Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Removable Media Drives

My computer doesn't read CDs anymore

This is a discussion on My computer doesn't read CDs anymore within the Removable Media Drives forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Okay, maybe not anymore but, most of the time, I'll open the CD Drive, place a disk in, close the


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-17-2005, 07:53 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 135
OS: Win XP


Cry

Okay, maybe not anymore but, most of the time, I'll open the CD Drive, place a disk in, close the Drive, and autoplay won't work. I'll go into My Computer and click on the D drive there to get the disk working, but often times it doesn't work or in My Computer, it doesn't see the CD, it'll simply say Drive D. Even if I click on the D drive, it'll take me to a blank page.

The CD Drive is a Sony CD-RW CRX216E. I'm currently looking up Drivers, but it's not very popular.

I also looked in the Device Manager, and in Properties and what not . . . it says the Device is running properly, there are no problems with the device . . . etc.

Any help? What should I do? Need more info? =P

__________________
Mana Dragon is offline  
Old 06-18-2005, 01:24 AM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 26
OS: xp (damit)


does it read sony cds? if not it should be a drivers problem. try to reinstall drivers.

__________________
v-sniper is offline  
Old 06-18-2005, 06:44 AM   #3
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Terrister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: West Georgia, USA
Posts: 7,132
OS: Windows 7 & 8, Mac OS-x


Try uninstalling and reinstalling your cd burning software.
__________________
Terrister is offline  
Old 06-18-2005, 09:45 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 135
OS: Win XP


I tried uninstalling, but that doesn't seem to be working. The CDs are actually game CDs, like a few Star Wars games that I play. They've been working up untill now. The CD isn't scratched, so it's kind of weird for the CD Drive not to be able to read this normal game CD all of a sudden. Not just this CD, but practically all sorts of CDs, even the Windows XP CD. I'm trying to avoid having to buy new hardware, but having losing my patience a few times, I might just about do so.

Uninstalling the drivers doesn't seem to work. . . and I don't think I have any Sony CDs . . . I've seen a few topics before about the CRX216E not being able to read CDs, but they didn't help as much because they led to different answers.

Even Sony's or Dell's website does not have drivers for this model, nor does it list the actual CRX216E model. Am I stuck?
__________________
Mana Dragon is offline  
Old 06-18-2005, 10:14 AM   #5
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Terrister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: West Georgia, USA
Posts: 7,132
OS: Windows 7 & 8, Mac OS-x


How old is this drive?
__________________
Terrister is offline  
Old 06-18-2005, 06:59 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 135
OS: Win XP


It's as old as I got this computer, so I'd say less than a year.
__________________
Mana Dragon is offline  
Old 06-18-2005, 08:21 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 135
OS: Win XP


I've talked it over with a few people and it's believed this problem is a cache? cashe? casche? problem. Unless someone has discovered new information, I'm probably going to replace the Drive tomorrow. I've also been told Sony and Dell don't work well together.
__________________
Mana Dragon is offline  
Old 06-18-2005, 08:37 PM   #8
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Terrister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: West Georgia, USA
Posts: 7,132
OS: Windows 7 & 8, Mac OS-x


Is this the only cd/dvd drive in the system?
__________________
Terrister is offline  
Old 06-18-2005, 10:47 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 135
OS: Win XP


Yes. I was wondering why everyone's calling this a burner. I can't burn CDs with only one Drive.

Sorry about the other post, I was so sure it was the drivers. I'll check this post tomorrow.
__________________
Mana Dragon is offline  
Old 06-18-2005, 11:08 PM   #10
TSF Team Emeritus
 
Volt-Schwibe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Behind you, watching you as you type.
Posts: 7,383
OS: Click "My System" to view details

My System

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mana Dragon
Yes. I was wondering why everyone's calling this a burner. I can't burn CDs with only one Drive.

i burn cd's with only one drive....


who told you that you couldn't?
__________________
<signature>

TSF is funded by our Admin's pocket, care to help?
Power Tip: Subscribe to your thread (Thread Tools) to receive an instant email notification when you get a reply.
New Members: Creating a single new thread in the correct section is the best way to assure your thread will receive a reply.
</signature>
Volt-Schwibe is offline  
Old 06-18-2005, 11:10 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 135
OS: Win XP


Huh . . . cool. Oh. I'm not using my noggin tonight. I don't normally burn music to CDs, I burn backup CDs.
__________________
Mana Dragon is offline  
Old 06-19-2005, 12:07 AM   #12
TSF Team Emeritus
 
Volt-Schwibe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Behind you, watching you as you type.
Posts: 7,383
OS: Click "My System" to view details

My System

what i meant was, any type of cd burning can be accomplished with a single drive.

even backup cd's, and even "copies"
__________________
<signature>

TSF is funded by our Admin's pocket, care to help?
Power Tip: Subscribe to your thread (Thread Tools) to receive an instant email notification when you get a reply.
New Members: Creating a single new thread in the correct section is the best way to assure your thread will receive a reply.
</signature>
Volt-Schwibe is offline  
Old 06-19-2005, 04:09 AM   #13
Registered Member
 
NoClue55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2
OS: XP


Red Faced

Hi,
I just found this site tonight. I am having the same problem, nothing is being read. The computer doesn't acknowledge that the CD is even in place. I have an emachine 2002, with XP Home Ed. SP2. My CD-ROM is a Samsung SC-148. I don't know if that helps at all. Any suggestions would be really appreciated. One favor please, I am not computer savy so I don't know all the fancy terms, etc......even reading the posts here about drives was a bit confusiong.I rarely used the CD-ROM so i can't relate it's malfunctioning to any specific event. Thanks for listening!
__________________
NoClue55 is offline  
Old 06-19-2005, 09:52 AM   #14
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 135
OS: Win XP


I'm thinking about replacing it. I'll check later tonight.

Quote:
I am not computer savy so I don't know all the fancy terms
NoClue, do you know what Drivers are? They're like updates to make your hardware work more in harmony with your computer. You have to download and install Drivers, but if you don't feel comfortable about that, maybe wait for a more professional reply

Be careful! I've been warned . . .
__________________
Mana Dragon is offline  
Old 06-19-2005, 01:39 PM   #15
TSF Team Emeritus
 
Volt-Schwibe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Behind you, watching you as you type.
Posts: 7,383
OS: Click "My System" to view details

My System

noclue, if you are asking for help, we would prefer you started a new thread about it, because if we are working on two problems in the same thread, it gets confusing.

and, i might add, that to run a typical cd-rom requires no drivers.

if the machine doesn't see it at all, something is either wrong with the drive itself, or the cables, or the cable settings.

or, the bios hasn't been told to look for it.
__________________
<signature>

TSF is funded by our Admin's pocket, care to help?
Power Tip: Subscribe to your thread (Thread Tools) to receive an instant email notification when you get a reply.
New Members: Creating a single new thread in the correct section is the best way to assure your thread will receive a reply.
</signature>
Volt-Schwibe is offline  
Old 06-19-2005, 03:38 PM   #16
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 135
OS: Win XP


Whoa. I'm not computer savy either

Bios?
__________________
Mana Dragon is offline  
Old 06-19-2005, 03:53 PM   #17
TSF Team Emeritus
 
Volt-Schwibe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Behind you, watching you as you type.
Posts: 7,383
OS: Click "My System" to view details

My System

B.I.O.S. <---linky

but, it's the thing you hit delete to enter while the computer is booting.

it lets you explain to the computer what it is, and what it can do, and what is attached to it.
__________________
<signature>

TSF is funded by our Admin's pocket, care to help?
Power Tip: Subscribe to your thread (Thread Tools) to receive an instant email notification when you get a reply.
New Members: Creating a single new thread in the correct section is the best way to assure your thread will receive a reply.
</signature>
Volt-Schwibe is offline  
Old 06-19-2005, 06:38 PM   #18
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 135
OS: Win XP


Oh, now I remember. I kinda got confused about it, because it gave me a list, like an order (1. 2. 3.) but that was it. Man this is really confusing . . . if I were to replace it, would my problem be solved, for sure? I'm am so not a hardware kind of guy.
__________________
Mana Dragon is offline  
Old 06-19-2005, 07:55 PM   #19
Registered Member
 
NoClue55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2
OS: XP


Hi,
This is NoClue. First I apologize for not knowing to start a new thread. I kinda just latched on to the first thing that sounded like what i was experiencing. Second thanks for the info that both of you provided, and for keeping it simple. I think I got it all except for the "bios"..I'm still a little dim on that. In the meantime I at least have other things to check like the cables, etc. I appreciate the input. :)
__________________
NoClue55 is offline  
Old 06-20-2005, 01:26 AM   #20
TSF Team Emeritus
 
Volt-Schwibe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Behind you, watching you as you type.
Posts: 7,383
OS: Click "My System" to view details

My System

in the first page of the bios, there is usually an option to set the drives that are attached.

setting these to auto works the best.

if you set them to what they are, then it may speed the boot time, but only slightly.

normally i just leave them on auto to aviod future problems.

__________________
<signature>

TSF is funded by our Admin's pocket, care to help?
Power Tip: Subscribe to your thread (Thread Tools) to receive an instant email notification when you get a reply.
New Members: Creating a single new thread in the correct section is the best way to assure your thread will receive a reply.
</signature>
Volt-Schwibe is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:17 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts