Tech Support Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

SSH Tunnel setup and connection

3K views 14 replies 4 participants last post by  koala 
#1 · (Edited by Moderator)
I have a small little computer thats quite old and i want to use it for an SSH Tunnel server at my house so i can use the Tunnel elsewhere. i might need a little help connecting to the Tunnel a little later too. i am quite new at networking so i dont know much. i have tried a lot of tutorials and they just dont work. as of right now my computer is running windows 7 home premium 32 bit but i can change to a linux or other if need be. im sorry but i dont know much about port forwarding. i hope this is overall an educating experience for me.

The computer is a Gateway MT3423 with 1 GB of RAM with an AMD Turion 64 x2 1.8 GHZ processor TI-53 i think

i think i have an ssh server made but i dont kno because i dont have another computer to test it on. if i try to go to a website that says they test it it says the server is not up. but i can connect to it via localhost. im on port 443 now. ill try 22.

#3 · (Edited by Moderator)
also i want to be able to have the server running if the computer is off. like have the server run off of something else but control it from the computer. would something like microsofts server 2012. i dont know anything about windows server 2012 or what its for but it doesnt hurt to ask.

i can connect to a "server" i made with openssh and cygwin through localhost but i have yet to test it from another computer. Would i put the external ip in the puTTY host name (ip address )? i havent tried it yet but i dont know. one more thing is that if i google search ssh server tester and go here:
Online SSH server test
it says it cannot connect. i dont know if that means anything. i have forwarded ports 22 and 443 because those are the ports i use to my static ip of .1.106

#5 · (Edited by Moderator)