Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Protocols and Routing

Network consolidation

This is a discussion on Network consolidation within the Protocols and Routing forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi all, This my scenario: We have two networks in our lan: 10.0.0.0/24 and 192.168.1.0/24. Actually the networks are separated.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-23-2011, 02:56 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 2
OS: Win 7



Hi all,

This my scenario:

We have two networks in our lan: 10.0.0.0/24 and 192.168.1.0/24. Actually the networks are separated.
The 192.168.1.0/24 network contains some hosts that ip can not be changed.

The goal:

We want redesign the network and communicate with both networks without routers.

I thougnt about changing the netmask for 192.168.1.0/24 in 192.168.1.0/22 (1022 hosts) and change IP's in the 10.0.0.0/24 network in 192.168.2.0/22.

Is that correct?
have you other suggestions?

Tnx.

__________________
andreagx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2011, 03:33 PM   #2
2xg
Team Manager, Networking Forums, Microsoft MVP
 
2xg's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 19,872
OS: Windows O/S'es



Welcome to TSF,

Is this a school project?

__________________

Microsoft MVP 2011-2013 Windows Expert Consumer
Networking Articles & Tutorials
2xg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2011, 10:39 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 2
OS: Win 7



No. it's reality! I only need a confirm... before change many and many IPs :-)

obviously all hosts are conneted phisically.
__________________
andreagx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2011, 08:45 AM   #4
Management Team Networking
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Oregon
Posts: 15,023
OS: Vista/Win7



changing the subnet masks does nothing for your situation.

you can not supernet those ip ranges.

for example you have 192.168.1.0/22
which results in a range of ips
192.168.0.0 - 192.168.3.255

How is that going to help you at all?
Wand3r3r is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wireless connection Yellow exclamation
Seen this several times in this Forum and others but cannot find a solution to my problem, so apologies for raising yet again. I do have a comprehensive post though. I have been trying to diagnose this problem for weeks and despite trying all the advice I’ve seen, nothing has yet fixed it. ...
dpbardell Networking Support 15 10-23-2011 11:30 AM
[SOLVED] Win7 HP Laptop wont connect to Belkin FSD8235 - 4
Hi All For some reason my laptop has stopped connecting to my wireless network. It shows up as available with Excellent signal. I know the password is correct and that hasnt changed but now when i right click and connect it INSTANTLY says "Windows cannot connect to Area51" before it even seems...
toms88 Networking Support 24 05-15-2011 08:47 AM
Hosted VPN, IP Forwarding, Routing and Bridging
I have got a PC at work (Windows XP Pro SP3) that is on two networks with the IPs 10.20.30.167, subnet 255.255.255.0 (internet enabled) and 10.0.0.20, subnet 255.255.255.0 (no internet). On the 10.0.0.X network there is a gateway with the IP 10.0.0.200 allowing access to another network;...
Lewi-G Protocols and Routing 2 04-05-2011 12:43 PM
Firewall and Network topology help
Hello, we have the need to re-segment our network to impose better security and control over traffic, etc. Currently we are using a "Screened Subnet" firewall topology with a single firewall and multiple interfaces. Currently we have our public services servers out in front of the firewall...
alupis Security and Firewalls 3 04-04-2011 02:20 PM
No Connections Available
Hey TSF, I need your help. I'm at my wit's end. I've just brought this Acer Aspire One D260 netbook, and I'm having trouble with the wireless. It simply says "No connections available", and it displays no networks in the network menu. I'm using: Acer Aspire One D260 netbook with Windows 7...
Joshimodo Protocols and Routing 16 12-31-2010 05:35 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:48 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts