Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios & CPU

Acer Aspire M3641 Motherboard

This is a discussion on Acer Aspire M3641 Motherboard within the Motherboards, Bios & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I am trying to install a samsung 1TB Hdd into this computer. It is loaded with Windows XP but gets


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-12-2012, 02:39 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 2
OS: Windows7



I am trying to install a samsung 1TB Hdd into this computer. It is loaded with Windows XP but gets the dreaded blue screen of death after the welcome screen, I am able to run this drive on my 2 test computers but it fails on the Aspire.

I am trying to find out what motherboard lays inside this model of computer so I can obtain the manual to see if I need to alter the jumpers to fit a Hdd as big as 1TB.

Any help would be gratefully received.

__________________
sybo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2012, 05:05 PM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
linderman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 25,024
OS: win 2000 pro / Win XP pro

My System

Send a message via MSN to linderman

the problem may lie with the motherboards bios / sata drives dont have jumpers


are you adding this drive as an extra storage drive? or are you replacing the original drive?

does the original drive still work and are you connecting the new 1TB drive to the same sata port on the motherboard & using the same hard drive cable?

__________________
Power Supply Selection

If you think a poor quality power supply cant make weird issues; think again!http://www.techsupportforum.com/f15/...ot-458103.html

http://www.techsupportforum.com/f15/...ml#post2598903
linderman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2012, 09:06 AM   #3
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,513
OS: XP Pro-7



CPU-Z "might" ID the Mobo but try linderman's suggestions.
CPUID - System & hardware benchmark, monitoring, reporting
__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2012, 05:45 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 2
OS: Windows7



I am putting this drive in as a sole drive, however I cannot get any drive to load any windows operating system on this pc. I am assuming that it is a motherboard or BIOS problem and that is why I am trying to get hold of the manual. I have identified the board as a MSI MCP73PV, but cannot find the manual available on the MSI website. Any pointers that I can get would be useful. The original drive wasn't in the pc carcass, but am using the cable attached to the port, so again an assumption that it is the same port.
__________________
sybo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2012, 06:43 PM   #5
TSF Enthusiast
 
linderman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 25,024
OS: win 2000 pro / Win XP pro

My System

Send a message via MSN to linderman

did you set the boot device to "dvd rom" drive (first boot device) in the bios so it will boot to the windows set-up disk prior to failing to boot into an unprepared blank hard drive?

__________________
Power Supply Selection

If you think a poor quality power supply cant make weird issues; think again!http://www.techsupportforum.com/f15/...ot-458103.html

http://www.techsupportforum.com/f15/...ml#post2598903
linderman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] Problem with Touchpad in ACER TravelMate
Hi there. This is my problem. It seems like an easy one, but it's driving my crazy.. I have an laptop ACER TravelMate 5742series but the Touchpad is now not working. The OS is Windows 7, and Kaspersky was installed but out of date, so I decided to uninstall it and install AVAST. However,...
MontanNito Laptop Support 5 03-23-2012 08:46 PM
[SOLVED] What motherboard??
Hey all, I think my motherboard has gone (pc powers on but nothing happens, no beeps either) so I need some help deciding what motherboard to get next, any help or tips would be appreciated. Cheers
Rushy82 Motherboards, Bios & CPU 25 03-14-2012 06:23 AM
Acer shut down and will not start.
Hello! I'm in a big crisis. My Acer suddenly shut down out of nowhere. There were no warning messages, no beeps , no smells just nothing.. It just died. When I press the power button, the computer will still not start, not even for a second. Only the power button and a few other lights will turn on...
Techy89 Laptop Support 3 03-12-2012 04:55 PM
PSU wont turn on when connected to motherboard
Ok so, I got my motherboard a couple days ago and, I connected my PSU, fans, front panel connectors, and everything else to it, and it doesn't turn on. I don't have my processor, ram, or hard drive yet. When I connected it all, then shorted the 24pin, everything turns on, but when the 24pin is...
Staat Other Hardware Support 8 03-12-2012 10:02 AM
Using an external monitor with an Acer Aspire One running xp
Hi, My darling children have smashed the screen on my netbook, so I need to use an external monitor. Previouly, with other laptops, I have just plugged it in and it's worked. But with this one with the external monitor plugged in it gets to the xp startup page and then switches back to the laptop...
hellyboo Laptop Support 3 03-11-2012 06:51 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question

Gear in this thread


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:41 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts