Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Security and Firewalls

Tracert shows 10.6.25.1 as first external hop

This is a discussion on Tracert shows 10.6.25.1 as first external hop within the Security and Firewalls forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. When I do a Tracert to Speedguide the first hop I go to in the outside world is a private


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-09-2008, 11:50 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 28
OS: xp



When I do a Tracert to Speedguide the first hop I go to in the outside world is a private IP addy, Whats wrong here?
192.168.0.1 is my router.Thanks. : 4-dontkno

C:\Documents and Settings\a.1>tracert www.speedguide.net

Tracing route to speedguide.net [66.230.207.58]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.0.1
2 34 ms 33 ms 31 ms 10.6.25.1
3 33 ms 31 ms 31 ms P12-1.LCR-01.PITBPA.verizon-gni.net [130.81.33.2
24]
4 37 ms 38 ms 39 ms so-7-0-0-0.PEER-RTR1.ASH.verizon-gni.net [130.81
.10.94]
5 40 ms 39 ms 40 ms eqix.asbn.twtelecom.net [206.223.115.36]
6 * * * Request timed out.
7 74 ms 73 ms 72 ms 66.193.50.238
8 75 ms 73 ms 73 ms te3-4.co2.as30217.net [84.40.24.50]
9 76 ms 75 ms 75 ms e49te.dr5.as30217.net [84.40.24.82]
10 75 ms 73 ms 75 ms bce0-ss1.sr1a.as30217.net [84.40.24.134]
11 75 ms 77 ms 73 ms speedguide.net [66.230.207.58]

Trace complete.

C:\Documents and Settings\a.1>

__________________
freeBTU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2008, 12:32 PM   #2
Microsoft MVP
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 50,845
OS: Windows 7, XP-Pro, Vista, Linux

My System


Please supply the following info, exact make and models of the equipment please.

What country are you located in.
Name of your ISP (Internet Service Provider).
Make and exact model of the broadband modem.
Make and exact model of the router (if a separate unit).
Model numbers can usually be obtained from the label on the device.

__________________
If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!

Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
johnwill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2008, 03:49 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 28
OS: xp



Pittsburgh area. Verizon Internet DSL. D-Link DI-604 router with firmware up date.
Modem is bridged Westell 6100.

When Internetfrog.com runs a trace back to me it stops at hop 10.



Hop Rtt Rtt Rtt IP Address Domain Name
1 0 0 0 209.164.48.154 209.164.48.154.static.sna.hosting.com
2 1 0 0 216.237.168.1 ge10-0.dcr2.dc-irvine-ca.sna.hosting.com
3 4 4 4 63.65.154.77 POS1-0.GW3.LAX9.ALTER.NET
4 4 4 5 152.63.113.62 153.at-6-0-0.XR1.LAX9.ALTER.NET
5 5 5 5 152.63.115.158 0.so-3-0-1.XT1.LAX9.ALTER.NET
6 71 71 71 152.63.0.169 0.so-5-0-0.XT1.DCA5.ALTER.NET
7 73 73 73 152.63.36.206 0.so-4-1-0.RES-BB-RTR1.verizon-gni.net
8 79 79 79 130.81.28.213 P14-0.LCR-03.PITBPA.verizon-gni.net
9 83 83 83 130.81.27.194 P15-0.LCR-01.PITBPA.verizon-gni.net
10 84 84 84 130.81.33.225 P8-0.PITBPADT-ERXG03.PITBPA.verizon-gni.net
11 * * *
12 * * *
13 * * *
14 * * *
__________________
freeBTU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2008, 03:59 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 28
OS: xp



These tests, and previous, done with the firewall lowered. 8Signs (name) Firewall is set to allow all traffic. I think the last few lines are most important.

A test run from: http://nitro.ucsc.edu/


WEB100 Enabled Statistics:
Checking for Middleboxes . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Done
checking for firewalls . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Done
running 10s outbound test (client-to-server [C2S]) . . . . . 134.0kb/s
running 10s inbound test (server-to-client [S2C]) . . . . . . 721.32kb/s

------ Client System Details ------
OS data: Name = Windows XP, Architecture = x86, Version = 5.1
Java data: Vendor = Sun Microsystems Inc., Version = 1.5.0_05

------ Web100 Detailed Analysis ------
Cable modem/DSL/T1 link found.
Link set to Full Duplex mode
No network congestion discovered.
Good network cable(s) found
Normal duplex operation found.

Web100 reports the Round trip time = 650.31 msec; the Packet size = 1452 Bytes; and
No packet loss was observed.
C2S throughput test: Packet queuing detected: 4.58%
S2C throughput test: Packet queuing detected: 10.61%
This connection is receiver limited 82.35% of the time.
Increasing the the client's receive buffer (63.0 KB) will improve performance
This connection is network limited 17.49% of the time.

Web100 reports TCP negotiated the optional Performance Settings to:
RFC 2018 Selective Acknowledgment: ON
RFC 896 Nagle Algorithm: ON
RFC 3168 Explicit Congestion Notification: OFF
RFC 1323 Time Stamping: OFF
RFC 1323 Window Scaling: OFF

Server 'nitro.ucsc.edu' is not behind a firewall. [Connection to the ephemeral port was successful]
Client is probably behind a firewall. [Connection to the ephemeral port failed]
Information: Network Middlebox is modifying MSS variable
Server IP addresses are preserved End-to-End
Information: Network Address Translation (NAT) box is modifying the Client's IP address
Server says [71.182.170.23] but Client says [192.168.0.100]
__________________
freeBTU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2008, 04:31 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 28
OS: xp



Pittsburgh, PA. sorry I just realized there are more than one Pittsburgh. My Pittsburgh is at the north end of the Ohio river.
__________________
freeBTU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2008, 10:44 AM   #6
Microsoft MVP
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 50,845
OS: Windows 7, XP-Pro, Vista, Linux

My System


What does the tracert look like connected directly to the modem? An IPCONFIG /ALL connected directly would be useful too.
__________________
If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!

Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
johnwill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2008, 12:22 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 28
OS: xp



Bypass the router and connect directly to the bridged modem.

Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\a.1>tracert www.speedguide.net
Unable to resolve target system name www.speedguide.net.

C:\Documents and Settings\a.1>


--------------

Bypass the router and connect directly to the bridged modem.

C:\Documents and Settings\a.1>ipconfig /all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : a1
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 2:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8139 Family PCI Fast Ethe
rnet NIC
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-C0-26-00-CA-49
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.100
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 71.252.0.12
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

C:\Documents and Settings\a.1>netstat -a
__________________
freeBTU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2008, 02:36 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 28
OS: xp



Should I try to reconfigure the modem to get on the internet without the router?
__________________
freeBTU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2008, 04:31 PM   #9
Microsoft MVP
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 50,845
OS: Windows 7, XP-Pro, Vista, Linux

My System


Yep, that will allow us to actually see what happens with a TRACERT too.
__________________
If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!

Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
johnwill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2008, 05:47 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 28
OS: xp



O.K. But first I have to find my copy of Lavanet bridging instructions so I can change it back to bridged when done.
I couldn't find it on the Lavanet site today.
I will probably have to talk to Verizon tech support to reconfigure the modem after I reset it to factory specs. I don't remember the address for the router.

Thanks for the support Johnwill!
__________________
freeBTU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2008, 06:55 AM   #11
Microsoft MVP
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 50,845
OS: Windows 7, XP-Pro, Vista, Linux

My System


You can get on the Internet without changing the modem from bridging mode. You just need to configure a PPPoE connection on the machine.
__________________
If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!

Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
johnwill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2008, 08:43 AM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 28
OS: xp



LOL!! I did it. I reset the modem before I knew any better and reconfigured it to surf the net. I made the files you requested by setting my firewall to "allow all traffic".
I made tracert speedguide, ipconfig /all, route print, netstat -a/-an

Thanks for taking the time to help me Johnwill.

=============


C:\Documents and Settings\a.1>tracert www.speedguide.net

Tracing route to speedguide.net [66.230.207.58]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms dslrouter [192.168.1.1]
2 32 ms 32 ms 33 ms 10.6.25.1
3 31 ms 32 ms 31 ms P12-1.LCR-01.PITBPA.verizon-gni.net [130.81.33.2
24]
4 37 ms 38 ms 39 ms so-7-0-0-0.PEER-RTR1.ASH.verizon-gni.net [130.81
.10.94]
5 39 ms 40 ms 39 ms eqix.asbn.twtelecom.net [206.223.115.36]
6 * * * Request timed out.
7 72 ms 73 ms 71 ms 66.193.50.238
8 72 ms 75 ms 73 ms te3-4.co2.as30217.net [84.40.24.50]
9 84 ms 73 ms 75 ms e49te.dr5.as30217.net [84.40.24.82]
10 76 ms 75 ms 73 ms bce0-ss1.sr1a.as30217.net [84.40.24.134]
11 76 ms 76 ms 75 ms speedguide.net [66.230.207.58]

Trace complete.

---------------------------

C:\Documents and Settings\a.1>ipconfig /all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : a1
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 2:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8139 Family PCI Fast Ethe
rnet NIC
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-C0-26-00-CA-49
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.47
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
71.252.0.12
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

C:\Documents and Settings\a.1>tracert www.speedguide.net
__________________
freeBTU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2008, 10:24 AM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 28
OS: xp



A more recent TRACERT edited for spacing to improve viewing. Pleas note #9, internap-gw.customer.alter.net

Tracing route to www.speedguide.com [66.150.161.136]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms dslrouter [192.168.1.1]

2 34 ms 31 ms 34 ms 10.6.25.1

3 32 ms 33 ms 31 ms P12-1.LCR-01.PITBPA.verizon-gni.net [130.81.33.224]

4 36 ms 38 ms 37 ms 130.81.28.12

5 38 ms 42 ms 40 ms 0.so-5-1-0.XT2.DCA5.ALTER.NET [152.63.36.213]


6 117 ms 116 ms 105 ms 0.so-1-0-0.XT2.SEA1.ALTER.NET [152.63.2.133]

7 116 ms 105 ms 106 ms POS5-0.XR2.SEA1.ALTER.NET [152.63.106.234]

8 117 ms 105 ms 115 ms 194.ATM4-0.GW3.SEA1.ALTER.NET [152.63.105.197]

9 115 ms 105 ms 116 ms internap-gw.customer.alter.net [208.214.103.138]

10 106 ms 105 ms 116 ms border5.ge5-1-bbnet1.sef.pnap.net [63.251.160.10]

11 108 ms 117 ms 117 ms redirectf.dnsix.com [66.150.161.136]
__________________
freeBTU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2008, 01:40 PM   #14
Microsoft MVP
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 50,845
OS: Windows 7, XP-Pro, Vista, Linux

My System


Since you have a 192.168.x.x address as the first hop, you still have a NAT layer in there somewhere.
__________________
If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!

Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
johnwill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2008, 04:38 PM   #15
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 28
OS: xp



How can I set up PPPoE so I can bypass the router and go directly through the bridged modem ? Will that give the desired results?
Thanks.
__________________
freeBTU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2008, 03:02 PM   #16
Microsoft MVP
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 50,845
OS: Windows 7, XP-Pro, Vista, Linux

My System


Yep, I thought that's what we already did.
__________________
If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!

Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
johnwill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2008, 06:06 PM   #17
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 28
OS: xp



No I bypassed to to the modem before your note arrived about PPPoE thru the bridged router.
I reset the modem to Verizons modem only settings. And when when I was done tracing I reset it back to bridged (I hope) The Lava net page about bridging seems to be gone. I found another page that was almost as good at http://www.flex.com/adsl/westell_6100/

So now I'm back to the D-link DI-604 thru the bridged Westell 6100.

I don't know how to bypass the router and go straight thru the bridged modem.

I guess I unplug the routers ethernet cable from the modem and plug the ethernet cable from my computer directly into the modem?? The I'm not sure what comes next.
Thanks.
__________________
freeBTU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2008, 06:29 PM   #18
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 28
OS: xp



Have I been abandoned?
__________________
freeBTU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2008, 05:48 PM   #19
Microsoft MVP
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 50,845
OS: Windows 7, XP-Pro, Vista, Linux

My System


You will need to configure for a PPPoE connection to connect directly to a bridged modem.


http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/l...6997.aspx#EFAA
__________________
If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!

Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
johnwill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2008, 12:47 PM   #20
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 28
OS: xp



Thanks Johnwill;
I think I completed the necessary tasks. I set up the PPPoE connection using the bridged modem only.
I had difficulty at first because after half a dozen tries there seemed to be no DSL signal on the phone line.
After waiting a while I tried again and made connection.
Below is ipconfig /all and tracert. I also have other netstat, route print etc.\

-----------------------------------------

Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\a.1>ipconfig /all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : a1
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 2:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8139 Family PCI Fast Ethe
rnet NIC
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-C0-26-00-CA-49
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.100
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 71.252.0.12
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

PPP adapter Bridged:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : WAN (PPP/SLIP) Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-53-45-00-00-00
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 72.95.158.141
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.255
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 72.95.158.141
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 71.252.0.12
71.242.0.12
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

C:\Documents and Settings\a.1>

------------------------------------------------

Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\a.1>tracert www.speedguide.net

Tracing route to speedguide.net [66.230.207.58]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 35 ms 33 ms 34 ms 10.6.25.1
2 35 ms 34 ms 34 ms P12-1.LCR-02.PITBPA.verizon-gni.net [130.81.33.2
26]
3 40 ms 39 ms 39 ms so-7-0-0-0.PEER-RTR1.ASH.verizon-gni.net [130.81
.10.94]
4 39 ms 40 ms 39 ms eqix.asbn.twtelecom.net [206.223.115.36]
5 * * * Request timed out.
6 87 ms 87 ms 89 ms 66.193.50.238
7 90 ms 88 ms 89 ms te3-4.co2.as30217.net [84.40.24.50]
8 89 ms 95 ms 89 ms e49te.dr5.as30217.net [84.40.24.82]
9 91 ms 89 ms 89 ms bce0-ss1.sr1a.as30217.net [84.40.24.134]
10 90 ms 89 ms 89 ms speedguide.net [66.230.207.58]

Trace complete.

C:\Documents and Settings\a.1>
=====================================

P.S. I did a Status on the bridged connection. Here is the report.

Device Name WAN Miniport (PPPoE)

Device type PPPoE

Server type PPP

Transports TCP/IP

Authentication PAP

CDompression (none)

PPP multilink framing Off

Server IP address 10.6.25.1

Client IP address 96.236.161.3

I hope you find the information useful Johnwill, thanks for your patience.

__________________
freeBTU is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:06 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts