Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Removable Media Drives

cd/dvd drive won't autoplay

This is a discussion on cd/dvd drive won't autoplay within the Removable Media Drives forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. My system is windows xp sp3 Hardware is internal drives Sony CRX23OED and D22A Drives are working, but neither will


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-07-2012, 05:32 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: N-west England UK
Posts: 50
OS: xp service pack sp3



My system is windows xp sp3

Hardware is internal drives Sony CRX23OED and D22A

Drives are working, but neither will autoplay.
When I try and manual play, it says insert a disc,even though there is a disc inserted.
I have tried windows autofix but that did not make any difference.
Tried to update the Sony DVD driver but it said that I had the latest Sony driver.

Also what is the best free downloadable cd/dvd player programme other than windows media player.

Any suggestions.

__________________
john-boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2012, 05:55 PM   #2
Moderator,
- Hardware
- Networking
 
Dogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 15,897
OS: Win 7 SP1

My System


Very likely NOT a driver or drive firmware issue.

Autoplay is a feature of the OS. See here> The AutoRun feature or the AutoPlay feature does not work when you insert a CD-ROM in the CD drive

__________________

Google is your Friend!
Dogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2012, 02:35 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: N-west England UK
Posts: 50
OS: xp service pack sp3



I have tried what you suggested Nothing in the registry needed changing and the driver update said I had the best driver installed.

As I said in my First message, sometimes when I insert a cd or dvd and try to run it, the system tells me to insert a disc even though there is one in the drive.


Any other ideas.
__________________
john-boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2012, 02:56 PM   #4
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: North East England
Posts: 5,919
OS: Win 7 Home Premium SP1 64bit



I've had this problem on two laptops with the MS Auto-Fix not resolving anything and in both cases, it resulted with PC World replacing the disk players. Looks like your's is probably goosed also.
__________________
Tomken15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2012, 10:22 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: N-west England UK
Posts: 50
OS: xp service pack sp3



I am not convinced the drive is goosed.

When I put a cd into the drive it auto plays. But when I put a dvd into the drive, nothing. This is a shop bought dvd, not a home made or dodgy copy and it plays perfectly in my stand alone dvd player through my television.

The drive is set for region 2 as it should be.

It also will not display or play some commercial computer programme discs through the drive.

Before anyone asks, Yes it is a DVD drive.

With regards to the advice to use pc world for a repair, why bother !
DVD drives are easy to buy and install yourself.
But I don't think it has come to that yet

The green light comes on for ages as though it is reading the disc, but it won't display the contents or play the disc.

Any further ideas please.
__________________
john-boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2012, 03:09 PM   #6
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: North East England
Posts: 5,919
OS: Win 7 Home Premium SP1 64bit



The reason PC World did the repairs was because that was where I bought the laptops from and they are under extended guarantee, with the last repair being within the original guarantee.

The first one while being able to play music CDs froze when trying to back up my files. Ran the auto-fix and it came back that it wasn't recognising there was a disk in and fixed that, but when I continued to create a sys. image, it just sat there clicking.

The second could also play music CDs but when I tried a sys. restore on that one, that's when I got the message to insert a disk even though there was one in.

Took it down to PC World where the Tech tried the disk on their equipment and it read okay, connected an external player to mine and it read okay but not in the laptop's fitted player.

Disk player was Goosed.
__________________
Tomken15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2012, 03:52 PM   #7
Moderator,
- Hardware
- Networking
 
Dogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 15,897
OS: Win 7 SP1

My System


CD and DVD playback use different lasers. It's not uncommon for a drive to stop reading CD's or DVD's, and still function fine with the other type.

__________________

Google is your Friend!
Dogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
flash drive not co-operating
hi, ive just encountered this first time problem with my flash drive since i lend it to a friend of mine. I have no idea what he did. When the flash drive was working it showed up as kingston (f:), now it shows up as removable (e:) and when i try to open it, i get message saying the drive is empty,...
kenney Removable Media Drives 4 03-08-2012 05:05 PM
[SOLVED] How to boot SATA HD first? Drive Configuration does not list SATA, boot menu
Needing some serious help. I've just even completed the latest BIOS update. I have two drives: SATA Drive - with Linux installed IDE - with windows XP installed. GRUB2 is installed and working perfectly on the Linux drive; however, the BIOS boots to IDE first, so it never even makes it to...
altjx Motherboards, Bios & CPU 10 03-07-2012 07:10 AM
Change Default Drive for User Files
I've just completed a restore on my Asus K72F. It's hard drive is split in two: Drive C, where Windows 7 and all software and programs are and Drive D, which is empty. Before the restore I had all my user files such as My Documents, My Music, My Pictures, Contacts, Downloads, Favorites, etc....
lochkelly Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support 1 03-07-2012 04:26 AM
New mobo, cpu & my C drive?
My motherboard died about 6 days ago. I have ordered a new Asus S1155 ATX P8Z68-V LE Motherboard & Intel S1155 Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz Quad Core CPU.I want to just install the new motherboard & cpu and hook up my un-formatted C Drive I wasn't going to format my C drive and reinstall windows xp pro....
Uly5 Motherboards, Bios & CPU 22 03-07-2012 12:16 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:42 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts