Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Protocols and Routing

Unable to connect after virus removal restart

This is a discussion on Unable to connect after virus removal restart within the Protocols and Routing forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. What's up people, I'm running Windows XP Pro on an HP Compaq nc6220. My comp started redirecting to this happili


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-12-2012, 04:12 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2
OS: Windows XP Professional



What's up people,

I'm running Windows XP Pro on an HP Compaq nc6220. My comp started redirecting to this happili search engine in my browser, so I ran an anti-virus. My anti-virus is Symantec, but it was malfuntioning so I downloaded the Microsoft Safety Scanner from the website and it then prompted me to reboot to complete virus removal. Did that, but now I can't connect to the internet. I

've tried both at home and at the public library. It picks up the signal, but then stays there trying to acquire a network address but never connects. My IP address is straight 0's and I've tried assigning it manually, which it will let me do, but still then won't connect. I've also tried a system restore, which was successful but still did not solve the problem.

I downloaded and run winsockfix.zip with no luck.

I do not have the Windows XP disc.

here's my ipconfig/all:


Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : garrett-b3c3030
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection 2:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : plsinfo.org
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/Wireless 2200BG Network Connection
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-12-F0-CE-9F-03
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 0.0.0.0
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 0.0.0.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 172.19.196.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 172.20.1.10
172.20.1.4
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom NetXtreme Gigabit Ethernet
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-17-A4-E7-D0-94

Godspeed!

__________________
UndercoverNoob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2012, 07:18 PM   #2
Moderator - Networking
 
TheCyberMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: The Cyberverse
Posts: 6,935
OS: W8 Prox64,Windows 7 Ult 64-Bit SP1, Mac OSX 10.8.2 Mountain Lion, Android 4.1.1 Jellybean, IOS 6

My System


Hi and welcome to TSF,

Can you check in device manager under network adapters and see if your wireless adapter is showing in there, are there any ! marks, ? marks or redx's against the the device or does it display "This device is working properly"?

Can you try and connect an ethernet cable from your computers Lan port to the routers Lan port and see if you have internet connectivity?

Please post an ipconfig /all from the ethernet connection when the wireless is disconnected.

__________________
TheCyberMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2012, 05:31 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2
OS: Windows XP Professional



Sure, sorry about the delayed response. I checked the device manager, and there were no question marks or exclamation points over the device images in the networ0

k. Here is the ipconfig/all plugged into the ethernet (still showing disconnected):



Windows IP Configuration



Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : garrett-b3c3030

Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :

Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown

IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No



Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection 2:



Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : plsinfo.org

Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/Wireless 2200BG Network Connection

Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-12-F0-CE-9F-03

Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes

Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 0.0.0.0

Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 0.0.0.0

Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :

DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 172.19.196.1

DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 172.20.1.10

172.20.1.4

NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled



Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:



Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected

Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom NetXtreme Gigabit Ethernet

Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-17-A4-E7-D0-94



Thanks!
__________________
UndercoverNoob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2012, 05:53 PM   #4
2xg
Team Manager, Networking Forums, Microsoft MVP
 
2xg's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 20,021
OS: Windows O/S'es



Hello,

In addition please try the following tasks:

Perform a Reset of TCP/IP and Winsock:
Open up a Command prompt, click on Start, Run then type cmd press enter on the run box.
In the command line type: netsh int ip reset resetlog.txt . Press enter.

Type in netsh winsock reset catalog and press enter
After resetting winsock, Restart your computer.

Run the sfc /scannow command:
How To Use Sfc.exe To Repair System Files

If above suggestions didn't help at all to resolve your issue, next task to do is to run the chkdsk command:
How to perform disk error checking in Windows XP

Please give us an update.
__________________

Microsoft MVP 2011-2013 Windows Expert Consumer
Networking Articles & Tutorials
2xg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2012, 08:42 AM   #5
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: State College PA area
Posts: 1,628
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium, Ubuntu v. 11.04

My System


Also try resetting your router to factory default.

Make a note of any customised settings you have on it - if any - and put them back one at a time after reset if applicable.
__________________
CompTIA A+, Network+ certified
epshatto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 10:35 AM   #6
Moderator - Networking
 
etaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK, Surrey
Posts: 5,656
OS: XP-SP3, Vista-SP2



IP address of all 0.0.0.0 after a virus - i suspect your services are not running - DHCP almost certainly - BUT may be caused by a dependency

please follow the following and post results


------------------------------------------------------------------------
Services

We would like to see some status information for each of the services listed below to do this goto

Start> {Run in XP} {Search box in Vista/W7}> CMD to open a DOS window and type:
SERVICES.MSC
OR
Control Panel>
Administrative Tools>
Services>

then for each of the servies listed below - Please post back the following status information -
If the service is Started/Stopped
and
If the service is Automatic/Manual
  • COM+ Event System (for WZC issues)
  • Computer Browser
  • DHCP Client
  • DNS Client
  • Network Connections
  • Network Location Awareness
  • Remote Procedure Call (RPC)
  • Server
  • TCP/IP Netbios helper
  • Wireless Zero Configuration ( XP wireless configurations only)
  • WLAN AutoConfig ( Windows 7 & Vista wireless configurations only)
  • Workstation


If a service is not running,
right click on the service
then click on properties and now check the dependencies.

Check each of the dependencies and see which one is preventing the service from running.

Also to help us identify what may be causing the issue
Check the event log, there may be clues to what is failing. To do that
Start >
control panel >
administrative tools >
event Viewer>

------------------------------------------------------------------------
__________________
Wayne

etaf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2012, 02:47 PM   #7
Moderator - Networking
 
TheCyberMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: The Cyberverse
Posts: 6,935
OS: W8 Prox64,Windows 7 Ult 64-Bit SP1, Mac OSX 10.8.2 Mountain Lion, Android 4.1.1 Jellybean, IOS 6

My System


Any of the above worked please update.

__________________
TheCyberMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:30 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts