Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios & CPU

Computer freezes at black screen (press del to enter setup)

This is a discussion on Computer freezes at black screen (press del to enter setup) within the Motherboards, Bios & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello, I have a huge problem with the computer my uncle has built for the family. When I load it


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-29-2006, 11:41 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 6
OS: XP


Mistake

Hello, I have a huge problem with the computer my uncle has built for the family. When I load it up, the very first screen comes up saying the "Energy EPA Pollution Preventer" and "press del to enter setup" etc. The problem is, the keyboard wont reconize it, so I cant press Delete. I think I have the keyboard into the right slot...when I put it in, the scroll, number, and caps lock flash and then they wont flash when I press their keys. I belive the operating system is XP but I cant be too sure because I cant get past this screen!

By the way, It dosnt do anything at the black screen, like go through the drives and stuff like on the startup of a working comp. all it says it:

Award pulg and play BIOS extention V1.0A (with a flashing underscore under the A"

Someone please help me! I want to get it up and running so badly!!!

__________________
Raioke is offline  
Old 05-29-2006, 12:09 PM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 6
OS: XP


New info - when I pop in the windows Xp cd, it runs through the detecting of the stuff, but when its finished, it just restarts itself...but the 2nd time, there is no detecting.

thanks for any help

__________________
Raioke is offline  
Old 05-29-2006, 12:14 PM   #3
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,479
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm


first try resetting the cmos
turn the computer off
then off at the power supply at the back and remove the power cord
remove the cmos battery
move the jumper from pins 1 and 2 to 2 and 3
leave it for a few minutes and then put the jumper back on pins 1 and 2
restart the computer and see if you get the single post beep from the speaker
__________________
dai is offline  
Old 05-29-2006, 12:32 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 6
OS: XP


Quote:
first try resetting the cmos
turn the computer off
then off at the power supply at the back and remove the power cord
remove the cmos battery
move the jumper from pins 1 and 2 to 2 and 3
leave it for a few minutes and then put the jumper back on pins 1 and 2
restart the computer and see if you get the single post beep from the speaker
sorry, but can u put that into non-techie laguage?

thanks
__________________
Raioke is offline  
Old 05-29-2006, 12:46 PM   #5
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,479
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm


look in your manual for resetting the bios[cmos]
and see if you can follow that,it will be easier to understand seeing the diagram
__________________
dai is offline  
Old 05-29-2006, 12:54 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 6
OS: XP


Sorry, i dont have a manuel because someone built it for me. your going to have to tell me.

thanks
__________________
Raioke is offline  
Old 05-29-2006, 01:19 PM   #7
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,479
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm


i cannot find a tutorial
if you look at the m/board you will see a silver button battery about 1/2 inch in diameter
usually alongside you will see 3 pins with a jumper on 1 and 2
this is the jumper you move to 2 and 3 and then back again
__________________
dai is offline  
Old 05-29-2006, 05:00 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 6
OS: XP


I'm in the BIOS but I don't know what to do...What do I change/enable/disable etc. in the BIOS to just make windows start???

please help
__________________
Raioke is offline  
Old 05-29-2006, 07:39 PM   #9
TSF Team Emeritus
 
Doby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Central PA (USA)
Posts: 9,298
OS: XP sp3/ Vista sp2/windows7

My System

Hi,

It would be very hard to tell what bios settings need changed without know what you have and even then to make windows start we need to know what component if any is bad. What dia is trying to do is start from the beginning with the simpilest procedure to determine this and it could take some time so follow instructions and keep posting back with the results.

First pull the side cover off the case and take a close look,,,, look for a oversized watch battery, now with the computer unpluged touch the side of the case then remove this battery for 15 minutes.

Then replace the battery and try and start the computer and report back exactly what happens.

While you are in there look at the motherboard for a name and model number if this is a custom build this will be easy to find and could help us out down the road when we need to have you try some other things.

Rick

__________________
Would you like to help TSF fight cancer and other diseases???

JOIN TEAM TSF
Doby is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:56 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts