Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > File and Application Sharing

Using VNC With 2 WiFi Adaptors

This is a discussion on Using VNC With 2 WiFi Adaptors within the File and Application Sharing forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-11-2014, 11:59 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 3
OS: winXP SP3



Hi,

I have a WinXP SP3 PC with a built-in wifi adaptor which I have been running RealVNC with fine for some time. I have given the infrastructure network on this adaptor a fixed and unique IP address and SSID. I now want to add a second wifi adaptor, this time in ad hoc mode so I can access the XP PC when away from my home LAN, and want to be able to access the VNC server on the PC separately via this adaptor also. The 2nd adaptor also has a unique and fixed IP address and SSID.

I have used several different computers to access the XP one with VNC with just the one adaptor but when I log on to the second adaptor's ad hoc network and then try to access it using the 2nd adaptor, despite being asked for the VNC password it just says 'connecting….' and eventually times out.

I asked RealVNC tech but all I got was a rather unhelpful 'yes, you can do that'.

Could someone advise where I might be going wrong, please?

Regards, Martin Winlow.

__________________
martinwinlow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2014, 12:41 PM   #2
Management Team Networking
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Oregon
Posts: 15,731
OS: Vista/Win7



Welcome to TSF!

"I now want to add a second wifi adaptor, this time in ad hoc mode so I can access the XP PC when away from my home LAN"

What is your thinking here? If you are away why do you think you would be in wifi range to access this adapter?

I suspect you maybe running into the known problem with dual homed pcs. Windows only wants to use one gateway. In your case you either don't list a gateway entry [no gateway with adhoc] or you set its metric much higher than the other adapter.

BTW you would normally, via forwarding in the router, attach to your home pc remotely from anywhere you would have an internet connection. It is just a matter of forwarding the vnc port to the host pc.

Wand3r3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2014, 09:27 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 3
OS: winXP SP3



Quote:
Originally Posted by Wand3r3r View Post

What is your thinking here? If you are away why do you think you would be in wifi range to access this adapter?
Hi Wand3r3r, Thanks for taking the time to reply. The server PC is installed in an prototype electric motorcycle and has only a small screen for use as instrumentation whilst on the move. There is no room for a bigger display and no way of securing it even if there was, being a m/cycle, nor is it practical to use a traditional pointing device for similar reasons. I need to access the PC for analysing the electronics whilst road testing etc which I planned to do with an iPhone acting as the screen and input device; neat and efficient.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wand3r3r View Post
BTW you would normally, via forwarding in the router, attach to your home pc remotely from anywhere you would have an internet connection. It is just a matter of forwarding the vnc port to the host pc.
Yes, this is how I have the infrastructure network configured.

Regards, MW.
__________________
martinwinlow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2014, 09:37 AM   #4
Management Team Networking
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Oregon
Posts: 15,731
OS: Vista/Win7



So what is the point of the adhoc wifi network?
Wand3r3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2014, 12:39 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 3
OS: winXP SP3



Quote:
Originally Posted by Wand3r3r View Post
So what is the point of the adhoc wifi network?
Because, when away from home, I don't have my LAN available!

Anyway, I have figured it out. The USB wifi adaptor I am using for the ad hoc network can't take a fixed IP address/subnet mask in ad hoc mode. So I had to find out what they were (just create a new network and try to log on with the iphone and see what comes up in the iPhones network info page) and plug those into the TCP/IP Properties on the ad hoc adaptor as well as the new viewer VNC entry for the ad hoc connection and it worked fine.

Thanks anyway. MW
__________________
martinwinlow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2014, 01:55 PM   #6
Management Team Networking
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Oregon
Posts: 15,731
OS: Vista/Win7



Looks like I missed the point that this is a mobile device and you are there with the mobile device which in this case is a motorcycle.

Have a great day.

Wand3r3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
user cannot connect to wifi after reseting a user password from Active directory
Hi In A domain environment when i rest a user password from active directory users and computers he is unable to login to Windows with new password. He is configured to login through wifi And we are using single sign on in the wifi settings. This issue is only affecting few users. connection to...
plumpf Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support 0 12-25-2013 01:46 AM
Loss of wifi connectivity after phishing call and remote access
Hi, guys. I'm hoping you might be able to help me with a problem I'm trying to sort out for a friend. He fell prey, unfortunately, to one of those phishing calls, where someone basically says your PC is slow, give us remote access and we'll sort it out. The end result was loss of wifi...
Triophile Networking Support 2 08-06-2013 10:23 AM
[SOLVED] BSOD NETWLV32.sys
BSOD netwlv32.sys Hi all, I have been getting BSOD every time i try to connect to some Wireless network and everything is fine with others. HP pavilion dv900 Notebook pc Home premium Windows Vista 32bit. I updated the driver but nothing happened. also uninstall norton antivirus and used...
immigranta BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 30 07-20-2013 08:12 PM
Laptop not connecting to home wifi
I'm having Windows XP sp2 OS on my laptop. For the past year i'm using a wifi router from "Edimax" :BR-6324nL Wireless IEEE802.11 b/g Broadband Route. My connection is secured & can also be accessed through my Android cellphone (Samsung). Since it is so, last week I connected through my wifi...
salilp90 Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite 3 12-06-2012 09:01 PM
external adapter can connect to wifi but laptop can't
Hi supporters, I've been having a problem with my wifi for a month or so. I used to connect well to my wifi, but then one day my laptop just can't connect to it anymore. It says "windows was unable to connect to..." or something similar to that. But what's strange is, I have an external wifi...
darklordnd Networking Support 4 05-04-2012 07:17 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:41 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts