Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Removable Media Drives

Can't format my USB flash drive

This is a discussion on Can't format my USB flash drive within the Removable Media Drives forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hey guys , I can't format my USB stick (TEKQ USB 2.0 Flash Drive 4GB) it says Windows Could Not


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-05-2009, 05:32 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 27
OS: Windows XP


Exclamation

Hey guys , I can't format my USB stick (TEKQ USB 2.0 Flash Drive 4GB) it says Windows Could Not Format or something like that :(
I tried lots of programs to try to format it , even the Low Level Formation or whatever.

Do you have any suggestions? Please post here and help me , I really need the USB Flash Drive :(



Thanks in advantage ;)

__________________
GodOfWar000 is offline  
Old 01-05-2009, 05:46 AM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Maryland
Posts: 158
OS: XP Pro

My System


See if this works.
http://files.extremeoverclocking.com/file.php?f=197

__________________
bonyolddoc is offline  
Old 01-05-2009, 05:56 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 27
OS: Windows XP



It says "Device Media is Write Protected" when I try to format it.
__________________
GodOfWar000 is offline  
Old 01-25-2009, 07:21 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
techee1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: United States, N. IL, Rockford
Posts: 8
OS: Windows XP sp3/Ubuntu8.04


Send a message via Yahoo to techee1

Quote:
Originally Posted by GodOfWar000 View Post
It says "Device Media is Write Protected" when I try to format it.
Have you gone to the manufacturer's web site, is the drive password protected?
__________________
techee1 is offline  
Old 05-31-2010, 08:55 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 132
OS: XPP sp3



just had the same problem. search and found this thread. hp format tool worked great on these kingston 64gb flashes i got from china for like 12 bucks each.. i just have to reformat them one by one. lol

thanks
__________________
Rotary_Bunta is offline  
Old 09-08-2010, 09:36 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1
OS: XP sp3


EEK!

Although the original post is old the link still works...better yet the software works too!

I too had the issue with these fake 64GB Kingston Flash Drive not formatting and used the HP tool mentioned above....that worked like a charm.

Thing is I can only format it to FAT32. It bombs out when trying to format NTFS. I wanted NTFS so I could store my virtual PC images. Oh well It's a small trade off to get the thing to work.

__________________
AugustusM is offline  
Old 03-31-2011, 08:25 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2
OS: Win7



Would you tell me more about those fake Kingston USB sticks from China? I have seen them on eBay and was thinking of buying one but is it a good buy?
__________________
danico55 is offline  
Old 04-01-2011, 12:46 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 132
OS: XPP sp3



i would stay away from them, i bought like 20 of them from china cuz they had to sell the in bulk. every other 5 one was bad and they dont work on vista or windows 7 machines. only xp and can only format in fat 32. i did use the hp format tool. that was the only way i could get them to format tho. waste of my money.
__________________
Rotary_Bunta is offline  
Old 04-02-2011, 07:28 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2
OS: Win7



Rotary Bunta, thanks for the tip
__________________
danico55 is offline  
Old 04-12-2011, 11:13 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1
OS: windows 7 sp1



Having a can't format or even assign a drive letter problem myself says my usb flash drive is offline in computer management, wont even show up under my computer until I unplug it then a ghost all the sudden appears under my pc when I try to format it, it tells me to assign a letter to it first when I try to assign a letter it tells me I need to format it first lol. Just tried it on my vmware machine which is running windows 7 for the heck of it and it works fine came right up I formatted it assigned a letter etc like nothing was wrong just its completely dead on my windows 7 host machine can't even use any boot utilities like acronis to access it strange. Been looking for drivers for it for like 5hrs now its just a pny 2.0 4gb but can't find anything related to drivers for it anywhere that's how I ended up coming across this forum.
__________________
Section8 is offline  
Old 04-23-2011, 07:26 AM   #11
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: dhaka
Posts: 3
OS: xp



Some times it being for virus . you can try it from administrative template.

__________________
riyadabc is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:42 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts