Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Protocols and Routing

belkin wifi router does not allow internet on second pc

This is a discussion on belkin wifi router does not allow internet on second pc within the Protocols and Routing forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi, Writing to get some help... My setup is the following : Belkin N wifi router Old HP laptop with


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-04-2010, 02:39 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2
OS: win xp



Hi,

Writing to get some help...



My setup is the following :

Belkin N wifi router
Old HP laptop with built-in wifi - running windows xp
New desktop with D-Link Nano wifi usb key - running windows xp (just reinstalled, not even an antivirus on it yet)



The wifi router was installed using the laptop one year ago and worked flawlessly since then, despite the fact that quality of the signal appeared as "low".
Yesterday I bought the D-Link Nano to make my desktop wireless. The Nano key is "n" certified so I thought it'd improve my surfing experience (the laptop is pbbly a b or something). Quality of the signal changes from low to excellent, there's no connection loss between the desktop and the router BUT I can barely the internet.

I tried to change channels through the router interface....some of them worked, I could get download speeds that were at about 50 kbps through one or two of them channles, but then they starting dropping as low as 5 kbps and finally to 0 (while the laptop kept the same speed through it all).

I tried to connect the desktop to the router/modem using a cable, download speed was fast/what it should be. But I unfortunately can't keep it "cabled" (bad phone jacks setup in the house) so I need the wifi setup to work.


In the meantime, the laptop still works flawlessly.


I'm no techie so any help is more than welcome....what should I do ? Is it a problem of router configuration ? Windows ?

My HTC phone uses the wifi connection without any problem if that remark is of any value.

Also he router control panel recognizes the two machines....and gives each of them a unique ip....the way it should be I guess. But only one of them gets normal internet access.

Thanks for any input, I'd like to settle this quickly in order to know if I should bring the D-link Nano to the store....


D

__________________
eurekastreet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2010, 04:41 PM   #2
Microsoft MVP
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 50,845
OS: Windows 7, XP-Pro, Vista, Linux

My System


Please supply the following info, exact make and models of the equipment please.

Name of your ISP (Internet Service Provider).
Make and exact model of the broadband modem.
Make and exact model and hardware version of the router (if a separate unit).
Make and exact model and hardware version of any other network equipment, like a repeater, a booster, hi-gain antenna, etc.
Model numbers can usually be obtained from the label on the device.
Connection type, wired or wireless.
If wireless, encryption used, (none, WEP, WPA, or WPA2)
Version and patch level of Windows on all affected machines, i.e. XP (Home or Pro), SP1-SP2-SP3, Vista (Home, Business, Ultimate), etc.
The Internet Browser in use, IE, Firefox, Opera, etc.




Please give an exact description of your problem symptoms, including the exact text of any error messages.



  • Have you tried to do a system restore to before the problem occurred?
  • If you're using a wireless connection, have you tried a direct connection with a cable to see if that changes the symptoms?
  • For wireless issues, have you disabled all encryption on the router to see if you can connect that way?
  • For wireless connection issues, have you removed all the stored wireless network profiles and then searched for the network?
  • For wireless laptops, have you made SURE the wireless switch is on?
  • For wired connection issues, have you booted in Safe Mode with Networking to see if that changes the symptoms?
  • Have you connected directly to the broadband modem to see if this is a router or modem/ISP issue?
  • If there are other computers on the same network, are they experiencing the same issue, or do they function normally?





On any affected computer, I'd also like to see this:

Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD (COMMAND for W98/WME) to open a command prompt:

Type the following commands on separate lines, following each one with the Enter key:

PING 74.125.45.100

PING yahoo.com

NBTSTAT -n

IPCONFIG /ALL


Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
Paste the results in a message here.

If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.

__________________
If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!

Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
johnwill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2010, 03:26 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2
OS: win xp



Thanks for the help, I managed to fix it eventually, it was only a range issue - strange thing though that a brand new n external adapter has a shorter range than a 5 y.o. laptop's integrated wifi antenna....sorry for disturbing
__________________
eurekastreet is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:22 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts