Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Security and Firewalls

RDP options behind a firewall

This is a discussion on RDP options behind a firewall within the Security and Firewalls forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. If there a method of providing RDP connections when port 3389 is blocked and Security staff fights the waving of


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-09-2011, 05:38 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 2
OS: XP, SP3; Vista SP2



If there a method of providing RDP connections when port 3389 is blocked and Security staff fights the waving of the restriction. Have tried unsuccessfully to use Remote Desktop of port 80 to a Terminal Service Gateway. This is blocked by content filters that prevent RDP connections. I don't really understand the actions of a content filter but presume it is similar to the ActiveX filtering in Internet Explorer 9.
I guess the question that really needs to be addressed is - Is there an alternative that is similar in operation to Remote Desktop or VNC but secure enough to be waved by Security and still provide the required connectivity?
I have a couple of user connections from inside a government facility that require these types of connections to meet Federal mandates for oversight. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

__________________
rninow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2011, 06:06 AM   #2
Moderator Offline
 
Basementgeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 11,740
OS: XP Pro SP3/Vista Ultimate SP2/Win7 64 bit



Hi and welcome to TSF

This being a US Government PC, you should have plenty of IT people to assist you in this question.

BG

__________________

ASAP member since 2006

Four boxes keep us free: the soap box, the ballot box, the jury box, and the cartridge box.

Basementgeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2011, 06:14 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 2
OS: XP, SP3; Vista SP2



Yes there is a lot of help but no solutions. Security won't budge from the position that RDP is a security risk and our contractor staff won't budge without security being onboard. The basic irresistible force meeting the immovable object. All of which gets me no closer to a solution which provides my users the ability to perform their required tasks.

__________________
rninow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2011, 06:50 AM   #4
Moderator Offline
 
Basementgeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 11,740
OS: XP Pro SP3/Vista Ultimate SP2/Win7 64 bit



As you said there are restrictions placed on the PC/System, which means there is nothing we can do to help. Our forum rules prohibit it.

The only thing I think you can do, is talk to the boss and see if you get them to look into it. Not to mention, by passing their restrictions on your own, could cost you your job.

BG
__________________

ASAP member since 2006

Four boxes keep us free: the soap box, the ballot box, the jury box, and the cartridge box.

Basementgeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2011, 08:43 AM   #5
Management Team Networking
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Oregon
Posts: 15,574
OS: Vista/Win7



Consider recommending products like logmein, hamachi or teamviewer which do not require port forwarding.

Wand3r3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Firewall and Network topology help
Hello, we have the need to re-segment our network to impose better security and control over traffic, etc. Currently we are using a "Screened Subnet" firewall topology with a single firewall and multiple interfaces. Currently we have our public services servers out in front of the firewall...
alupis Security and Firewalls 3 04-04-2011 02:20 PM
Server Firewall issue
I had a prob with changes I made in GPO. I did end up getting that back to a usable settings but now the settings on the server have changed and I am not sure what the difference is or why it happened. the server is now using the windows app for the firewall on the server. I have it set the...
joeny0706 Windows Servers 0 03-02-2011 08:43 AM
[SOLVED] VCExpress Problem, Probably AppData\Permissions Problem?
I think it should be related to this forum because I think the problem is something with AppData \ Permissions which is related to Windows 7. I'm having a problem while running\installing Visual C++. The problem started 2 days ago, it did work before. When I'm trying to run I'm getting this...
benben12 Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support 8 02-09-2011 12:45 PM
How to disable your security applications
Note: Those which do not have the instructions for re-enabling are usually re-enabled by a reboot. Once the scans are completed, be sure to Turn On "Real-Time Scanning". Adaware 10 Free/Pro Antivirus Open Ad-aware 10 Click on "Real-time Protection" in the left panel, and toggle it...
amateur Virus/Trojan/Spyware Help 0 06-14-2010 01:12 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:52 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts