Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Cabling and Network Cards

How Do You Find the wireless network interface on a Windows?

This is a discussion on How Do You Find the wireless network interface on a Windows? within the Cabling and Network Cards forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Can anybody help me with this issue? I've been trying to see whether my wireless card's interface was this "wlan0"


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-17-2011, 02:57 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 2
OS: winxp Service Pack 3



Can anybody help me with this issue?

I've been trying to see whether my wireless card's interface was this "wlan0" or other code thing that i've read from these tutorials on how to make my wireless card go into monitor mode, but i haven't been able to find the command for windows.

I only get iwconfig which i've found out is only for a linux OS(I think that that's an actual system) and it doesn't work for windows.

I tried to use ipconfig but so far i can only see my ip address and my mac address and the name but no interface.

My network adapter is a Atheros AR9285 Wireless Network Adapter.

My system is a Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition Version 2002 Service Pack 3. I would appreciate any help.

Also, i'm still barely able to even recognize myself as a beginner so if you could avoid using any word that i'm not able look up and get a clear definition of (by that i mean go from the definition of that word to the definition of another word that was in the definition of the word i was trying to define) I would much appreciate it.

Abbreviations I believe I can handle.

__________________
Inshomothal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2011, 06:42 PM   #2
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 5,003
OS: Win7, Win8, XP, Ubuntu



What exactly are you trying to accomplish? I can't think of any legitimate reasons why you'd need to do this but I'll give you the benefit of the doubt.

__________________

TSF does not support assistance through email or private messages, please keep all questions in the open forum.
JMPC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2011, 03:38 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 2
OS: winxp Service Pack 3



My friend has been trying to trying to show me how to monitor my own network but he says I need to figure out what my network interface is so I can switch it to monitor mode.
__________________
Inshomothal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2011, 12:19 PM   #4
Management Team Networking
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Oregon
Posts: 15,586
OS: Vista/Win7



"i've read from these tutorials "

have a link to one of these so we understand what it is you have been reading?

does putting a nic into promiscuous mode sound familiar?

are you trying to use wireshark?
Wand3r3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Google Redirect
Hi everyone! Last week my computer had bluescreened and it had the Critical Disk Error virus which I was able to remove using rkill & Malware, but now it seems that I am having the Google Redirect problem. Not sure if these two are related, but wanted to include that in there in case it was. ...
irenekau Resolved HJT Threads 1 06-14-2011 01:06 PM
Some kind of redirect on computer (Monster Marketplace)
I don't know how this happened, but something has gotten into my computer that constantly redirects anything I click on. If I enter a search in the box, that does OK, but whenever I click on anything, there's a high likelihood that what I've clicked on won't come up - quite often, Monster...
Calgirl Resolved HJT Threads 198 05-23-2011 06:01 AM
bad image error and norton 360
Hi, My initial problem was trying to get rid of the "Bad Image" error message that has been popping up on literally every file and folder on my PC (Windows XP). Situation has gone from bad to worse as i installed norton 360 5.0. Now nothing works, unable to connect to the internet, unable to...
royalmc Resolved HJT Threads 25 04-07-2011 07:36 AM
Virus and Malware Removal
When opening programs or searching the internet, every activity always causes my memory usage to peak to 100%. It wouldn't bother me if it didn't slow things down. My computer used to perform better. I have a pentium 4, 1.8 ghz with 1gig of ram. Google maps is a particular problem, it uses so much...
NWAngler Resolved HJT Threads 9 03-14-2011 07:18 AM
virus ends all programs, help please
Hello there, the other day whilst not really paying attention I allowed a fishy program to bypass my firewall, and it basically just shuts down any prgrm I open, and opens some fake virus software stuff. Anyways help please, I don't want to buy a new computer yet :grin:
redphase Inactive Malware Help Topics 8 02-25-2011 11:14 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:17 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts