Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Removable Media Drives

computer won't recognize my wd passport

This is a discussion on computer won't recognize my wd passport within the Removable Media Drives forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi I have a My passport essential usb2.0. I have backed up all my data successful. I have then had


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-18-2011, 03:00 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 2
OS: vista business


Hi

I have a My passport essential usb2.0. I have backed up all my data successful. I have then had to do a complete re-fresh of my laptop as it was so slow. Refresh went ok. Plugged in the Passport and drivers were installed successfully, however it didn't auto start.

Tried looking in computer and it doesn't recognise MY passport. I have used disk management and it shows as disk 1, unknown, 298.06gb, unreadable. However if I right click, then properties and then general tab it says this device is working properly. So looks to me as if my laptop cannot recognise the external drive.

I am tearing my hair out as am worried I have lost all my files and photos. My computer is a dell vostro 1500, running windows Vista business


Any idea how I can get this fixed

many thanks

Hi

a bit more info. I also have a little scandisk usb and when I put that in my laptop it recognises it with no problem and shows in computer as removable F drive. So looks like an issue with the WD Passport Essential, not the F Drive??

thanks

__________________
jontygee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2011, 08:27 AM   #2
Hardware Tech Team
 
makinu1der2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 14,884
OS: Win7,Win XP,PC LinuxOS

My System


In Disk Management right-click the drive.

Does the drive have a letter assigned? If not right-click the drive and choose initialize /assign letter

__________________
makinu1der2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2011, 08:37 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 2
OS: vista business



Hi

No there is no letter assigned. I have right clicked and tried to initialize. It tells me to use the following partition style and gives me 2 options. It recommends MBR (Master Boot Record) and option 2 is GPT (GUID Partition Table). I tried the MBR and then get a warning message telling me "The media is write protected".

Any ideas what I do from here??
__________________
jontygee is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] help!!!! guy gone crazy with bluscreans!!!:@:@
i have an intel dh55hc motherboard in my pc i built my pc during summertime and at that time i got the patriot ram ... the whole stock had problems .. (they work with onestick bt the pc wont boot with 2 sticks) so i had a stick of 2gigs of that ram .. then i upgraded it with a kingston ram ..and...
avok95 Motherboards, Bios & CPU 21 11-17-2013 06:14 AM
winik.sys
Hi All, I have done all i can to remove all the 280 malware/adware/hijackers/spyware from our pc....i have run AVG Free, SpwareBlaster, Ccleaner and SS&D... I am down to one - winik.sys.... I have managed to get rid of Babei (i think that is what it's called) commonname...from the...
trojanbeginner Inactive Malware Help Topics 26 09-29-2011 02:03 AM
Computer does not seem to recognize Monitor
Hi there, This is my first build that I've done so I've probably done something completely wrong...Anyway, I thought I had finished putting it together and powered it. The fans ran and the led's worked but the monitor's screen just stayed black. I've tried two different monitors: one through...
ADG11 Motherboards, Bios & CPU 16 05-16-2011 04:03 AM
Computer doesn't recognize 2nd HDD capacity
I have an HP Pavilion a450y computer, I'm trying to add a second HDD for music and videos 200Gig. The computer only recognizes 31.8Gig of the Seagate Barracuda drive, I did format NTFS. I've tried plugging it into either controller as slave and the jumper is set for CS. I have updated the BIOS...
HP Pavilio pcur Hard Drive Support 3 02-17-2011 10:05 AM
Power Supply Information and Selection
:smile: CHOOSING AND UNDERSTANDING A POWER SUPPLY UNIT The power supply unit in today’s modern computer assumes a role probably more critical than any other single component in your system even when compared to the CPU and motherboard. Therefore, there are multiple factors that must...
Tumbleweed36 RAM and Power Supply Support 0 07-09-2006 03:41 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:11 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts