Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Cabling and Network Cards

settings saved on this computer for the network dont match requirements of the networ

This is a discussion on settings saved on this computer for the network dont match requirements of the networ within the Cabling and Network Cards forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have a Linksys wireless-G router that works perfectly when i plug a cable from it to my laptop but


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-02-2008, 01:59 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2
OS: xp



I have a Linksys wireless-G router that works perfectly when i plug a cable from it to my laptop but otherwise it wont connect to the router because it says the settings saved on the computer do not match the requirements of the network. Can anyone help?

__________________
Bob Guthrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2008, 05:24 AM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 83
OS: VistaUltimate/XPPro/Server2008



Hi Bob,

Sounds like the wireless connection has been configured incorrectly on the laptop,
Try going into the network and sharing centre, delete the current entry for your wireless network (as long as you're confident you know the passkey or can change it).
Search again for wireless networks, re-select your network and ensure you use the correct security setting (WEP/WPA etc).

If there is still no luck with this I would try removing the security settings from your router (unsecured wireless), test you can at least connect to your router and if successful re-implement the security method you want to use and configure the wireless connection again.

__________________
ExMachina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2008, 04:56 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2
OS: xp



I am able to connect to it when it is unsecured but once i connect to it and make it secure, i loose my connection.
__________________
Bob Guthrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2008, 05:59 PM   #4
Microsoft MVP
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 50,845
OS: Windows 7, XP-Pro, Vista, Linux

My System


What is the version and patch level of Windows in use? Are you using WEP or WPA?

If you're trying to configure this using a wireless connection, that's probably part of the issue. Use a wired connection to configure the wireless capability.
__________________
If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!

Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
johnwill is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:48 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts