Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Protocols and Routing

5 IP addresses from DSL modem, two routers

This is a discussion on 5 IP addresses from DSL modem, two routers within the Protocols and Routing forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have a customer using CenturyLink DSL. His DSL modem only has one physical ethernet port providing 5 static IP


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-09-2012, 12:25 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 6
OS: Windows 7



I have a customer using CenturyLink DSL. His DSL modem only has one physical ethernet port providing 5 static IP addresses. I need to pass these IP addresses to multiple routers. Customer will be running two separate and distinct Sweepstakes systems. I need to be able to isolate them so each server has it's own dedicated static IP. I cannot use DHCP, nor can I stack routers. Is there a switch that I can use that will take the 5 IP addresses from the ISP, pass them thru to multiple routers, so I can keep my two systems separate? I guess what I'm asking is I need to turn one physical ethernet connection into at least two ethernet connections, each with its own IP address.

__________________
sailfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 12:34 PM   #2
Management Team Networking
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Oregon
Posts: 15,701
OS: Vista/Win7



Switches don't pass thru ip addresses per se. They pass the packets containing the data which can be the ip address. That is at layer 3 of the OSI model whereas a switch operates at layer 2.

Your solution is simple. Put in a 5 port switch. You have to statically assign the ip address to each routers wan interface.

Hope this helps

Wand3r3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 12:53 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 6
OS: Windows 7



Thanks for the timely response.

I figured it was something simple. Basically, I take a 5 port switch, connect it to my DSL modem and then set up each of my routers to "look" for their own static IP address on the wan port. Now I can connect additional switches from each router to my workstations.

So its DSL modem > 5 port switch > router(s) > switches > workstations.
__________________
sailfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 01:27 PM   #4
Management Team Networking
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Oregon
Posts: 15,701
OS: Vista/Win7



You can not configure any router to "look" for its ip address. You have to assign one of the ip addresses manually to the wan port of the router. This is why they are called static ips.

Is there a reason the sweepstakes systems need different wan ips?
Somebody tell you this?
Wand3r3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 04:55 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 6
OS: Windows 7



The company I work for states that our sweepstakes system needs a dedicated static IP address. This is why I need to use one of the five static IP's provided by CenturyLink. CenturyLink's DSL modem only has one ethernet port on it. I have to connect my router to that ethernet port effectively disconnecting everything else in his store. Unless I can use a switch and go "DSL modem to Switch to My router (and anything other router in his store)". I then assign one of the five IP's to my router. Am I thinking correctly?

Thanks
__________________
sailfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 01:08 PM   #6
Management Team Networking
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Oregon
Posts: 15,701
OS: Vista/Win7



Yes you would put in switch between router/sweepstakes machines and the modem. You would manually assign one public ip to each devices wan port.

Wand3r3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DSL modem Problem
Hello to all the helpful pro dsl people. I've been having some major problems with my westell 6100, internet disconnects every five to ten seconds, and sometimes the internet won't come back for hours, I contacted frontier (was previously verizon) and I told them about the issue, they checked...
kransilver Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite 2 08-13-2011 05:27 AM
dsl modem / wireless router disconnects
I have a DSL connection (through Centurylink). The DSL modem is directly connected to a NetGear WNR2000 wirless N router. All is well except, I frequently get disconnected from the internet (typically when the weather is bad: cold weather, snow, wind, heavy rain). I have called the DSL...
Johncmug Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite 3 01-16-2011 05:40 PM
Using second dsl modem as access point
using DSL modem as ap -------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Hey guys, sorry if this has been addressed elsewhere. I just replaced my dls modem with a newer one...i decided i wanted to use the older 2wire 2700 as an AP...looked around found a few...
snapetwo Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite 0 01-14-2011 10:26 PM
using DSL modem as ap
Hey guys, sorry if this has been addressed elsewhere. I just replaced my dls modem with a newer one...i decided i wanted to use the older 2wire 2700 as an AP...looked around found a few directions. Basically its working...kinda. ha On the old modem i changed the router lan ip to...
snapetwo Networking Support 1 01-14-2011 04:07 PM
[SOLVED] Zoom DSL modem resets/drops out with a unique effect
I will explain as much as I can. I looked at a previous thread on modem resets and replugging all the wiring including a different phone jack in another room. I did that but the problem persists and I have contacted the ISP for replacement of the Zoom modem and line filter. The problem...
loninappleton Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite 6 01-13-2011 01:12 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:17 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts