Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Removable Media Drives

SanDisk Cruzer Edge write protected

This is a discussion on SanDisk Cruzer Edge write protected within the Removable Media Drives forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. hey my Cruzer Edge 4gb flash drive which i brought from Argos, it was working ok for a couple of


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-21-2011, 06:28 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: uk
Posts: 8
OS: windows xp service pack 3



hey
my Cruzer Edge 4gb flash drive which i brought from Argos,

it was working ok for a couple of days, and then the it stopped working,

it had the software on there, and now the software has gone, since then the flash drive has become write protected, and i have tired formatting via windows and dos, and still wont format, due to write protection, i have tired the registry hack,
hell i have even tired a couple or programs to try and format it but they say cant find the usb flash drive even no its installed,
i have tired to remove the read only atttibillitys from the folders, i get write protected.

so i cant add or delete anything to the usb flash drive,,

i am running windows, xp sp3..

can anyone help please thanks

__________________
darkdaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2011, 04:24 AM   #2
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,479
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



please do not multiple post and start your own threads for your own problems

read the forum rules

http://www.techsupportforum.com/misc...ork&page=rules

__________________
dai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2011, 01:14 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: uk
Posts: 8
OS: windows xp service pack 3



i apologise, it was a mistake, i didnt mean to multipost before, i have already explained in my intro post
__________________
darkdaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2011, 04:25 PM   #4
Hardware Tech Team
 
makinu1der2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 14,884
OS: Win7,Win XP,PC LinuxOS

My System


Try formatting the drive through Disk Management

Formatting a drive or device using Disk Management

Try it on another PC.

If still having issues and you just purchased this drive return it.
__________________
makinu1der2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2011, 06:27 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: uk
Posts: 8
OS: windows xp service pack 3



i tried that eg with device manager on laptop and my desktop pc, still doesnt allow it..
__________________
darkdaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2011, 06:45 AM   #6
Hardware Tech Team
 
makinu1der2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 14,884
OS: Win7,Win XP,PC LinuxOS

My System


If unable to get formatted with using multiple utilities and PC's then I would suggest replacing it.
__________________
makinu1der2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2011, 06:53 AM   #7
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Amd_Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 5,106
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1

My System


Do you use the "safely remove hardware" feature in Windows? If it's not used then I've seen that error come up.
__________________
http://www.piriform.com/speccy - System Specs Link
Amd_Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2011, 04:32 AM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: uk
Posts: 8
OS: windows xp service pack 3


ok cheers anyway all :) (i mean and said that with a cheerful reply)

i will take it back and see if i can get a replacement. thanks everyone...
:)

also i have tired msdos method, eg, boot into safe mode, and disabled alot drivers, and tired to do it that way, hell i have even tired chdsk, but no luck
__________________
darkdaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2012, 06:44 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 3
OS: xp sp2



Hey i have found others facing similar issues but then here are some solutions that you can try out, just check it out and see if it is helping.

__________________
khalnayak is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WD EXT HDD unallocated and write protected
My HDD went Kaput on me, after I unplugged it. It shows in Disk Management as DISK 2 unallocated. The HDD cannot be intilazied because write protected. However, I dont want to intilazie it because it would erase the half full HDD. I have tried: -Have deleted the drivers unplugged rebooted...
wess0824 Hard Drive Support 8 11-24-2011 04:59 AM
SanDisk Cruzer Edge write-protected
Hi I bought a SankDisk Cruzer Edge 4GB and I tried to run it but I can't. It says that I must install RunSanDiskSecureAccess-Win.exe, but it doesn't let me do that because it immediately opens a window that says that it is write-protected. So, what should I do to make it work? it's a new...
Hey1989 Removable Media Drives 1 07-30-2011 05:28 PM
reformat write protected drive
Hi I have a WD50 00BEVT sata drive which i took out of my old laptop and put in a new caddy. when i connected it by usb to my new laptop i was able to explore it and copy files over. when i took everything i needed i tried to format it to FAT32 using swissknife and my computer crashed on me....
paulmixup Hard Drive Support 4 06-06-2011 12:48 PM
How format a write protected USB drive with a blocked file
I have this problem: I can't format my USB drive because I get the message that it is write protected. I also have a blocked file on the drive which causes the drive to be write protected (I think). The file system is NTFS. The usb drive is an Intenso 16GB. Here's what i've tried: - regular...
mrmdsmet Removable Media Drives 1 03-30-2011 06:27 PM
[SOLVED] VCExpress Problem, Probably AppData\Permissions Problem?
I think it should be related to this forum because I think the problem is something with AppData \ Permissions which is related to Windows 7. I'm having a problem while running\installing Visual C++. The problem started 2 days ago, it did work before. When I'm trying to run I'm getting this...
benben12 Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support 8 02-09-2011 12:45 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:47 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts