Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios & CPU

Asus K8V SE Deluxe CheckSum Error/CPU Voltage High

This is a discussion on Asus K8V SE Deluxe CheckSum Error/CPU Voltage High within the Motherboards, Bios & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. hey guys, just put new comp together, i get the following errors: CMOS CheckSum Bad Date/Time Not Set Cpu Voltage


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-15-2005, 12:36 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1
OS: XP



hey guys, just put new comp together,
i get the following errors:

CMOS CheckSum Bad
Date/Time Not Set
Cpu Voltage too high

--- i have tried to run memtest 86, but the cpu overheats within a few minutes due to the high voltage, i can watch it rise in the motherboard settings. If i try and exit the bios and save with new settings it will not restart, i then have to reset the cmos.

--- is there anything u guys can suggest, i took working ram and vcard from anther computer and taken the new mb out of the case incase of bad grounding, how about installing new bios?

i have the following hardware below:

mb:
K8V SE Deluxe

cpu:
AMD 64 3400+ DTR

vcard:
ATI 9800

hd:
Western Digital SATA 120GB

case:
http://www.codegengroup.com/03_produ..._id_search=265

ram:
512 corsair

__________________
airander is offline  
Old 04-16-2005, 07:08 AM   #2
mark3567
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
OS:


Hi,

The checksum error can be several things and unfortunately, not all of them good. First thing I would do is replace the battery and see if that helps. If not, then you may actually have a bad BIOS or some related problem. I don't know about the overheating issue and don't know if you even have that since a bad Checksum can give all kinds of improper indications. I would at least give the battery trick a shot as a first try. I know, you have a new unit, but there have been many units shipped with a bad battery. This may be a board that you will need to RMA if we can't sort out what is wrong with it.

__________________
 
Old 04-16-2005, 10:23 AM   #3
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,478
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm


newer cpu have thermal protection,but the high voltage will damage it,sounds like an rma
__________________
dai is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:20 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts