Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Gaming Forum > Console Gaming Support

Why can't the ps3 controller be charges via the wall?

This is a discussion on Why can't the ps3 controller be charges via the wall? within the Console Gaming Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have multiple mains to USB adapters in my home which I use for various USB devices such as my


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-09-2011, 03:42 AM   #1
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 702
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium



I have multiple mains to USB adapters in my home which I use for various USB devices such as my iPod and headset, but none work with my sixaxis controller why?

My controller can only be charged via my PS3 or laptop and I want a way of being able to charge it without having to leave these on too (wasting energy).

Is there some sort of adapter which can convert mains to USB and charge awkward products?

Ideally, i don't want a specialised PS3 controller charger as I want to charge my sixaxis controller, move controller, navigation controller and camcorder all of which do not charge via the mains normally.


any product ideas? (preferably on amazon.co.uk)

__________________
kkid106 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2011, 12:42 PM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 702
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium



Not had a response yet so I am bumping the thread (I hope this is ok)

*also, noticed a typo in the title, sorry*

__________________
kkid106 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2011, 09:10 AM   #3
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 702
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium



does nobody know?
__________________
kkid106 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2011, 09:58 PM   #4
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Laxer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Salem, OR
Posts: 5,037
OS: Win7 Ultimate x64

My System


I charge my ps3 controller using the Wall->USB adapter that my cell phone charger uses...

The lights on the ps3 controller itself do not light up but it does end up getting charged...
__________________

..Notepad++ | CoffeeCup | WAMP | GIMP | VLC | Debut | CometBird | Web Dev
Laxer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2011, 09:02 AM   #5
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 702
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium



Oh, so it may charge using my adapters?!

I've always assumed that because no lights were coming on there was no charging occurring. Ill test it out next time my controller batteries die.

Any ideas why the lights wouldn't come on though?
__________________
kkid106 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2011, 03:19 PM   #6
Tech, Games Team
 
bwsealirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Ireland
Posts: 1,279
OS: Vista Home Premium sp2, Ubuntu desktop 10.10, puppy linux, Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit

My System


That does sound strange but I know better than to doubt Laxer :), maybe the lights (even when all are flashing ) also is designed to function as a basic indicator that the controller is connected to the PS3, even if it is synced. Make sure to get back to us if it works because I would be intrested in a couple of adapters if it works, dead controllers = :(
__________________


bwsealirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2011, 03:56 PM   #7
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Laxer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Salem, OR
Posts: 5,037
OS: Win7 Ultimate x64

My System


It blinks when I connect it to my computer... I believe it is because my computer recognizes the device and is in essence communicating with it.

I use this -> Playstation 3 controller(Dualshcok 3 or Sixaxis) driver for windows | MotioninJoy

To sync it with my computer. I can then check the battery life and change the BT id if needed.
__________________

..Notepad++ | CoffeeCup | WAMP | GIMP | VLC | Debut | CometBird | Web Dev
Laxer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2011, 04:02 PM   #8
Tech, Games Team
 
bwsealirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Ireland
Posts: 1,279
OS: Vista Home Premium sp2, Ubuntu desktop 10.10, puppy linux, Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit

My System


Thats pretty cool, I used to use my PS3 controller on my pc but back then the drivers were very unstable and not digitally signed, I ended up getting a wireless logitech controller for both the PS3 and PC, it works great to my ps3 controller stays with the ps3 :).

I know that the drivers are signed now and work quite well but I dont think I will need them. The PS3 controller is really good choice of controller if anyone is interested though.
__________________


bwsealirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2011, 05:48 PM   #9
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Laxer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Salem, OR
Posts: 5,037
OS: Win7 Ultimate x64

My System


PS3 controller + BT doogle($8) gives me wireless gaming on my computer which is great!

PS3 controller works great, emulators/games/movies work great.

you can easily custom set the keys to work.
__________________

..Notepad++ | CoffeeCup | WAMP | GIMP | VLC | Debut | CometBird | Web Dev
Laxer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2011, 04:43 AM   #10
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 702
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium



I've used the motioninjoy driver in the past and found it quite tempermental. It didn't seem to work too good, i could never get the analogue stick to respond.
__________________
kkid106 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2011, 03:27 PM   #11
Tech, Games Team
 
bwsealirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Ireland
Posts: 1,279
OS: Vista Home Premium sp2, Ubuntu desktop 10.10, puppy linux, Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit

My System


I remember experiencing something similar, but it was solved by enabling unsigned drivers in the PC start-up. That was a long time ago though.
__________________


bwsealirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2011, 04:22 AM   #12
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 702
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium



I have tried using a standard Mains to USB adapter to charge it and, as I expected, no luck.

I tried with an Apple adapter and the ZTE blade adapter, neither worked

__________________
kkid106 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows Xp slow boot after splash screen
After the Windows Xp splash screen I get about 30 to 40 seconds of blackness (could be more) before the cursor appears. When I start in Safe Mode it takes a long time to load mup.sys but that could just be because it's the last one to load. Here's by most recent ntbtlog.txt: Service...
Sulla Windows XP Support 5 06-17-2013 11:29 AM
HP Compaq NC6230 chipset problem
hello, i have a problem with my HP compaq NC6230 notebook. i`m trying to fix it since a week, i`m going to describe what i actually did: 1 it did`nt want to work with the HDD (i think its got a very picky motherboard) and its always showed an error message "1782-disk controller failure" and...
Zs0lt Motherboards, Bios & CPU 7 07-18-2011 03:02 PM
[SOLVED] Rootkit problem: hidden boot sector.
Dearest Techies: I have Windows 7 Home Premium on a Dell Inspiron N7010 Notebook. A few days ago the computer would not start and took me to the windows 7 startup repair utility, and it was unsuccessful in repairing the problem. I ended up having to restore the system to factory settings to get...
Raygumm Resolved HJT Threads 60 07-03-2011 10:07 PM
[System] Slows down to 13%-20% semi randomly.
Hello this is my first time posting on this forum. Problem: I'll run a program such as Stress Tests or CS:S and roughly within 15 minutes (give or take) I start to stutter and soon as I close the program CS:S I'll look at my processes and notice that system nt kernel is saying anywhere from...
X Myth BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 40 03-28-2011 02:53 AM
Lag in Dragon Age: Origins
I have Dragon Age: Origins Ultimate Edition for the PC. My PC surpasses the minimum requirements for the game and it runs really well for about an hour until it begins to get really sluggish. Around this point the loading times will increase and the frame rate will drop. What would cause that? ...
AndyJP PC Gaming Support 9 01-30-2011 07:47 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:15 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts