Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Removable Media Drives

computer won't detect cd rom drive on boot up

This is a discussion on computer won't detect cd rom drive on boot up within the Removable Media Drives forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. im trying to reinstall windows xp on my computer. when the computer boots up it doesn't detect a cd rom


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-28-2011, 08:05 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 5
OS: xp home edition service pack 2



im trying to reinstall windows xp on my computer. when the computer boots up it doesn't detect a cd rom drive. How can i get the computer to detect it. I have a dvd and a cd attached but it wont get either one. ive tried setting cd as first boot but it won't even detect it.

__________________
ydanr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2011, 08:58 AM   #2
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,478
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



what are you running
video card brand and model
cpu
m/board
ram
power supply
brand
model
wattage

check the listings in the bios for 12v line voltages and temperatures and post them

have you checked the disk in another computer to be sure there is not a problem with it

are they listed ok in the bios

__________________
dai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2011, 12:35 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 5
OS: xp home edition service pack 2



my computer is a

HpIntel pentium 4 cpu 2.40Ghz,
511M system ram,
512K cache ram
video card ia a Geforce 4 agp8x 64m model #370033B
power supply is a 50/60hz 5Amp 100 -120 v
the mother board is im assuming is by Durango

i couldn't find the line voltage, but i tried a cd rom from another computer and it is not detecting it neither.
__________________
ydanr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2011, 04:08 PM   #4
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,478
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



take the side off the case and look at the label on the side of the psu for the details

what model hp is it

is it the original power supply

check the motherboard for bad caps

Badcaps.net - How To Identify
__________________
dai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2011, 04:14 PM   #5
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Rich-M's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NE Pennsylvania
Posts: 7,772
OS: Windows 7 Professional

My System


Are you saying you can't boot to the drive or that in Windows you can't see the drive and if the latter, do they show in Device manager?
__________________


All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Rich-M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2011, 05:07 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 5
OS: xp home edition service pack 2



I can't boot to the drive, right now there is nothing on the hard drive. when I try to load the windows cd it boots up but without cd rom support it detects the hard drive and floppy disk but wont recongnize the cd.. It is the same one I was using previously before I formatted the drive.
__________________
ydanr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2011, 05:13 PM   #7
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,478
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



is the drive seen by the bios
__________________
dai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2011, 05:14 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 5
OS: xp home edition service pack 2


Dai:

its a Hewlert-Packard SN # SN-USV3310CK9 and the product # 301072-999 and It is the original power supply. I'm going to your site to see how to identify bad caps.

Dai: No it doesn't show it in the Bios it shows ide and floppy only. I tried a different cd and it doesn't show it in the bios either.
__________________
ydanr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2011, 05:51 PM   #9
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,478
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



try a new data cable on it,until it is seen by the bios it will not be seen anywhere
__________________
dai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2011, 12:25 AM   #10
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 28,612
OS: Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX

My System


Make sure the IDE cable is plugged in correctly and the red stripe on the cable is facing towards the power plug. And the other ends red stripe is facing the same direction as the other IDE cables towards pin #1 and it is snug into the motherboard. Make sure the power plug is plugged in. Change the jumper pin settings on the CD/DVD drives so they are both CS (Cable Select) or one is Master and one is Slave. Make sure that you can press the eject button to eject the tray (correct power to the drive) Switch drives around on the chain. Try removing one of the CD/DVD drives in the chain. Check back in Bios after each change and make sure the drive is showing up there.
spunk.funk is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2011, 12:04 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 5
OS: xp home edition service pack 2



I tried two different data cables and they both sounded 4 0r 5 beebs when booting. Im assuming the cables were not the right ones for this computer. Are there many different data cables for cds and dvds, the ones I've tried work in other computers.

And as for the cables, I checked to make sure they were on pin 1 and secure, and also tried moving the jumper from master to csel.
__________________
ydanr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2011, 06:19 PM   #12
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,478
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



do the cables have the

blue grey and black plugs

set as

master on the black

slave on the grey

check the bios beeps here

Bios - BIOS Central
__________________
dai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2011, 04:35 PM   #13
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 28,612
OS: Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX

My System


You would not get beeps from using the wrong IDE cable. It sounds like you are either plugging it into the wrong IDE slot on the motherboard, or you are unplugging something else in the process.

spunk.funk is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] Win 7 wont boot with external drive
I have a Windows 7 with an external 500GB drive that I purchased a while ago and have had no issues. I recently removed my old 500gb Vista HDD from my old computer with the intentions of using it as an additional data drive. When I installed into an enclosure and plugged in via USB, my Win 7...
goat1202 Removable Media Drives 2 04-27-2011 05:53 PM
Windows 7 BSOD - Memory management
Been getting BSOD. Sometimes twice a night, sometimes none. This hass been for weeks. Sometimes I get stuck in a reboot loop, sometimes it wants to run Repair, sometimes it wants me to choose safe mode/no safe mode. Pulled out two 1GB sticks of old dell memory yesterday when it was stuck in a...
dj-anakin BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 7 02-21-2011 04:27 PM
Want to Build a New Intel or AMD System / Revised 2012 and updated regularly
http://i.imgur.com/puBh9u1.png http://i.imgur.com/TTntwDe.pngPlease note that this post is out of date! Please review our newest and always up-to-date thread here: http://www.techsupportforum.com/forums/f255/tsf-hardware-teams-recommended-builds-2013-a-668661.html
linderman Building 1 01-11-2010 06:08 AM
Power Supply Information and Selection
:smile: CHOOSING AND UNDERSTANDING A POWER SUPPLY UNIT The power supply unit in today’s modern computer assumes a role probably more critical than any other single component in your system even when compared to the CPU and motherboard. Therefore, there are multiple factors that must...
Tumbleweed36 RAM and Power Supply Support 0 07-09-2006 04:41 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:31 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts