Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios & CPU

bios upgrade for acer 4736

This is a discussion on bios upgrade for acer 4736 within the Motherboards, Bios & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. HI friends, I am new to this forum . 1. I have acer aspire 4736. Currently it has bios version


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-13-2011, 02:22 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 5
OS: Win XP SP3


Post

HI friends, I am new to this forum . 1. I have acer aspire 4736. Currently it has bios version 1.05 . the latest i have seen is 2.08 on the ACER website .Can i directly download it and just run the exe file which is given in the zip download for windows? The zip folder contains 2 sub folders , one for windows and the other for DOS.I am currently having win Xp SP3 OS.I have bought a Win 7 HP 32 bit OS and wanted to upgrade my current OS. i was wondering i should do the bios upgrade first and then do the installation .Is my understanding correct ? If yes can somebody tell me the way of upgrading the bios for ASPIRE 4736. Is it just executing the downloaded .exe file from ACER website ? or should i take some more care in upgrading it ? 2. I have one more small question . sometimes my laptop gives me a vague error . it starts with some clicking sound, for 1 or 2 seconds , then there is a message displayed, "No bootable device found, Insert boot disk and press any key ". I then force power off my laptop. wait for a couple of minutes and then start again . it may come one or two more times, and then the welcome screen from windows comes . I dont know what may be the problem . if some one has an idea, please let me know . 3. Also sometimes my laptop shuts down ( without any message ). this happens more often when i am video call for about 30 min on skype or i am watching some video songs/movies online .example : on youtube . Is this something to do with my CPU fan. But i dont know how to diagnose it . Kindly help . waiting for your replies

__________________
pkd1412 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2011, 04:32 PM   #2
Moderator - Microsoft Support Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Posts: 2,350
OS: XP SP3, Windows 7 SP1



I see no reason to update the BIOS at this time. A BIOS update is an inherently risky process and should only be done when the update specifically addresses a problem you are having. It should not be done simply because there is a newer version available. A failed BIOS update, which can occur even if you do everything right, is a very serious matter, particularly with a laptop.

The "No bootable device found" error sounds like possibly your hard drive is failing. If you do not have a backup of all important data now would be a good time to make one. Of course you should have such a backup anyway. Hard drives do fail and often without any warning at all. After you have done that you should obtain the drive diagnostic utility from manufacturer and run that.

__________________
LMiller7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2011, 04:51 PM   #3
Moderator hardware team
 
gcavan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 6,065
OS: Vista x64 SP2

My System


I have to agree with everything LM has said. And never attempt to flash BIOS on an unstable computer. A badly timed power-off will net you so much dead weight.

Re. Sympton 3: This may well be temperature related. Run an application such as HWMonitor or CoreTemp and to monitor your cpu/gpu temperatures. You may need to try several apps before finding one which is accurate on your sys.
__________________
gcavan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2011, 07:16 PM   #4
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,034
OS: XP Pro-7



Same a LMiller7. Check your Temps & Voltages in the Bios.
__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2011, 08:17 PM   #5
TSF Enthusiast
 
Dblanchard1278's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nevada/USA
Posts: 1,199
OS: XPpro(sp3) VistaHP-32 WIN7-hp Ubuntu 10.10 64

My System

Send a message via MSN to Dblanchard1278 Send a message via Yahoo to Dblanchard1278

I also agree with LMiller, updating the bios can render your laptop useless if the process gets messed up and since its overheating I wouldn't consider doing it. Acer should have instruction on how to do it though, the exe file should make a bootable cd to do the flash and the dos folder is a little more complicated to make but not by much. use the programs my team mate gcavan suggested and see what your temps are, also buy a can of compressed air and blow out the dust from the laptop. Dust can clog vents and trap heat inside a pc and heat is bad for a pc as you are seeing now. Once your pc is working properly you can decide if the bios flash is something you want to do but since there is no reason to do it I would just forget it untill its needed.
Dblanchard1278 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2011, 06:08 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 5
OS: Win XP SP3


Post

Hello guys,
first of all thanks a lot for your inputs .
1 . As per your suggestions, i wont go for an upgrade of bios now.Also as gcavan mentioned , i will try to run the tools suggested and check the temperatures.The problem i see here is this will happen when i will be in a long video call or watching online videos, so you suggest me to keep this software tools mentioned running to monitor this temperature fluctuation while watching videos or on calls, or in general keep it on and observe for few days .

2. Another thing about the harddrive, i have a backup external HDD , I will take the backup , just in case my harddrive becomes dead some day .I want to do some drive diagnostics as LM rightly mentioned. Can you please suggest where can i find some ..... i had once tried to use one diagnostic tool ,which was very very unfriendly and i could not understand it. any tool suggestions are most welcome. ( sorry , right now i am on a diff PC so cant tell you guys my HDD manufacturer , if i remember correctly, its either hitachi or something like that but i am not sure )

3. I have bought a new win 7 now and it arrived yday . so i was thinking of upgrading the OS from win XP to Win 7 HP .I hope this can be done . even if my harddrive dies away one fine day, i can still use the same Win 7 license . Am i right ??

Thanks again for your replies .
Have fun
__________________
pkd1412 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2011, 11:49 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 5
OS: Win XP SP3


Post

Hi,
an update from my side .
My harddrive is ST9320320AS SATA 3Gb/s 320GB 5400 RPM .
Yday I checked with the Sea tools . and all tests in it ,( basic tests ) are passed. I checked the SMART , Long generic, short generic tests and all tests passed .I also changed my power cable .
with this can i conclude that the harddrive is ok and does not have any problems ?
__________________
pkd1412 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2011, 12:09 AM   #8
TSF Enthusiast
 
Dblanchard1278's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nevada/USA
Posts: 1,199
OS: XPpro(sp3) VistaHP-32 WIN7-hp Ubuntu 10.10 64

My System

Send a message via MSN to Dblanchard1278 Send a message via Yahoo to Dblanchard1278

Run the programs while the pc is in use and pay close attention to the temps and see what they are for both programs. You can use the same license for windows7 if your drive fails, just don't use it on another pc, installing the os on a new drive won't hurt or void the license. Have you tried blowing out the laptop with a can of air yet?
Dblanchard1278 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2011, 10:12 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 5
OS: Win XP SP3


Post

Hi ,
I found again the same problem today . I was watching a movie on youtube . suddenly my system powered off without any information given by window of shutting down .
Please find the temperatures recorded at the time when i immediately rebooted my system .( see attachment )

No, i havent used the compressed air or anything to clean up the laptop. I am little not familier with disassembly , so i am not able to do it .

Ofcourse the clicking sound at the time of booting, is still present . even though i did all diagnostic tests which passed by using seatools, replaced the old power adapter /cord with a new one.

Can any of you please suggest me what shud i do in this case .

Well for win 7, i am installing it tonight .anyways as u guys mentioned the license will still be valid to my laptop even in case of hdd replacement.

thanks for ur suggestions .
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	CPU_TEMPERATURES.JPG
Views:	62
Size:	71.9 KB
ID:	90328  
__________________
pkd1412 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2011, 03:58 AM   #10
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 48,921
OS: Win7



Yep they're too hot, try blowing it out with a can of compressed air first, you do not need to disassemble just(with the laptop off. unplugged) blow the air into the vent you normally feel air coming out of, then the intake vent and then back to the outtake vent and recheck the temps.
Wrench97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2011, 04:35 AM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 5
OS: Win XP SP3


Post

Hi,
I finally bought the compressed air can yday (was totally busy the whole week with lot of other headaches ) and made some air bursts into the ventilator vents today .so far watching an online movie for 40 min or so . the temperature is maintained at 54 Deg C . But dont know if this is because the laptop temp from the morning started at 27 Deg C and now moved on to 54 Deg C. well i will have to monitor it still some more time and then can i post some real results . as of now, i cant decide i guess.
this ACER aspire 4736 is so sick that to get to the fan compartment we need to disassemble everything .

I guess now the problem is clear to me . at 90 Deg C , the system shutsdown automatically . I think this is set in BIOS . then it takes some time to cool down when i can use it again for heavy applications, video streaming, games etc .
but I am really afraid to disassemble myself .If i take this to any local computer shop, the repair itself will cost anything between 100 to 150 Euro . Its very expensive .

Does any body have an easy idea of disassembling acer aspire 4736 to get to the fan with not removing almost everything.

Thanks in advance
Attached Images
 
__________________
pkd1412 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2011, 05:34 AM   #12
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 48,921
OS: Win7



54c on a laptop is not too bad when using the CPU, Idle should drop into the 40's.
The CPU itself calls for the shutdown to protect itself from damage it's not a Bios setting.

Wrench97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
After upgrade, computer wont boot up, black screen, no keyboard or bios
Hi guys, sorry if I have posted this into wrong area but cant find a relavent catagory :tongue: I have upgraded my computer from the following: My system is currently: Win XP SP3 3.0g Intel Pentium 4 Proc 16 KB primary memory cache
rick762 Motherboards, Bios & CPU 5 03-08-2011 10:06 AM
[SOLVED] Installed Win 7 - Case become loud
Hi all. I know that im profoundly deaf but im really not happy with my PC as i installed Win 7 and the noise started to raise since extracting windows installion and thought it will be gone as when Win7 loads but since win7 start. the case begin to get loud and loud. I can feel the heavy...
CrazyComputerMan Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support 9 02-24-2011 01:52 PM
Insydeflash BIOS Upgrade Utility trouble
Hey everyone, so here's what happened - a friend of mine bought a laptop, HP g62, without OS installed. He wanted me to set up Windows 7 for him and this is what I've been playing with for the last 2 hours. Anyway, I started installing drivers he downloaded from the HP's site. File names were like...
sparkle92 Motherboards, Bios & CPU 4 02-23-2011 09:04 AM
[SOLVED] Dead BIOS, replace BIOS chip or new motherboard?
I recently tried to fix an old laptop (Toshiba) and to do so, I needed to do a BIOS upgrade. I downloaded the new BIOS flash files on another laptop, my new laptop (Acer Aspire 7520G with Vista Home Premium, 32-bit). The problem started when I tried to burn the files to a cd to transfer them to the...
deleted11022011 Motherboards, Bios & CPU 3 02-06-2011 08:57 AM
Lag in Dragon Age: Origins
I have Dragon Age: Origins Ultimate Edition for the PC. My PC surpasses the minimum requirements for the game and it runs really well for about an hour until it begins to get really sluggish. Around this point the loading times will increase and the frame rate will drop. What would cause that? ...
AndyJP PC Gaming Support 9 01-30-2011 06:47 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:37 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts