Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios & CPU

Change fuse on laptop mobo

This is a discussion on Change fuse on laptop mobo within the Motherboards, Bios & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Came across this and was wondering is it difficult to replace a fuse on motherboard http://www.insidemylaptop.com/laptop...k-motherboard/


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-03-2012, 05:59 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
micgerste's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Co.Wicklow Ireland
Posts: 152
OS: Windows 7 home Premium 64 bit



Came across this and was wondering is it difficult to replace a fuse on motherboard

http://www.insidemylaptop.com/laptop...k-motherboard/

__________________
micgerste is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2012, 07:15 PM   #2
Tech Hardware Team
Game Team Tech
 
tyza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,306
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium X32 X64 Windows 8 X32 X64

My System


Hi,

Touching any component inside a laptop should only be done by a professional .

It is pretty high risk & if you are not comfortable with opening up a laptop you should find someone who is highly experienced .

If it really is the fuse that is faulty with your laptop then anyone with chip soldering experience would suffice , though i'm not sure how a non laptop specialist would be able to reassemble the parts back.

__________________

tyza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2012, 01:36 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
micgerste's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Co.Wicklow Ireland
Posts: 152
OS: Windows 7 home Premium 64 bit


I am an IT technician and have disassembled and repaired many laptops well when i say IT technician I have been at college for last 6 years(MCITP,MCSA,MCSE,CCNA A+)although you are correct i only have ordinary soldering skills.
I just thought I would give it a try as I have very little money to pay a professional
__________________
micgerste is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2012, 01:47 AM   #4
TSF - Emeritus
 
DonaldG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Somerset, UK
Posts: 12,836
OS: Win 7 on 4 core laptop & 6 core desktop

My System


Looking at the fuse in the article and if it is the same as in your laptop, then I suggest that you do not try to take it off. It is a 'surface mount' (sm) type that requires special technique to remove.

If you have two soldering irons, it is possible to do it at home BUT only if you have reasonable soldering skills and experience.

An alternative method is to bridge the blown sm fuse by soldering on a short length of fuse wire of the SAME VALUE as the blown sm fuse.

However ONLY do this if you have checked and confirmed that the sm fuse IS blown.

EDIT: If you solder a piece of fuse wire on a fuse that IS NOT blown, then you remove the safety factor of having a fuse and that could lead to a fire and potentially fatal results.
__________________

Lest we forget...

"They shall grow not old, as we that are left grow old;
Age shall not weary them, nor the years condemn.
At the going down of the sun and in the morning
We will remember them."



11th hour, 11th day, 11th month
We will remember them


DonaldG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2012, 05:02 AM   #5
Moderator - Microsoft Support Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Posts: 2,359
OS: XP SP3, Windows 7 SP1



I have considerable experience with surface mount devices (although not on laptops) and must agree with DonaldG. This type of work requires the proper tools and skills to use them. If you make a mistake here, which is quite easy to do, you can turn a relatively simple repair into a major one.
__________________
LMiller7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2012, 08:02 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
micgerste's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Co.Wicklow Ireland
Posts: 152
OS: Windows 7 home Premium 64 bit


Thank you very much guys for your advice,i actually have 5 soldering irons but they are not temperature controllable ones and are quite old used them for soldering lights onto my scalextric cars when i was a kid
Anyhow i kind of thought i had nothing to lose if my motherboard is "gone" anyway
How do i test fuse do i just do a continuity test with my multimeter

__________________
micgerste is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Laptop won't start- Reboot without CD?/Force DVD to eject.
I recently got a new laptop (Samsung Chronos 700Z5A-A01) and it all worked fine for the first 2,5days until it performed an automatic windows update (Windows 7). The laptop starts up to the first startup screen (the one saying ”Samsung” and F2 for setup och F4 for recovery). The screen will...
Jessna Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support 3 02-14-2012 06:42 PM
[SOLVED] Both Office 2010 and 2007 on Windows 7 laptop -- how to change default
I have a new laptop with Windows 7 preinstalled including Office 2010 Starter. I have installed Office 2007 as my preferred version at this time, and am at a loss as to how to make it the default. I tried unistalling the 2010 Starter version, only to find that that Office files were no longer...
brucethespruce Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support 4 12-16-2011 01:31 AM
Odd laptop motherboard/RAM issue
Hello all, I'm a new member here looking for some assistance with an HP laptop that I have. I posted my issues in another forum, so please forgive me for copying and pasting my problem. ORIGINAL ISSUE: Alright, well I've got a really strange laptop problem that I'm looking for some...
bobbylx Laptop Support 1 03-06-2011 10:18 PM
[SOLVED] URGENT: Need to backup laptop, but theres more to it than that...
URGENT: Need to backup laptop, but theres more to it than that... Hi, === HOW I GOT INTO THIS MESS == I need some urgent help to do with my laptop. Yesterday, I dropped my glass on top of it (I know, im stupid :sigh: ) while the lid was down, and the screen shattered. It looked kind of like...
badmanhuzi Windows XP Support 6 01-20-2011 07:19 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:26 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts