now, after one (normal) car journey.
__________________
djridley is offline  
Old 03-25-2010, 03:00 AM   #4
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,478
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



the psu looks like a re-badged fsp supply

i would be running a corsair 650/750 in the system
__________________
dai is offline  
Old 03-25-2010, 07:01 AM   #5
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,536
OS: XP Pro-7



Considering it took a car journey, I would reseat the RAM & GPU and check all the connections very thoroughly.
I would be more suspicious of the Geil RAM than the PSU. I have seen many issues with that RAM brand.
__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline  
Old 03-25-2010, 03:09 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 3
OS: Vista 64bit



Reseated the RAM and GPU, still nothing.

The PSU brand is OCZ, was under the impression they were one of the more reliable brands. Likewise the RAM has been perfect for the 18+ months I've had the computer, and even after the PSU change a few weeks ago.

On an interesting note....found that the motherboard doesn't have an onboard speaker, and nor does my chassis. Was wondering why I couldn't hear any warning beeps.

I've tried resetting the CMOS more thoroughly (taking out the battery etc), still nothing.

__________________
djridley is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:03 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts