Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Protocols and Routing

ftp

This is a discussion on ftp within the Protocols and Routing forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I can't get it to work with IE either. Dos works fine though. I would bet that FileZilla would work


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-24-2006, 07:19 AM   #21
TSF Enthusiast
 
Squashman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: 1265 Lombardi Ave.
Posts: 1,621
OS: All of the above


I can't get it to work with IE either. Dos works fine though. I would bet that FileZilla would work fine as well.

FireFox Works Perfect!!!!!

__________________
Squashman is offline  
Old 03-24-2006, 07:36 AM   #22
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 285
OS: Osx mavericks


Quote:
Originally Posted by Squashman
I can't get it to work with IE either. Dos works fine though. I would bet that FileZilla would work fine as well.

FireFox Works Perfect!!!!!

nice one..thanks alot guys!!!

__________________
rollmesome is offline  
Old 03-24-2006, 05:16 PM   #23
Microsoft MVP
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 50,845
OS: Windows 7, XP-Pro, Vista, Linux

My System

Try setting the server options to passive mode, sometimes that helps IE connect.
__________________
If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!

Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
johnwill is offline  
Old 03-25-2006, 11:14 AM   #24
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 285
OS: Osx mavericks


how would i do tht?


also how did u enter my ftp in firefox

if i try entering the ftp in firefox..it jus says error 421 password incorrect...it doesnt even ask for it !!!
__________________
rollmesome is offline  
Old 03-25-2006, 01:02 PM   #25
Microsoft MVP
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 50,845
OS: Windows 7, XP-Pro, Vista, Linux

My System

Firefox may be trying to anonymously connect, I don't use it, so I can't say.

The passive mode is setup in the FTP server configuration, again I don't use that server, so I'm not sure exactly where to tell you to look. Here's a link on setting up your server, and they mention how to configure passive mode. http://www.nexcess.net/hosting/suppo...bpftpindex.php
__________________
If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!

Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
johnwill is offline  
Old 03-25-2006, 03:24 PM   #26
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 285
OS: Osx mavericks


cheers i set tht up...

can u try it now.
__________________
rollmesome is offline  
Old 03-25-2006, 04:17 PM   #27
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 285
OS: Osx mavericks


heres a screenshot

wha should i change passive port range to?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	untitled.JPG
Views:	10
Size:	115.4 KB
ID:	6139  
__________________
rollmesome is offline  
Old 03-25-2006, 04:25 PM   #28
Microsoft MVP
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 50,845
OS: Windows 7, XP-Pro, Vista, Linux

My System

Still no joy, doesn't accept the password. I'm out of ideas, unless you want to change the server you use.
__________________
If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!

Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
johnwill is offline  
Old 03-25-2006, 04:56 PM   #29
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 285
OS: Osx mavericks


mmm sure as long as it doesnt cost much....

jus tell me what to do.
__________________
rollmesome is offline  
Old 03-26-2006, 02:57 PM   #30
Microsoft MVP
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 50,845
OS: Windows 7, XP-Pro, Vista, Linux

My System

You could try FileZilla. You could also just point anyone that you want to connect to you to one of the many free FTP clients.
__________________
If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!

Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
johnwill is offline  
Old 03-26-2006, 07:41 PM   #31
TSF Enthusiast
 
Squashman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: 1265 Lombardi Ave.
Posts: 1,621
OS: All of the above


I don't think it gets an easier than this one to setup.
http://www.pablosoftwaresolutions.com/
http://www.pablosoftwaresolutions.co...tp_server.html

I have no problems connecting to your ftp with FireFox. I just put in ftp://omers.no-ip.info/ and it asked me for a username and password.
__________________
Squashman is offline  
Old 03-27-2006, 07:05 AM   #32
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 285
OS: Osx mavericks


thanks..it works with firefox...i always thought IE was rubbish anyway..

thanks guys!!! appreciate it!!!!
__________________
rollmesome is offline  
Old 03-27-2006, 03:14 PM   #33
Microsoft MVP
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 50,845
OS: Windows 7, XP-Pro, Vista, Linux

My System

You're welcome.
__________________
If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!

Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
johnwill is offline  
Old 03-29-2006, 10:33 AM   #34
Registered Member
 
0S1R1S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 127
OS: XP Pro / 2000 Server


Was there a solution to this problem besides using FireFox instead of IE.. I'm running into the same problem with it not accepting the password.
__________________
0S1R1S is offline  
Old 03-30-2006, 01:08 PM   #35
Microsoft MVP
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 50,845
OS: Windows 7, XP-Pro, Vista, Linux

My System

I think that was the solution.
__________________
If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!

Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
johnwill is offline  
Old 04-10-2006, 09:12 AM   #36
Registered Member
 
0S1R1S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 127
OS: XP Pro / 2000 Server


Acutally I think the solution is to Allow 'deny logon locally' in the DC Policy. Or atleast thats what Microsoft's TechNet suggested.. I did not get to test this theory yet.

__________________
0S1R1S is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:50 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts