Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Removable Media Drives

[SOLVED] Windows unable to complete the format

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] Windows unable to complete the format within the Removable Media Drives forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello, I have a 2GB USB stick which I had got from my school and so I don't know the


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-16-2011, 05:43 PM   #1
Design Team
 
Sorop3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 397
OS: Windows 7 x64, Ubuntu 11.10



Hello,

I have a 2GB USB stick which I had got from my school and so I don't know the make. The last I used it was like a year ago. Back then it worked fine and then I used to get the Format Drive message popup every time I connected the USB stick. I didn't bother much because I didn't need it at that time.

Now when I try to format the drive it says Windows unable to complete the format. And in the Format menu it says Capacity is 8.00 MB. I need to backup some file on the USB very urgently.

Any help is appreciated

__________________
S-o-r-o-p--3
Sorop3 is offline  
Old 08-16-2011, 06:17 PM   #2
Moderator Hardware Team
 
oscer1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 10,883
OS: windows 7

My System


hi,

see if this helps at all. http://www.techsupportforum.com/foru...ix-577182.html

__________________

Mark thread solved under thread tools when issue has been resolved.
oscer1 is offline  
Old 08-16-2011, 06:24 PM   #3
Moderator - Microsoft Support Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Posts: 2,400
OS: XP SP3, Windows 7 SP1



When Windows is unable to format a drive it is a pretty good indication that it is failing. Best to replace the USB stick. At 2 GB it is probably old should not be trusted, even if you could get it to format. Flash drives are the least reliable of modern storage media.
__________________
LMiller7 is offline  
Old 08-17-2011, 05:57 AM   #4
Design Team
 
Sorop3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 397
OS: Windows 7 x64, Ubuntu 11.10



I tried the Ridgecrop Consultants Ltd program but then I get an error.
"The drive is too small for FAT32 - there must be at least 64K clusters"
Quote:
Originally Posted by oscer1 View Post
_________________________________________________________________

Yea I know its is old but i urgently need it for tomorrow.
Quote:
Originally Posted by LMiller7 View Post
When Windows is unable to format a drive it is a pretty good indication that it is failing. Best to replace the USB stick. At 2 GB it is probably old should not be trusted, even if you could get it to format. Flash drives are the least reliable of modern storage media.
_________________________________________________________________

But I don't understand why it says the Capacity is 8.00 MB. Have a look at the attached screenshot.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot.png
Views:	52
Size:	27.1 KB
ID:	96389  
__________________
S-o-r-o-p--3
Sorop3 is offline  
Old 08-17-2011, 07:04 AM   #5
Moderator Hardware Team
 
oscer1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 10,883
OS: windows 7

My System


well my opinion is get a new one, they are pretty cheap these days. all the time you have spent trying to fix it might not be worth it.
__________________

Mark thread solved under thread tools when issue has been resolved.
oscer1 is offline  
Old 08-17-2011, 08:39 AM   #6
Design Team
 
Sorop3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 397
OS: Windows 7 x64, Ubuntu 11.10


Thumbs Up

Yea. I guess I'll have to get a new one. For now I'll stick with Dropbox.

__________________
S-o-r-o-p--3
Sorop3 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows XP Fix
I have got this intruder on my computer. I cannot access the internet or anything else. I was going to do a system restore, but I cannot get to it. I do have another computer with Vista, but I need the XP computer for work. Please help!
mishamisha Virus/Trojan/Spyware Help 26 07-14-2011 07:36 PM
Trojan/Spyware infected! [Antimalware Doctor] Please help!
Hello, I got a dell inspiron laptop that is infected with spyware, and hopefully someone can help me fix this. The problem is I got a fake spyware software installed on my machine, and it's called Antimalware Doctor. It will pop up a window and prompt me to remove spyware that it detected. ...
goukoy Resolved HJT Threads 8 07-07-2011 09:14 AM
[SOLVED] Acer Aspire 5520-5908 Keeps restarting after being on 30 secs
Okay I installed windows update the other night but apparently the laptop shut off during it(not 100% sure) either way, I went to start it and after being on my home screen for about 30 secs, the screen goes black and it keeps restarting!! I am literally going crazy! Can someone please help?! It...
0CrystaL0 Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support 30 07-03-2011 10:03 PM
Virus and Malware Removal
When opening programs or searching the internet, every activity always causes my memory usage to peak to 100%. It wouldn't bother me if it didn't slow things down. My computer used to perform better. I have a pentium 4, 1.8 ghz with 1gig of ram. Google maps is a particular problem, it uses so much...
NWAngler Resolved HJT Threads 9 03-14-2011 08:18 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:18 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts