Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Removable Media Drives

"Device is Not Ready" CD-ROM

This is a discussion on "Device is Not Ready" CD-ROM within the Removable Media Drives forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have indeed come in here before to ask virtually the same question, but I've learned something else about the


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-03-2006, 03:57 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Washington
Posts: 7
OS: Windows 98



I have indeed come in here before to ask virtually the same question, but I've learned something else about the problem so I thought I'd ask again.

I have a '98 Compaq Presario with a LITEON CD-ROM LTN382 cd drive. Ever since my dad gave the comp to me and I took it across country, the CD-ROM has been acting...oddly. When I first set up the computer I managed to get it to read and install the contents of 1 cd. Ever since then, it won't read any cds at all, and if I try to access the drive I get a message "The Device is Not Ready".
Try as I might, I just can't get a solid answer to the problem no matter how much googling I do about it. Is there any easy way to fix the problem, or should I just go ahead and buy a new computer?

__________________
Willpower is offline  
Old 04-03-2006, 04:15 PM   #2
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 24,230
OS: XP Professional


Hi,

Gosh Willpower, why would you want to buy a new computer when it is only a drive that is tanking on you? There could be several reasons for this to happen, but it seems more logical and more prudent to just buy a new CD drive if it has died. However, I would look at some other things before I would even pronounce it dead. Some questions need to be answered for us to help much:

Have you tried a new cable? They do go bad from time to time although they may look perfect.

I am assuming that it is just a CDRom and not a CD/RW unless I misread what you were saying, is that correct?

Tell us what is on that ribbon cable beside the drive and how each is jumpered. Otherwise, tell us how that drive is also jumpered plus the other drive on that cable.

Where is it located on the ribbon cable, the end connector or the middle connector?

Post back and we can take a look at possible issues.

__________________
Tumbleweed36 is offline  
Old 04-03-2006, 04:30 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Washington
Posts: 7
OS: Windows 98


It is just a plain CD-Rom drive, and I actually haven't opened the computer up, so I couldn't tell you about the status of the IDE cables. I suppose I should get around to doing that, though.
__________________
Willpower is offline  
Old 04-03-2006, 04:47 PM   #4
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 24,230
OS: XP Professional


Quote:
Originally Posted by Willpower
It is just a plain CD-Rom drive, and I actually haven't opened the computer up, so I couldn't tell you about the status of the IDE cables. I suppose I should get around to doing that, though.
Hi,

Come on Willpower, you won't get your feet wet any earlier. Jump right in there and take a look, you may just have a loose cable or something very simple. If you need help when you get it open, send a message or reply and we will try to get right on it and get you going.
__________________
Tumbleweed36 is offline  
Old 04-03-2006, 11:20 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Washington
Posts: 7
OS: Windows 98


I opened it up, although I couldn't too much access to the thing. Anyway, the ribbon cable and the power cable were both correctly attached to the drive. Since I really couldn't do much more, I put it back together.
Something I had failed to notice before is, when I start the computer, the screen is at first black with some white text that says something about ATAPI and the cd-rom drive. Perhaps that has something to do with it?
__________________
Willpower is offline  
Old 04-04-2006, 06:59 AM   #6
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 5,917
OS: XP


go to your device manager

control panel > system > hardware > device manager

are there any yellow conflict alerts showing?
__________________
whodat is offline  
Old 04-04-2006, 02:08 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Washington
Posts: 7
OS: Windows 98


There's only one alert thing, for the Iomega Parallel Port Zip Interface, which probably has something to do with the Zip drive my dad used to have. I'm not sure whether it's because of a conflict, though.
__________________
Willpower is offline  
Old 04-04-2006, 04:07 PM   #8
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 5,917
OS: XP


uninstall that conflict and reboot
__________________
whodat is offline  
Old 04-04-2006, 09:47 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Washington
Posts: 7
OS: Windows 98


I removed it and rebooted, but it didn't help. And I can't seem to uninstall any of the Iomega stuff either.
__________________
Willpower is offline  
Old 04-10-2006, 05:50 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Sumner, WA
Posts: 166
OS: Windows XP Pro


Sounds like the laser in your CD-Rom drive is going south. It might not be reconizing that there is media in the drive.

Like when you insert a floppy into a drive that can't read anymore. It will just tell you there's no disk in the drive.

__________________
TheKolkster is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:52 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts