Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Protocols and Routing

[SOLVED] able to Ping but not connect

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] able to Ping but not connect within the Protocols and Routing forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello there:), this is my first post and I am in need of some real help..I've been at this 24


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-27-2008, 01:34 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 4
OS: XP media center edtion Pro


Evil

Hello there:),
this is my first post and I am in need of some real help..I've been at this 24 hours literally.... this is a last resort..before reformat...but here's the problem:

I am able to ping and hit google or yahoo...but I cannot connect to anything on the internet...even tho it shows me good and connected?? my computer is clean and virus free..and this happened in the night woke up and all 3 puters in the house were glitched up and crashed. the other 2 were fine and mine was left like the above....
other than this one problem it is working fine.. I thank you for all your help...

Jadzzia

__________________
Jadzzia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2008, 02:18 PM   #2
Microsoft MVP
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 50,845
OS: Windows 7, XP-Pro, Vista, Linux

My System


TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows XP with SP2.

Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt:

Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ip reset reset.log

Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

Reboot the machine.



Let's see this as well.

Try these simple tests.

Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD to open a command prompt:

PING 216.109.112.135

PING yahoo.com


Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
Paste the results in a message here.

If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.



Finally, I'd like to see this.

Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD to open a command prompt:

Type the following command:

IPCONFIG /ALL

Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
Paste the results in a message here.

If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.

__________________
If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!

Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
johnwill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2008, 02:50 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 4
OS: XP media center edtion Pro



Thank you so much for your reply, here is the info you requested :)


Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Trinity X>ping 216.109.112.135

Pinging 216.109.112.135 with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 216.109.112.135: bytes=32 time=68ms TTL=52
Reply from 216.109.112.135: bytes=32 time=67ms TTL=52
Reply from 216.109.112.135: bytes=32 time=68ms TTL=52
Reply from 216.109.112.135: bytes=32 time=77ms TTL=52

Ping statistics for 216.109.112.135:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 67ms, Maximum = 77ms, Average = 70ms

C:\Documents and Settings\Trinity X>ping yahoo.com

Pinging yahoo.com [66.94.234.13] with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 66.94.234.13: bytes=32 time=63ms TTL=52
Reply from 66.94.234.13: bytes=32 time=62ms TTL=52
Reply from 66.94.234.13: bytes=32 time=63ms TTL=52
Reply from 66.94.234.13: bytes=32 time=63ms TTL=52

Ping statistics for 66.94.234.13:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 62ms, Maximum = 63ms, Average = 62ms

C:\Documents and Settings\Trinity X>



______________________________________________________

Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Trinity X>ipconfig /all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : TrinityX
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8139/810x Family Fast Eth
ernet NIC
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-11-2F-34-1F-84
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.101
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 208.180.42.100
208.180.42.68
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, February 27, 2008 4:33:06
PM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Thursday, February 28, 2008 4:33:06
PM

C:\Documents and Settings\Trinity X>
__________________
Jadzzia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2008, 06:33 AM   #4
Microsoft MVP
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 50,845
OS: Windows 7, XP-Pro, Vista, Linux

My System


What happens when you try to connect (exact symptoms)? Did you try perhaps installing an alternate browser like Firefox?
__________________
If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!

Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
johnwill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2008, 06:49 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 30
OS: xp media center 2005



try putting the ip address of say www.bbc.co.uk (212.58.251.201) into the address bar of your browser and see what happens, if the page loads the DNS server your pc is using is broken and you need to change it to another one.
__________________
brook1967 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2008, 11:00 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 4
OS: XP media center edtion Pro



Thank you both for the responses...John ..basically ..my connections just "time out".......
Brook, I did try the addy and nothing different happened just timed out.
__________________
Jadzzia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2008, 04:30 PM   #7
Microsoft MVP
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 50,845
OS: Windows 7, XP-Pro, Vista, Linux

My System


Try booting in safe mode with networking and see if you get connected.
__________________
If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!

Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
johnwill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2008, 06:59 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 4
OS: XP media center edtion Pro



Hello everyone!:) I wanted to let you know that it was hardware...I got a new network card.. and now I'm up and running! want to thank you all for your time and effort!:) Your site kept me occupied by checking and looking around abit while I was down. :) So Thank you for being here...
Jadzzia
"Time Tells All Truths"
__________________
Jadzzia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2008, 07:14 AM   #9
Microsoft MVP
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 50,845
OS: Windows 7, XP-Pro, Vista, Linux

My System


That's our motto: If we can't fix 'em, we'll keep them busy while they figure it out for themselves!
__________________
If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!

Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
johnwill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2008, 12:02 AM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1
OS: vista



how do you do this in windows vista?
__________________
novawizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2008, 12:31 PM   #11
Microsoft MVP
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 50,845
OS: Windows 7, XP-Pro, Vista, Linux

My System


novawizard, please start your own thread with complete details on the configuration and issue.

__________________
If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!

Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
johnwill is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:24 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts