Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Cabling and Network Cards

[SOLVED] Network Adapter Losing Connection After a Power Outage

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] Network Adapter Losing Connection After a Power Outage within the Cabling and Network Cards forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. *Please let me know if I need to post on another section instead of Cabling and Network Cards* Last night


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-03-2013, 05:42 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 27
OS: Windows 7



*Please let me know if I need to post on another section instead of Cabling and Network Cards*

Last night my power went out for only a few seconds while my computer was on. My computer restarted itself and was on when I awoke this morning, but I couldn't establish a connection to my router. I could connect with my phone and another computer in the house, so I knew it must be my computer. I restarted my computer and I could establish a connection, but now every few minutes I lose the connection to my router.

Additional information:
My computer is a desktop with a gigabyte motherboard and it is plugged into an old surge protector. My wireless adapter is a "D-Link DWA-552 XtremeN Desktop Adapter."

Thank you in advance for your help.

__________________
qdeanc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2013, 12:29 PM   #2
Management Team Networking
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Oregon
Posts: 15,776
OS: Vista/Win7



Please click on the link in my signature and provide the requested info. Thanks

Wand3r3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2013, 03:16 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 27
OS: Windows 7



Thanks for the quick reply! Fortunately, my signal strength has slowly gotten better and now it's back to its old self. I'm a little too busy to investigate why this happened, but if I run into any more problems I'll be sure to ask!
__________________
qdeanc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2013, 08:11 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 27
OS: Windows 7



Ok my internet sucks again:
Wireless Connection
Provider: AT&T
I'm not sure what broadband I'm using. All I know is that my Wifi comes from a router that us plugged into the wall
I use a D-Link DWA-552 XtremeN Desktop Adapter
The only Anti-virus software I use is Malwarebytes, which I run full scans with weekly.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture.JPG
Views:	55
Size:	158.6 KB
ID:	142513  
Attached Files
File Type: txt ipconfig.txt (3.2 KB, 18 views)
__________________
qdeanc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2013, 07:46 AM   #5
Management Team Networking
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Oregon
Posts: 15,776
OS: Vista/Win7



DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : gateway.2wire.net from your ipconfig
You appear to be connecting to your neighbors wifi. Additionally it appears your neighbor is giving you false internet settings.

Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254 <-_ bad entry for dns

Unfortunately it appears your router is not performing well in comparison to your neighbors. You need to make sure you connect to your router.

Might want to see if a Linksys wifi adapter would work better with your Linksys router.
Wand3r3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2013, 01:50 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 27
OS: Windows 7



We actually have two routers in our house. Normally I am connected to 2wire but I had to use artemis when writing my reply because I was having trouble connecting to 2wire. Man, I spent $80 on my wifi adapter because my old Linksys adapter kept crashing my computer. Here's another screen capture of Xirrus and ipconfig when I'm connected to 2wire. Please let me know if there's anything I can do to make my adapter perform better without replacing it just yet. Thanks!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture.JPG
Views:	49
Size:	159.9 KB
ID:	143081  
Attached Files
File Type: txt ipconfig.txt (4.8 KB, 17 views)

__________________
qdeanc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Laptop wireless disconnects when wired is disconnected huh?
If I have the wired cable plugged in to my laptop1 the wireless connection works fine. If I disconnect that wired cable then the wireless connection disconnects as well. I can watch this happening when I have the connection dialogs open showing the connection wizard dialogs. The other...
m21_1 Networking Support 5 09-14-2012 10:05 PM
[SOLVED] Connected to router but no Internet
Hey this is my first time here so hopefully we can figure this out! We recently moved out router from inside a cabinet to on top of it for better wireless reception but once we plugged everything back in, none of our computers were able to connect to the wireless signal. It picks up the signal...
ajever01 Networking Support 20 07-17-2012 03:01 PM
Rootkit Zero Access Trojan / Virus
System Dell Duo inspiron 1090 Windows 7 Home Premium Machine has been infected by above mentioned virus this was deduced by running task manager and the top process read something 778686798.123456.exe then browsing google to see what I could find it couldn't be stopped and it has disabled all virus...
bigfoot57 Resolved HJT Threads 78 11-30-2011 02:31 PM
no internet connection at home
My pc will connect everywhere else but my house and my brothers laptop will connect at my house. I have no green light on my Ethernet cable, when I try to see my ip address it says media disconnected. I've uninstalled and reinstated my driver. I've also tried a few things that I've read on here...
danpull Networking Support 28 09-08-2011 09:14 AM
Power Supply Information and Selection
:smile: CHOOSING AND UNDERSTANDING A POWER SUPPLY UNIT The power supply unit in today’s modern computer assumes a role probably more critical than any other single component in your system even when compared to the CPU and motherboard. Therefore, there are multiple factors that must...
Tumbleweed36 RAM and Power Supply Support 0 07-09-2006 03:41 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:12 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts