Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Removable Media Drives

[SOLVED] no 'press any key to boot from cd' message :S

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] no 'press any key to boot from cd' message :S within the Removable Media Drives forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. hi, there is a Gigabyte GA-K8NXP-SLI motherboard in my dad's pc, i want to install windows XP home, and reformat


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-10-2008, 04:09 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 169
OS: xp home sp3



hi, there is a Gigabyte GA-K8NXP-SLI motherboard in my dad's pc, i want to install windows XP home, and reformat the drive as i want all the stuff on the computer deleted incl. all trace of previous operating system.
the problem im having is, there is no message saying: 'press any key to boot from cd' when i load computer.
I have changed the boot order to cd first in the bios.
i dont know what else to do... any ideas?

thanks

__________________
ant9985 is offline  
Old 12-10-2008, 05:02 AM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
mack1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Texarkana, Texas
Posts: 1,335
OS: xp sp3

My System


Hi ant9985,

Is the cd rom shown in the bios?
Try resetting the bios either by removing the battery or the shorting pins.

Best regards,
Mack1

__________________
"If you like yourself others will like you also" me
"Don't drink downstream from the herd" Will Rogers



mack1 is offline  
Old 12-10-2008, 05:05 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Techgodess1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 2
OS: XP



is it a USB connected Cd-rom? USB is sometimes not detected prior to POST
__________________
Techgodess1 is offline  
Old 12-10-2008, 06:56 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 169
OS: xp home sp3



thank you for the replys.
i forgot, it is a DVD drive. is this still ok?
there is no option for DVD drive in the boot options in the bios, only CD drive.
im not sure about removing the bios batteries or shorting pins...

its not a usb dvd drive, i think its IDE
__________________
ant9985 is offline  
Old 12-10-2008, 07:02 AM   #5
Administrator

Team Manager
- Networking
- Microsoft Support
- Hardware
 
Old Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 46,635
OS: XP, Win 7



Is this an origingal installation cd? . . When I have had this happen with an original cd, it has been a falty cd ( dvd ) drive . . can you try a new one?
Old Rich is offline  
Old 12-10-2008, 07:14 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 169
OS: xp home sp3



Quote:
Originally Posted by simpswr View Post
Is this an origingal installation cd? . . When I have had this happen with an original cd, it has been a falty cd ( dvd ) drive . . can you try a new one?
thnx. the cd works in the drive when im in windows, just nothing happens when the computers booting up. iv only just purchased the windows cd
__________________
ant9985 is offline  
Old 12-10-2008, 07:45 AM   #7
Administrator

Team Manager
- Networking
- Microsoft Support
- Hardware
 
Old Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 46,635
OS: XP, Win 7



Quote:
Originally Posted by ant9985 View Post
thnx. the cd works in the drive when im in windows, just nothing happens when the computers booting up. iv only just purchased the windows cd
That could still be a falty dvd drive . . Go back and double check that it is set to boot first from CD drive . . then look in the BIOS for a setting for "Quite Boot or Quick Boot and disable that. Then try to get it to boot from the dvd drive by tapping any key from the time you press the power button.

If all else fails, you could download Kill disc and wipe the hard drive with that, then it would have no choice but to boot from the DVD drive
Old Rich is offline  
Old 12-10-2008, 08:24 AM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 169
OS: xp home sp3



Quote:
Originally Posted by simpswr View Post
That could still be a falty dvd drive . . Go back and double check that it is set to boot first from CD drive . . then look in the BIOS for a setting for "Quite Boot or Quick Boot and disable that. Then try to get it to boot from the dvd drive by tapping any key from the time you press the power button.

If all else fails, you could download Kill disc and wipe the hard drive with that, then it would have no choice but to boot from the DVD drive
Thnx. There wasnt any option like that in the bios, iv tryed the tap any key option twice to no avail.
yer i thought of doing killdisc but i dont have a floppy drive.
Im really not sure if i can just install it from windows either, since it probably needs to boot from cd somewhere in the re-install process.
Besides the fact that i dont think the computer will like XP home being installed over XP pro...
__________________
ant9985 is offline  
Old 12-10-2008, 08:27 AM   #9
Administrator

Team Manager
- Networking
- Microsoft Support
- Hardware
 
Old Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 46,635
OS: XP, Win 7



If you are comfortable opening the case, try this . . pull either the power or data cable from the hard drive, then see if it will boot from the DVD drive . . If not, you know you have a faulty DVD drive

Once you wipe the drive, XP Pro will be gone . .
Old Rich is offline  
Old 12-10-2008, 10:34 AM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 169
OS: xp home sp3



Quote:
Originally Posted by simpswr View Post
If you are comfortable opening the case, try this . . pull either the power or data cable from the hard drive, then see if it will boot from the DVD drive . . If not, you know you have a faulty DVD drive

Once you wipe the drive, XP Pro will be gone . .
thanks for your continued help,
i just tryed it without the hard drive connected, and it said 'DISC BOOT FAILURE, PLEASE INSERT SYSTEM DISC AND PRESS ENTER'

the computer just doesnt seem to want to boot from the DVD drive :(
i seem to remember now having this problem ages ago when the computer was mine, with a different optical drive(a CD drive). i wish i could remember how i got around it :-\
__________________
ant9985 is offline  
Old 12-10-2008, 10:47 AM   #11
Administrator

Team Manager
- Networking
- Microsoft Support
- Hardware
 
Old Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 46,635
OS: XP, Win 7



That confirms that either the disc or the drive is faulty . . replace one
Old Rich is offline  
Old 12-10-2008, 11:59 AM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 169
OS: xp home sp3



Quote:
Originally Posted by simpswr View Post
That confirms that either the disc or the drive is faulty . . replace one
but the cd loads when im in windows :S
__________________
ant9985 is offline  
Old 12-10-2008, 12:36 PM   #13
Administrator

Team Manager
- Networking
- Microsoft Support
- Hardware
 
Old Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 46,635
OS: XP, Win 7



but it will not boot . . one or both is faulty
Old Rich is offline  
Old 12-10-2008, 12:37 PM   #14
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 169
OS: xp home sp3



sry, forgot to say, i also had this problem with the previous cd drive that was installed in the system.
i dont mean to argue with you, u obviously know more about this stuff that i do, and i appreciate the help, but it just seems a little odd to me, that 2 drives wouldnt boot but worked when the system was up.. im not sure buying a new drive will have any effect thats all..
__________________
ant9985 is offline  
Old 12-10-2008, 12:43 PM   #15
Administrator

Team Manager
- Networking
- Microsoft Support
- Hardware
 
Old Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 46,635
OS: XP, Win 7



Look at it this way . . it will not boot from the dvd . . so something is wrong . . with the hard drive out of the picture, it has to be either the drive or the disc . . what else could it be??

Edit: . . Do you have two Optical drives on the pc? . . if so try the other one. Also, take a good look at the DVD drive . . be sure it is on the end of the IDE cable and Jumpers are set as Master
Old Rich is offline  
Old 12-10-2008, 01:56 PM   #16
TSF Enthusiast
 
mack1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Texarkana, Texas
Posts: 1,335
OS: xp sp3

My System


Hi ant9985,

Looks like you and Rich have been at it all day. I noticed that you weren't sure if the drive was IDE. Ide has a flat 40 or 80 conductor cable. Is it an IDE drive?

Try this. Reseat the power and data cables to the dvd drive. Do it at both the drive and at the motherboard. Be sure to touch the metal case before touching anything inside the compurer. To reseat, pull the cables back and slide them back on. Pushing in on them is not enough. If the drive has a jumper to set master/slave, reseat it also.

Take a look in the BIOS again and see if it lists the dvd drive. If it happens that the BIOS can't see the drive, it can't boot from it.

While in windows, put the new XP cd in the dvd and see if it will autorun and try to install XP. You can opt out of the install, but you will know if it should work from boot. (the cd is likely OK)

See if this works and post back.

Best regards,
Mack1
__________________
"If you like yourself others will like you also" me
"Don't drink downstream from the herd" Will Rogers



mack1 is offline  
Old 12-10-2008, 03:25 PM   #17
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 169
OS: xp home sp3



thanks very much for the replys, i will try all this tomorrow.
you guys are awesome
__________________
ant9985 is offline  
Old 12-14-2008, 03:13 AM   #18
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 169
OS: xp home sp3



im too afraid to start installing from windows, it might wipe the operating system thats on there now and still not boot from cd and then the pc will be rendered useless..

i changed the jumper settings to master, and the drive was allready on the end of the IDE cable.
and the cables where connected properly.
so does that mean the drive is definately faulty?
__________________
ant9985 is offline  
Old 12-14-2008, 04:40 AM   #19
TSF Enthusiast
 
mack1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Texarkana, Texas
Posts: 1,335
OS: xp sp3

My System


Hi ant9985,

Quote:
Reseat the power and data cables to the dvd drive. Do it at both the drive and at the motherboard.
How did that go?


Quote:
Take a look in the BIOS again and see if it lists the dvd drive. If it happens that the BIOS can't see the drive, it can't boot from it.
Was the drive seen there?

Quote:
i just tryed it without the hard drive connected, and it said 'DISC BOOT FAILURE, PLEASE INSERT SYSTEM DISC AND PRESS ENTER'
Did you have the XP CD in the DVD drive when this test was performed?

If there are two drives on the IDE cable, and the end one is your DVD drive jumpered as Master, make sure the other one is jumpered as SLAVE. You can't have two masters on the same IDE cable.

When you run the install CD, you get three choices at the first screen.
Run Setup, Repair, or Exit. It is safe to go this far and exit. That would tell you if the CD wants to install.

Regards,
Mack1
__________________
"If you like yourself others will like you also" me
"Don't drink downstream from the herd" Will Rogers



mack1 is offline  
Old 12-14-2008, 05:11 AM   #20
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,478
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



try a new 80 wire ide cable

__________________
dai is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:44 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts