Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Protocols and Routing

Constantly need to repair internet connection

This is a discussion on Constantly need to repair internet connection within the Protocols and Routing forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello everyone, I seem to have a problem and would really appreciate your help. 2 days ago I had no


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-20-2010, 05:54 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 158
OS: XP



Hello everyone,
I seem to have a problem and would really appreciate your help. 2 days ago I had no problems with my internet, yesterday morning it didn't work. I hit repair and opened a new internet browser and boom, everything is working. Try to change web pages, and nothing happens. So...I repair again and the web page changes, everything seems fine. Tried changing pages again and same thing. I have to repair, or manually release and renew my IP address every time I want to change web pages. Is this my computer or my router or my provider? Thanks so much for the help everyone.

Here is some info that I am sure folks will be asking for.
ISP: Comcast
Router: Cisco WebSTAR DPC2100R2
OS: Windows XP

Not sure if this information is relevant but I thought I would mention it. Even when I am unable to surf to a new webpage, I can type in the modem access number (192.168.100.1) and access the modem.

__________________
CompNovice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2010, 12:13 PM   #2
Microsoft MVP
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 50,847
OS: Windows 7, XP-Pro, Vista, Linux

My System


I'm guessing this may be malware.

Let's start by resetting the stack.


TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows XP with SP2/SP3.

Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt:

In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following commands, each followed by the Enter key:

Note: Type only the text in bold for the following commands.

Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults, type: netsh int ip reset reset.log

Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults, type: netsh winsock reset catalog

Reboot the machine.

__________________
If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!

Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
johnwill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2010, 07:58 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 158
OS: XP



Good evening Johnwill, thank you so much for the reply. I do not know what the problem was, but it seems to have resolved itself. I did run malwarebytes and removed 3 items it found, so I don't know if that may have fixed the problem. If you think it would help, I am happy to continue the fix you had planned just to make sure that I don't have any problems in the future. But if you think I should not continue with the fix, please let me know.
__________________
CompNovice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2010, 11:05 AM   #4
Microsoft MVP
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 50,847
OS: Windows 7, XP-Pro, Vista, Linux

My System


Don't fix stuff that ain't broke! ©
__________________
If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!

Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
johnwill is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:54 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts