Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios & CPU

Acer Aspire 5740g black screen BIOS error fix needed

This is a discussion on Acer Aspire 5740g black screen BIOS error fix needed within the Motherboards, Bios & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I updated my bios to v1.16 but when the it was done installing it shutted down and now when i


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-21-2011, 10:28 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 11
OS: Windows 7



I updated my bios to v1.16 but when the it was done installing it shutted down and now when i turn my laptop on the screen is all black, i know i have to reflash the bios but i have no idea how to do this, could someone please help me?

if you have different suggestions for what could fix this problem, im willing to try anything to fix it..

thanks in advance,
Rock

__________________
RockDeviI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2011, 12:55 PM   #2
Tech Hardware Team
BSOD Kernel Dump Expert
 
loda117's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Washington
Posts: 3,058
OS: Windows 8 Ent, Server 2012, 2012R2, Server 2008 R2 Stnd,

My System


You will have to unplug all power and remove the battery from the laptop
then you have to open the laptop and remove the motherboard CMOS battery and leave it out for atleast few minutes and that should reset the BIOS

why did you updated the BIOS version? was it to fix some problem

__________________
If all else fails, read the documentation
HOW TO BURN AN ISO
HDD Diagnostic Tools
Memory Test
loda117 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2011, 07:06 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 11
OS: Windows 7



Quote:
Originally Posted by loda117 View Post
You will have to unplug all power and remove the battery from the laptop
then you have to open the laptop and remove the motherboard CMOS battery and leave it out for atleast few minutes and that should reset the BIOS

why did you updated the BIOS version? was it to fix some problem
Its impossible for me to do that since the CMOS battery is so far hidden in the casing, i can only get to the hard drive and the ddr3 ram slots, I have no idea how to get to the CMOS battery in this laptop

i updated the bios version to fix the battery issue (battery cells died because i didnt install the critical battery 3 to 5% update
__________________
RockDeviI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2011, 07:12 AM   #4
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 50,318
OS: XP Pro-7



The CMOS needs to be reset to bring the laptop back to life. Perhaps you have a friend that can do it? "Some" laptops have a pair of CMOS solder joints that can be shorted to rest the CMOS. The owner's manual should have the required info.
__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2011, 07:42 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 11
OS: Windows 7



Quote:
Originally Posted by Tyree View Post
The CMOS needs to be reset to bring the laptop back to life. Perhaps you have a friend that can do it? "Some" laptops have a pair of CMOS solder joints that can be shorted to rest the CMOS. The owner's manual should have the required info.
Oh.. i thought i had to reflash the bios, which im not able to do myself since i dont have an external usb floppy drive, did not know i really had to crack open the whole laptop, actually i AM the friend who usually does stuff like that xP I just got a pretty closed built laptop so its kinda difficult
__________________
RockDeviI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2011, 07:46 AM   #6
computer wizard
 
brobarapas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: planet earth/
Posts: 1,656
OS: windows 7 ultimate



The battery is more than likely soldiered to the board.You will have to do as Tyree suggested
__________________
brobarapas


Google is your friend
brobarapas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2011, 07:48 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 11
OS: Windows 7



Quote:
Originally Posted by brobarapas View Post
The battery is more than likely soldiered to the board.You will have to do as Tyree suggested
I have no idea how to short solder thingy's without permanently damaging anything
__________________
RockDeviI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2011, 08:07 AM   #8
computer wizard
 
brobarapas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: planet earth/
Posts: 1,656
OS: windows 7 ultimate



Remove DIMMS, look for the tiny J1 jumper, short the two dots for two seconds . Be sure to use a very tiny screwdriver.
__________________
brobarapas


Google is your friend
brobarapas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2011, 08:18 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 11
OS: Windows 7



Quote:
Originally Posted by brobarapas View Post
Remove DIMMS, look for the tiny J1 jumper, short the two dots for two seconds . Be sure to use a very tiny screwdriver.
What is a DIMMS and how do you mean short? Like push on it with a screwdriver?
__________________
RockDeviI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2011, 08:23 AM   #10
computer wizard
 
brobarapas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: planet earth/
Posts: 1,656
OS: windows 7 ultimate



the ram
__________________
brobarapas


Google is your friend
brobarapas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2011, 08:50 AM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 11
OS: Windows 7



Quote:
Originally Posted by brobarapas View Post
the ram
but under that theres no jumper, i checked that
__________________
RockDeviI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2011, 08:55 AM   #12
computer wizard
 
brobarapas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: planet earth/
Posts: 1,656
OS: windows 7 ultimate



There's a couple of gold-coloured jumpers labelled J1 that need to be shorted for a second or two.
__________________
brobarapas


Google is your friend
brobarapas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2011, 10:42 AM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 11
OS: Windows 7



Quote:
Originally Posted by brobarapas View Post
There's a couple of gold-coloured jumpers labelled J1 that need to be shorted for a second or two.
Oh okay, how do you short them? Like push a screwdriver on em?
__________________
RockDeviI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2011, 10:45 AM   #14
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Tyree's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 50,318
OS: XP Pro-7



GENTLY touch both pins, at the same time, with a small metal object (i.e. small flat blade screwdriver).
__________________



All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Tyree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2011, 11:00 AM   #15
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 11
OS: Windows 7



Quote:
Originally Posted by Tyree View Post
GENTLY touch both pins, at the same time, with a small metal object (i.e. small flat blade screwdriver).
like connect them? or two different objects not touching eachother?
__________________
RockDeviI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2011, 11:57 AM   #16
computer wizard
 
brobarapas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: planet earth/
Posts: 1,656
OS: windows 7 ultimate



yes connect them
__________________
brobarapas


Google is your friend
brobarapas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2011, 02:40 PM   #17
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 11
OS: Windows 7



Ahh okay i'll try that, i'll post if it worked or not
__________________
RockDeviI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2011, 05:29 AM   #18
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 11
OS: Windows 7



I didn't find any J1 jumpers under the ram slots so im going to take apart the laptop to take out the cmos battery
__________________
RockDeviI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2011, 07:53 AM   #19
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 11
OS: Windows 7



Quote:
Originally Posted by Tyree View Post
GENTLY touch both pins, at the same time, with a small metal object (i.e. small flat blade screwdriver).
I got a new problem.. i couldnt find the J1 jumpers so i took out the cmos battery, when i putted my laptop back together and putted in the AC, it automatically switched on, the fan went on, for a few seconds, and then i still got black screen, what could have gone wrong?

__________________
RockDeviI is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Acer Aspire 5535 - how to flash BIOS
I have an Acer Aspire 5535-5452 laptop computer. I think the Bios has been corrupted. From what I read I need to use a Crisis Recovery Disk to flash the BIOS. Where can I down load the files for the Crisis Disk? How do I create the Crisis Disk on a USB Flash Drive? What is the procedure to...
woody_62 Motherboards, Bios & CPU 81 05-29-2013 04:10 AM
Acer Aspire M5641 doesn't load OS and BIOS
Hello everyone, I'm having some troubles with a PC and as the title of the thread says the PC doesn't load the Operating System neither the BIOS. One day I turned on the PC and when I logged in the computer crashed. PC specifications: ACER Aspire M5641 R01-B4
btocb Motherboards, Bios & CPU 5 01-23-2011 03:31 AM
Acer Aspire 4220 stuck at BIOS screen
Hello: I have an Acer Aspire 4220. Everytime I turn it on (either with battery or no) it takes about a minute and a half to boot to Windows or to get into the BIOS configuration screen if I press F2. Tried to restore the default BIOS values and still the same problem. Anyone knows what...
robertin75 Laptop Support 6 01-20-2011 06:45 AM
[SOLVED] Acer ASPIRE 5520g boot problem (when turned on it turns off)
http://www.techsupportforum.com/forums/f108/solved-acer-aspire-5520g-boot-problem-when-turned-on-it-turns-off-415617-2.html Got exact the same problem, i was just working on this laptop when it suddently started restarting without reason, havent tried bios flash or anything and now i can`t...
voovode Laptop Support 3 01-15-2011 12:01 PM
acer black screen
i have an acer netbook model AOD255 that is 1 month old. the laptop is functioning but i have the quote: "black screen of death". if i connect to an external monitor, i have a display. i have tried a bios flash, it did not work. Can anyone help me get my screen back? also, has windows 7 system.
mer62 Laptop Support 1 01-11-2011 11:52 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:50 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts