Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Gaming Forum > Console Gaming Support

Xbox 360/Emerson 40" LCD HDTV HDMI Cable Not Working.

This is a discussion on Xbox 360/Emerson 40" LCD HDTV HDMI Cable Not Working. within the Console Gaming Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I just purchased an Emerson 40" LCD HDTV and was excited to finally play Skyrim in HD. When I connected


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-26-2011, 04:23 AM   #1
TSF Enthusiast
 
1shotDROP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: The US of A
Posts: 692
OS: Xp Pro SP2



I just purchased an Emerson 40" LCD HDTV and was excited to finally play Skyrim in HD. When I connected my Xbox 360 to the TV with an HDMI cable I was unable to get any picture or sound at all. The TV was purchased yesterday so I highly doubt that is the issue (unless it was flawed straight out of the box) and my Xbox HDMI port has never been used. The AV cable is rarely ever touched as well so I can't see that a loose port would be the problem at all. Has anyone else had this problem before? Is there a setting I need to activate on my TV first to allow it to receive the Xbox signal? Perhaps a setting I need to adjust on the Xbox before switching to HDMI? Also, I did make sure to do several restarts of the TV and the Xbox unplugging and replugging in virtually everything to ensure there wasn't some sort of handshaking problem. Also tried all three of my HDMI ports and their corresponding channels. Please Help.. I just wanna play Skyrim :(

__________________
1shotDROP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2011, 04:40 AM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
1shotDROP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: The US of A
Posts: 692
OS: Xp Pro SP2



Purchasing a new HDMI cable tomorrow just to double check if that's the problem, I'll go ahead and post if that resolves the issue. Still any advice is appreciated :)

__________________
1shotDROP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2011, 04:27 PM   #3
Tech, Games Team
 
bwsealirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Ireland
Posts: 1,279
OS: Vista Home Premium sp2, Ubuntu desktop 10.10, puppy linux, Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit

My System


That is quite strange, if your xbox is outputting in a resolution not supported by your new TV you may need to reset your resolution to get it working.

To do this:

Turn off your xbox.
Have everything unplugged from the usb ports (Plug and HDMI are fine)
Turn on the console and the controller.
Hold down the Y button and the right trigger until the console restarts.
The resolution should reset to a supported one.

If that doesnt work and a new HDMI doesnt help, we will try some other stuff.
__________________


bwsealirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] xbox 360 hdmi wont work
I have had this xbox hooked up to this TV for a while, it worked fine but i have not used it in a few months and I think it forgot the video settings, now its defaulting to 1080p put the TV can only do 1080i, I have tried the following solution "1. Connect your 360 to your TV with the included...
mercurous Console Gaming Support 27 01-12-2013 06:31 PM
HDMI cable not working
Ok well, up until yesterday i was running two screens, a 24" lcd and a 50" plasma. I had the 50" hooked up to my computer via HDMI. Yesterday i got a new gfx card and long story short, i didn't have the power cables hooked up properly so i took my old card out, put it back in, took it out again...
Pancake99 Other Hardware Support 9 06-30-2011 10:00 AM
Component HD Cable For Xbox 360. 720p Not Working (Kinda) :´(
Hey, I just found out that you get better quality if you play in 720p, so I switched from 1080i to 720p on Xbox. After I had done it, it started to lag on the screen, so I tried out the HDMI cables and then it worked just fine! Then I switched to component hd cable again, but it started only to...
Friqeh Video Card Support 2 06-27-2011 03:26 PM
ASUS G53JW NVIDIA GeForce GTX 460M LCD monitor not recognized (HDMI) + purple screen
I have a relatively new (FEB) ASUS G53JW laptop. NVIDIA GeForce GTX 460M Intel Core i7 740QM(1.73GHz) 15.6" LCD 4GB DDR3 1333 500GB HDD 7200rpm DVD Super Multi NEWEGG link: Newegg.com - ASUS G Series G53JW-XN1 NoteBook Intel Core i7 740QM(1.73GHz) 15.6" 4GB Memory DDR3 1333 500GB HDD...
CRLocky Laptop Support 3 05-07-2011 03:52 PM
HDMI not working on XBOX 360
Hey guys, I'm using a 250G Final Fantasy Elite console that was bought just before the new system came out. The AV cable works fine however I have been trying to get the HDMI to work. I connect the cable to the xbox and tv, switch the console on by pressing the controller button, however...
TomOutram Console Gaming Support 1 03-09-2011 12:27 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question

Gear in this thread


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:01 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts