Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Security and Firewalls

AVG and McAfee

This is a discussion on AVG and McAfee within the Security and Firewalls forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have both AVG free and McAfee internet security suite 2006 installed on my PC, is this a bad idea


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-10-2006, 05:52 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 59
OS: WinXP MCE


Question

I have both AVG free and McAfee internet security suite 2006 installed on my PC, is this a bad idea and should I uninstall one (well I guess that would be AVG free!). To compound things I have windows defender too, should I ditch this?

From looking here I am beginning to realise that McAfee uses lots of resources, so I guess 2 AV programs wont help...

__________________
wolfwiser is offline  
Old 10-10-2006, 06:47 PM   #2
TSF Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Omaha, The Center of the Universe
Posts: 7,633
OS: WinXP, Win2K3

My System

Yes, you are correct. You should run a single AV program.

2 AV programs can conflict with each other.

__________________
crazijoe is offline  
Old 10-10-2006, 06:58 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 59
OS: WinXP MCE


Should I get rid of windows defender too? FYI I regularly run scans using adaware, ccleaner and Spybot s&D, I guess these are OK as its not real-time protection, just a removal tool??

Is windows XP SP2 firewall and McAfee firewall ok to run on the same machine? (I also have a firewall in my modem/router -netgear DS645).
__________________
wolfwiser is offline  
Old 10-10-2006, 11:05 PM   #4
Team Manager
Articles Team
 
chauffeur2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Whyalla, South Australia
Posts: 11,263
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium SP1

My System

Send a message via Skype™ to chauffeur2
You'd be better off keeping AVG, as it isn't as resource hungry as McAfee.
__________________
Dave T.



If it works, Don't fix it!
Especially if Microsoft made it!
chauffeur2 is offline  
Old 10-11-2006, 04:44 AM   #5
TSF Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Omaha, The Center of the Universe
Posts: 7,633
OS: WinXP, Win2K3

My System

If McAfee is a total security suite, I would just turn all the other stuff off. Do not run multiples of any security program.

I, myself, do not use McAfee so I'm not that familiar with it, but if you are comfortable with it then use it. Any security is better than no security. As for it being a resource hog, any security suite that gives you a install and go will use up resources. With some minor tweaking you may beable to lighten it up.
__________________
crazijoe is offline  
Old 10-11-2006, 05:59 AM   #6
TSF Enthusiast
 
dorts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Singapore
Posts: 1,599
OS: Windows XP SP2

My System

Please too read this great article written by our fellow Security Analyst, Glaswegian.

PC Safety & Security - What Do I Need?.
__________________

dorts is offline  
Old 10-11-2006, 01:52 PM   #7
Microsoft MVP
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 50,845
OS: Windows 7, XP-Pro, Vista, Linux

My System

Quote:
Originally Posted by wolfwiser View Post
Should I get rid of windows defender too? FYI I regularly run scans using adaware, ccleaner and Spybot s&D, I guess these are OK as its not real-time protection, just a removal tool??

Is windows XP SP2 firewall and McAfee firewall ok to run on the same machine? (I also have a firewall in my modem/router -netgear DS645).
Spyware scanners are a different animal. You shouldn't have two resident ones running, but running a transient one with Defender running shouldn't be an issue.
__________________
If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!

Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
johnwill is offline  
Old 10-15-2006, 10:30 AM   #8
Moderator: Design
 
dm01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Richmond, B.C.; Canada
Posts: 2,200
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate

My System

You can run two spyware scanners applications, but NOT two firewalls as stated previously.

http://www.answerbag.com/q_view.php/70868
__________________

Validate your Markup Validate your CSS Notepad++
Please use [HTML], [PHP], and [CODE] when posting code or markup.
I do not help by Private Message or e-mail. If for some reason I have over-looked a reply to a thread that I have previously replied to, then send me a message.
dm01 is offline  
Old 10-15-2006, 11:01 AM   #9
TSF Team Emeritus, Networking Team
 
Cellus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,665
OS: Windows Vista Business SP1, Windows XP Professional SP3

My System

That is true to a certain extent with software firewalls. You can however have both a hardware and software firewall running at the same time safely as they are essentially separated from each other in a network. A common example is having a NAT router with its built-in firewall capabilities (SPI and what not) and a personal firewall on your system.

Infact this can be more beneficial. The router will block many common attacks from coming into the network while your personal firewall can, if it supports blocking applications, block malicious programs from "phoning home" and leaving the network.

__________________
TSF Networking Team

Virus/Trojan/Spyware Removal Help
Donate!
Cellus is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:11 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts