Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Cabling and Network Cards

Lan card disabled every reboot

This is a discussion on Lan card disabled every reboot within the Cabling and Network Cards forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. HI I'm french and didn't find answer for my problem in frenchweb.I have acer laptop with xp and must do


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-05-2011, 02:05 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 3
OS: xp



HI
I'm french and didn't find answer for my problem in frenchweb.I have acer laptop with xp and must do enable my lan card to open conection in devices manager.every reboot the lan conection is disabled.for information I delete a virus pum bad proxy with malwarebytes before I have a problem know ervery thing is ok without virus.
can you help me.
thanks

__________________
acercom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2011, 05:52 PM   #2
Administrator
Microsoft MVP

Team Manager
- Networking
- Microsoft Support
- Hardware
 
Old Rich's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 47,074
OS: XP, Win 7



and welcome to the Forum

I would download and install the driver for the network adaptor

Old Rich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2011, 12:00 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
On-SiteSupport's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 26
OS: Windows Xp Professional x64



Ok i think i might have an idea of what can be happening. You will have to go into the bios which is the first screen you see when you turn on your computer. Press the button that will get you into the setup (most times its F2 but can differ from PC's). Once you get into the bios/setup options look for an option that says WAKE ON LAN and make sure that this is DISABLED.

Also disable it in windows. Go into device manager, Right click the network adapter that you are using, Go into the properties, Go into the Power Management and uncheck the box that says "Allow this device to wake the computer".

Go into Advanced tab, and then in the "Property" box, click the "WakeOnLAN From Poweroff" or "Wake from Shutdown". Click Disable/off in the "Value" box.

Click "Wake on Magic Packet" or "Wake-Up Capabilities" in the "Property" box, and then click Disable/off in the "Value" box. Click Ok and Save your settings.

Post back and let me know whats going on we can get it fixed.
__________________
On-SiteSupport is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2011, 03:22 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 3
OS: xp



HI
Thank's for your Answers.

I download drivers from Acer and try again from other website nothing happened.

other thing I disabled Network Boot from Bios , Uncheck allow this device to wake up the computer and I disabled Wake up on ARP/PING.because didn't find Wake on Magic Packet.
for information Wake up on Link Change is disabled and also Wake up on APM Mode.
Sorry it's the same problem
__________________
acercom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2011, 08:34 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
On-SiteSupport's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 26
OS: Windows Xp Professional x64



Quote:
Originally Posted by acercom View Post
HI
Thank's for your Answers.

I download drivers from Acer and try again from other website nothing happened.

other thing I disabled Network Boot from Bios , Uncheck allow this device to wake up the computer and I disabled Wake up on ARP/PING.because didn't find Wake on Magic Packet.
for information Wake up on Link Change is disabled and also Wake up on APM Mode.
Sorry it's the same problem
Ok no problem. Go into start, then click on run. Type in msconfig. Go into services tab, click on hide all of microsoft services. Please let me know what do you see here. List all the services that are running first, then the stopped ones. Post your results back here.
__________________
On-SiteSupport is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2011, 11:26 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 3
OS: xp



OK
it' s very long list and how can I translate all applications Windows in english.?
__________________
acercom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2011, 11:46 AM   #7
Management Team Networking
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Oregon
Posts: 15,701
OS: Vista/Win7



Use google translate to translate french to english like so
Utilisez Google translate pour traduire l'anglais au français

Avez-vous un point de restauration d'avant vous avez eu le virus? Si c'est le cas de restauration à ce point.

Je suggère également d'exécuter un autre programme comme AGV ou Avast pour vérifier votre système. Toujours préférable d'obtenir deux points de vue de l'infection. Last but not least consulter la section du réseau dans le Gestionnaire de périphériques pour vous assurer que le pilote de la carte réseau est uptodate.

Wand3r3r is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] Wireless Card Detected, But No Internet in 2nd PCI Slot
Hello there, Hope this is the right forum. I have an interesting problem, though quite frustrating. I've found that my wireless card does not access internet in the "2nd" pci slot. After much perusing of forum threads, I've tried many things before posting and will list all my attempts...
SaigoChan Cabling and Network Cards 6 09-05-2012 04:19 PM
Nvidia 8400 GS Graphics Card : Sudden Crash
Hello, I'm getting tired of trying to fix this issue with my video card. As stated in the title its and Nvidia 8400 GS 512 mb video card. The problem started while playing a 3D game. All of a sudden the game crashed by distarting the image on the screen and changing the colors of the image...
1Tachii Video Card Support 23 02-20-2012 03:46 AM
Wireless adapter lan card not connecting
:cry::cry::sigh::cry: I'm trying to switch from my local DSL router connection over to my USB wireless adapter or wifi connection. I have installed the included software using the CD included. It's called Ralink the icon installed correctly everything should be up and running well according to...
amybcraft77 Cabling and Network Cards 12 05-07-2011 05:41 PM
How hosts find their destination in the given scenario?
Hello, I'm a recent comp sci graduate and I wanted help understanding how hosts communicate with each other. I have several Cisco switches connecting our network. Switch N connects to the gateway, Switches Y & Z connect to some hosts. Switch N connects to Y and Y connects to Z. Assume our...
Routaran Networking Support 10 03-05-2011 08:24 AM
Need some help. Virus/malware Thanks!
:upset: Tons of popup windows saying this file is infected and that file is infected, do I want to open up my security software (and this isn't my CA security suite doing this). Even if I'm using Firefox random windows in IE will open with (******.com/porno.com/adult.com). Hardly any...
R_Willis Inactive Malware Help Topics 7 01-20-2011 09:50 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:58 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts