Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Security and Firewalls

[SOLVED] How to configure router firewall to stop websites

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] How to configure router firewall to stop websites within the Security and Firewalls forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I am new to firewalls and I am trying to make mine block specific websites but so far have had

Old 08-19-2011, 01:25 AM   #1
Registered Member

I am new to firewalls and I am trying to make mine block specific websites but so far have had no success. Here are the settings I am using in the router's admin area:

Security > Firewall > General

Active firewall

Security > Firewall > Rules

Active
Packet Direction: WAN to LAN
Action for Matched Packets: Drop
Source Address: 92.123.149.15 (IP address of website I want to stop)
Destination Address: any
Services: Any(UDP), Any(TCP)
Schedule: all day, everyday

I apply the settings, but I can still go to the website on any computer on the network.

What am I doing wrong?

Old 08-19-2011, 01:32 AM   #2
Moderator hardware team

My System

This config will stop the specific website from accessing your network, but will not stop your network from accessing the site.

swap source and destination addresses - ie source should be your network (or the specific computer you want to restrict) and destination is the target address

PS: 'Packet Direction' may need to changed also.

Old 08-19-2011, 03:07 AM   #3
Registered Member

Thanks for the suggestions, gcavan. I tried them and met success. I was thinking about the packet directions wrongly.

Here are the exact settings that worked:
LAN to WAN
Source Address: Any
Destination Address: the IP of website to block
Returns "Problem loading page" and "The connection has timed out" error in the browser. This is the result I wanted.

Thank you again.

Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to configure cisco router 1800 to a IP VPN