Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Security and Firewalls

Anti-Virus blocking Internet connection, How to resolve it?

This is a discussion on Anti-Virus blocking Internet connection, How to resolve it? within the Security and Firewalls forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi: XP and Outlook Exprpess: After having installed 'McAfee Anti-Virus,' both Internet and Outlook Express did NOT open up even


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-10-2012, 09:48 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 186
OS: xp and Win7



Hi:
XP and Outlook Exprpess:

After having installed 'McAfee Anti-Virus,' both Internet and Outlook Express did NOT open up even though there is 'connected' icon at the right bottom of the corner. Apparently, Anti-Virus blocking Internet connection.

After having uninstalled 'McAfee,' both Internet and O.E. opened up normally.

Even other anti-virus, Norton does the same as McAfee did. Then, there is NO Anti-Virus to defend Internet and O.E. for which I'm VERY unconfortable to say the least.

My question is;

Without anti-Virus, how to protect/defend the PC/XP?

Thanks for your help in advance.

__________________
Snowflake10 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2012, 07:20 AM   #2
Moderator Offline
 
Basementgeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 11,552
OS: XP Pro SP3/Vista Ultimate SP2/Win7 64 bit



Hi:

What A/V were you using before McAfee? Did it work OK then?

BG

__________________

ASAP member since 2006

Four boxes keep us free: the soap box, the ballot box, the jury box, and the cartridge box.

Basementgeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2012, 06:55 AM   #3
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
- Networking
 
Dave Atkin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 767
OS: Windows XP - Windows 7 - Windows Server 2003 / 2008 - Windows SBS 2003 / 2008 / 2011



Hello,

Install a free Anti-Virus. Microsoft Security Essentials is rated well and wont block OE and the Internet by default.

In my personal experience I have found both McAfee and norton difficult to configure initially.

Dave
__________________
Knowledge is our most powerful weapon.


Dave Atkin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Suspected virus/trojan.
Lately, I've been having internet issues, issues I don't usually have. The programs that use the internet have been quite sluggish, but the other family computers are completely fine. It used to be livable, but now its gotten to slow and its random when it starts to slow down. I suspect that theres...
omgheart Resolved HJT Threads 16 03-19-2012 07:00 PM
[SOLVED] How do I change my speaker properties?
How do I change the properties on my laptop's built-in speaker system so that it doesn't think that the external 'green' headphone jack belongs to it? It is causing lots of problems for when I use headphones, as when I open some programs that have sound it sometimes separates the headphone and...
Jacob Kant Sound Cards 6 03-14-2012 06:17 PM
best way to cable from room to room?
Hi guys, I am setting up an office tomorrow in a different room in the house and my current setup is in the den. I'm crossing about 50 feet or less, but the problem is I can't go through a ceiling or anything like that. We ran one ethernet cable so far by routing it along the edges of the...
bascotie Cabling and Network Cards 6 03-12-2012 01:24 PM
How Can I Get Internet To This Computer?
I want to move my computer from the living room into my room so I don't get bothered as often. I have two computers in the living room at the moment (Mine, and the family computer). The family computer has the Comcast XFINITY router/modem next to it so I can easily hook up two ethernet cords to...
OutCognito Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite 3 03-11-2012 07:12 AM
Internet does not work
The Internet on my home PC stopped working one day. I use a Dlink USB wireless adaptor for this PC because there is no Internet out let in the room it is located in. My Internet works perfectly fine (as u see I'm using my IPod to write this message). When I open Internet explorer it says it...
Kkajita Internet Explorer Forum 1 03-10-2012 08:43 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:26 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts