Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Removable Media Drives

External harddrive - program exe files

This is a discussion on External harddrive - program exe files within the Removable Media Drives forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I purchased a Nexstar-SX external drive to recover my files from an older Laptop. The new Laptop I'm using has


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-31-2007, 01:42 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2
OS: window vista



I purchased a Nexstar-SX external drive to recover my files from an older Laptop. The new Laptop I'm using has Window Vista and the older unit has XP. How can I run my exe program files with this new device?

__________________
jrusseld is offline  
Old 08-31-2007, 02:06 PM   #2
Manager, TSF Articles
 
JohnthePilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Cheltenham, near Wales.
Posts: 35,412
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium, Service Pack 1

My System

Send a message via MSN to JohnthePilot

Hi there and welcome to TSF.
I'm not quite sure what you mean. If you want to copy program files from your old machine to your new one, I'm afraid this can't be done. Apart from some exceptions that are independent of the Registry, programs have to be installed on the machine on which they are going to run. Can you explain in a bit more detail exactly what it is you are trying to do?

__________________



Cenedl heb iaith, cenedl heb galon

JohnthePilot is offline  
Old 08-31-2007, 09:54 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2
OS: window vista



Here's more details. I'm trying to excess my files and program using an external drive. I purchased a new laptop today and pulled out the hard drive from my old unit. On the old hard drive I have several program that I need to run, such as Matlab, Pspice, Labview, etc. I need a way to continuing using these program with the new laptop. I can view all the files but I do not see any exe files associated with the old hard drive.
__________________
jrusseld is offline  
Old 09-01-2007, 01:37 AM   #4
Manager, TSF Articles
 
JohnthePilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Cheltenham, near Wales.
Posts: 35,412
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium, Service Pack 1

My System

Send a message via MSN to JohnthePilot

That's your answer I'm afraid. The programs won't run except on the machine they were installed on. You can copy the setup files to your new machine, but you can't run them until they've been installed on your new machine.
__________________



Cenedl heb iaith, cenedl heb galon

JohnthePilot is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:34 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts