Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Protocols and Routing

[SOLVED] Media Disconnected Message In Ipconfig

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] Media Disconnected Message In Ipconfig within the Protocols and Routing forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. My laptop (Sony running Windows XP) stopped connecting to my wireless network all of a sudden. I have done everything


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-11-2008, 12:53 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2
OS: windows XP



My laptop (Sony running Windows XP) stopped connecting to my wireless network all of a sudden. I have done everything including http://www.tacktech.com/display.cfm?ttid=257. System restore did nothing to help. The router has been reset, etc. but my OTHER laptop is able to connect to this network (comcast cable is the internet provider). So it is obviously something in THIS one laptop that is messed up. When I click view wireless network connections in the area, NO networks are displayed. The drivers and the network adaptor are all "working properly". ipconfig says that "no operation can be performed while it has its media disconnected". Status shows NO IP address, no subnet mask and no default gateway and a big red X through the icon on my laptop's system tray. So what does that mean and why did it suddenly happen? I don't get why it worked yesterday and today it doesn't. The ONLY change I have made recently is I bought a new 5.8 gigahertz wireless telephone I got a week ago and everything has been fine. The problem with the connection just began today. I DO have a modem for my telephone service through comcast cable which is also connected to my desktop pc. My router is a Linksys WRK-54G but it seems to be working fine. I have a windows vista upgrade...would that fix the problem? I don't know how to uninstall and re-install the network adaptor. Thanks so much.

Donna

__________________
dmbutler1 is offline  
Old 02-11-2008, 04:19 PM   #2
Microsoft MVP
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 50,845
OS: Windows 7, XP-Pro, Vista, Linux

My System


TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows XP with SP2.

Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt:

Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ip reset reset.log

Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

Reboot the machine.

__________________
If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!

Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
johnwill is offline  
Old 02-12-2008, 09:13 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2
OS: windows XP



Thank you...it turns out that it is a much simpler problem. The WLAN switch was turned off somehow by accident. It is on the front of the laptop beneath the card reader drive. Works like a charm, now.
__________________
dmbutler1 is offline  
Old 02-12-2008, 03:32 PM   #4
Microsoft MVP
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 50,845
OS: Windows 7, XP-Pro, Vista, Linux

My System


Thanks for the feedback.
__________________
If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!

Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
johnwill is offline  
Old 10-28-2008, 05:00 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1
OS: XP



Johnwill, THANK YOU.

I have been looking to fix this problem on a laptop behind a Netgear entry-level wireless modem since roughly the time this thread was created, and I've only just got around to it... well, there are other PC's, the AV, adware etc scans all came back clean, I figured it was either something so fiendishly clever I could never protect against it, or a botched hijack attempt, and decided to see how it played out.

Two command lines in DOS, that's how. I know, I really should reinstall XP and upgrade everything just to be sure, but the number of "Now you must download/alter/reinstall this, or all the unicorns will die" type fixes I've seen - on legitimate help forums, mind you - that just didn't address the basics, well, it doesn't bear thinking about.

So thankyou, Johnwill, wherever you are, whatever you're doing, thankyou; I registered here to do just (and only) that.

Did I say it already? Thankyou. Genius.

To anyone else reading this thread with a similar problem: whether you can connect to your network or not, or if, like me, you could see the router in your browser but not connect to the internet through the same method, try this. It's painless, requires a single reboot, and has got to be worth a shot before going through reinstallation of Windows.

Thankyou!
__________________
Skudos is offline  
Old 10-29-2008, 04:21 PM   #6
Microsoft MVP
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 50,845
OS: Windows 7, XP-Pro, Vista, Linux

My System


Glad it helped you out.
__________________
If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!

Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
johnwill is offline  
Old 07-16-2009, 08:11 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1
OS: WinXP Pro SP3



The 2 steps in DOS worked for me, too! After a week of frustration, while traveling and unable to connect, I'm very happy! :) Thank you!
__________________
sandy-dee is offline  
Old 10-27-2009, 09:39 AM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Raleigh NC
Posts: 11
OS: XP sp2



Quote:
Originally Posted by johnwill View Post
TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows XP with SP2.

Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt:

Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ip reset reset.log

Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

Reboot the machine.
Thank you johnwill, I realize now the post was somewhat rambling.

In the middle of the post I stated
"Took it to the house and hard connected, worked fine. Noticed the wireless icon showed connectivity, and did that, but would drop at 10-15' from router."

So yes it connected properly with a wired connection, and connected via wireless as well in very close proximity to the Linksys WRT54g.
However I was still experiencing delays after the change to the Intel 2200BG, and reseting the TCP/IP stack and WINSOCK entries as you suggested in the original thread.

I'm thinking I didnt execute the reboot properly, because at boot up this morning it connected right away. I have rebooted several times today and operation appears normal.

So again, thank you, your solution was on target and ended my frustration.
__________________
ed.camino is offline  
Old 01-04-2010, 03:36 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 6
OS: vista



Hello,
I'm having a similar problem to the one described above. I can no longer see any wireless networks on my laptop (Dell 1545, vista). This happened all of a sudden yesterday. When I run IPconfig, I see that the wireless lan says "media disconnected," and I can't release or renew the IP address. Other laptops can connect to my wireless router. Is there a seperate TCP/IP stack repair option for Vista?

Any help is appreciated.
-Kerry
__________________
walker1200 is offline  
Old 01-04-2010, 05:45 PM   #10
Microsoft MVP
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 50,845
OS: Windows 7, XP-Pro, Vista, Linux

My System


Yes, there is a different repair for Vista.


TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista or Windows 7.

Start, All Programs\Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.

In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following commands, each followed by the Enter key:

Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log

Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log

Reboot the machine.
__________________
If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!

Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
johnwill is offline  
Old 01-04-2010, 07:10 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 6
OS: vista



Johnwill,
Thank you very much for the quick reply. I ran the command and rebooted, and my wireless is functioning again. Your help is very much appreciated!
-K
__________________
walker1200 is offline  
Old 01-05-2010, 07:20 AM   #12
Microsoft MVP
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 50,845
OS: Windows 7, XP-Pro, Vista, Linux

My System


You're welcome.
__________________
If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!

Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
johnwill is offline  
Old 01-06-2010, 07:09 PM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 6
OS: vista



JohnWill,
My issue has returned, unfortunately. I've run the specified commands again, but now I get the error below. Any ideas?
Thanks.
-K


"Reseting Echo Request, Failed.
Access is denied.
There's no user specified settings to be reset."
__________________
walker1200 is offline  
Old 01-07-2010, 08:20 AM   #14
Microsoft MVP
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 50,845
OS: Windows 7, XP-Pro, Vista, Linux

My System


Have you removed all the stored wireless profiles and searched for the network again? You should be prompted for the encryption key.

Download and run this Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector and post a screen shot of the main screen here.


To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file. To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
__________________
If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!

Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
johnwill is offline  
Old 01-07-2010, 10:37 AM   #15
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 10
OS: XP



Quote:
Originally Posted by johnwill View Post
TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows XP with SP2.

Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt:

Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ip reset reset.log

Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

Reboot the machine.
Hi.

I tried this option, but my command prompt said "netsh is not recognised as an internal or external command, operable program or batch file". I am typing it out exactly as is in the quote, so am I supposed to get rid of the spaces?

Thanks for any help.
__________________
Stephen_C is offline  
Old 01-07-2010, 02:15 PM   #16
Microsoft MVP
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 50,845
OS: Windows 7, XP-Pro, Vista, Linux

My System


If you have SP1 or earlier, those commands won't work.
__________________
If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!

Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
johnwill is offline  
Old 01-08-2010, 10:03 AM   #17
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 10
OS: XP



Oh, okay. That must be what it is. Do you know an alternative command I could try?
__________________
Stephen_C is offline  
Old 01-08-2010, 04:43 PM   #18
Microsoft MVP
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 50,845
OS: Windows 7, XP-Pro, Vista, Linux

My System


Automated WINSOCK Fix for XP
__________________
If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!

Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
johnwill is offline  
Old 01-08-2010, 05:30 PM   #19
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 6
OS: vista



Hey JohnWill,
I downloaded the software but get no wireless networks in the area. I know the signal is still working because my tenant has no problems. I'll upload the screens.
-K
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	wireless1.jpg
Views:	366
Size:	139.4 KB
ID:	63454   Click image for larger version

Name:	wireless2.jpg
Views:	213
Size:	82.5 KB
ID:	63455  
__________________
walker1200 is offline  
Old 01-09-2010, 09:05 AM   #20
Microsoft MVP
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 50,845
OS: Windows 7, XP-Pro, Vista, Linux

My System


Does a wired connection work? From that display, it doesn't appear any wireless hardware is recognized on that machine.


Hold the Windows key and press R, then type devmgmt.msc

Please respond to all the following steps.
  1. Under Network adapters, please tell me all the devices listed.
  2. Are there any devices under Network adapters that have a red x displayed?
  3. Also, are there any devices anywhere in the Device Manager display with yellow ? or ! displayed?



Let's see this as well.

Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD then press Enter to open a command prompt:

In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following command:

Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

IPCONFIG /ALL

Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter to copy the contents to the clipboard.
Paste the results in a message here.

If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.

__________________
If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!

Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
johnwill is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:29 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts