Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Security and Firewalls

vpn with MI424WR router

This is a discussion on vpn with MI424WR router within the Security and Firewalls forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi, Recentgly I switched to Verizon and they installed new wireless routger MI424WR-GEN2, firmware 20.9.0, v.E. Whit the new router


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-02-2010, 07:57 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 4
OS: windows7



Hi,
Recentgly I switched to Verizon and they installed new wireless routger MI424WR-GEN2, firmware 20.9.0, v.E. Whit the new router I have problem to use VPN. I did not have this problem with my old router nor I have this problem from my office. What is even more interesting is that incidently I am able to establish vpn connection from home. All this make me think that the problem relates to the router configuration but I have no clue where to look. Could you help, please?
Thanks, Ted
P.S. I use Windows7.

__________________
tsariysk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2010, 06:18 AM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2
OS: Windows 7



Ted what VPN software are you using?

__________________
davidawbrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2010, 06:47 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 4
OS: windows7



Hi,
I use WatchGuard Mobile VPN v.10.20 build 16 on Win7.

Just FYI, I tried all three preset firewall configurations on the router ('strong', 'typical' and 'week') but vpn does not work with any of them.

Thanks,
Ted
__________________
tsariysk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2010, 07:49 AM   #4
Microsoft MVP
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 50,845
OS: Windows 7, XP-Pro, Vista, Linux

My System


Try putting the machine using the VPN in the DMZ of the router.
__________________
If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!

Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
johnwill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2010, 12:56 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 4
OS: windows7



Ok, if the IP of the machine is in the DMZ it works. The problem is that with DHCP I have to login to the router to change the the IP. Isn't there more practical solution?
__________________
tsariysk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2010, 05:56 PM   #6
Microsoft MVP
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 50,845
OS: Windows 7, XP-Pro, Vista, Linux

My System


Why not simply configure that machine with a static IP address? No reason you have to use DHCP, just make sure it's outside the DHCP address pool of the router.
__________________
If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!

Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
johnwill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2010, 02:52 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 4
OS: windows7



It is not a solution, it is a mobile laptop used at work, at home, everywhere. Is there a way to identify which are the ports the vpn needs and the firewall blocks? Or maybe there is a default set of ports to be opened?
__________________
tsariysk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2010, 07:23 AM   #8
Microsoft MVP
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 50,845
OS: Windows 7, XP-Pro, Vista, Linux

My System


You can also lock the IP address to the MAC address of the machine. This allows you to have a static configuration in this enviornment but still use DHCP.


For "Static DHCP" to always assign the same IP to a given device: Click Advanced, Yes, IP Address Distribution, Connection List. If the device you want is in the list and you want it to keep the IP it already has, just click the Hostname link or edit icon, check the box for Static Lease Type and click Apply. Otherwise click New Static Connection and enter the MAC address and IP.

__________________
If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!

Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
johnwill is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question

Gear in this thread


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:58 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts