Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Cabling and Network Cards

D-Link DIR-615 strange problem

This is a discussion on D-Link DIR-615 strange problem within the Cabling and Network Cards forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hey, I wasn't sure where to put this so... Sorry if its in the wrong place. Anyway, recently I got


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-11-2010, 01:19 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Ruzzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Kettering, Northamptonshire, UK
Posts: 251
OS: XP Pro SP2


Send a message via MSN to Ruzzy

Hey, I wasn't sure where to put this so... Sorry if its in the wrong place.

Anyway, recently I got a D-Link DIR-615 Router. Wireless and all that jazz. I plugged it in and it started working just fine, was great sitting on my bed with no wires to worry about with the laptop.

Either way it suddenly lost connection, so I turned off the router and plugged it back in but instead of being greeted by a load of blinking green lights I was greeted (and still am) by a blue light coming from a button on the side.

The button's image has two arrows pointing around each other as if its a refresh button however pushing it seems to do nothing.

I've tried unplugging the device for twenty seconds, I even left it over night.
I can't seem to find any support for this problem on D-Links website so I thought maybe someone on here might know?

Thank you for your time

Ruzzy

__________________
Ruzzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2010, 01:35 PM   #2
2xg
Team Manager, Networking Forums, Microsoft MVP
 
2xg's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 19,759
OS: Windows O/S'es



Hello,

You may try to Power Cycle all your devices in this order:
1. Save all your current work, close all open applications, then shut down your computer. Wait for a minute.
2. First, turn your Router off and wait for a couple of minutes.
3. Turn off your modem.
4. Disconnect all the ethernet cables that are connected to the router and modem and the PC.
5. Reconnect them and ensure that there are no loose connections in between them.
6. Now, switch on your PC and let it boot.
7. Switch on the modem first and after it gets initialized, switch on the router.

Pls. post update.

__________________

Microsoft MVP 2011-2013 Windows Expert Consumer
Networking Articles & Tutorials
2xg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2010, 02:02 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Ruzzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Kettering, Northamptonshire, UK
Posts: 251
OS: XP Pro SP2


Send a message via MSN to Ruzzy

Hey, thanks for the reply.

I did what you said but unfortunately that has not resolved the problem.

As far as I'm aware theres nothing wrong with the actual networking side of it, it will get a network address whilst everythings hooked up but its Limited or No Connectivity.

Its on the actual D-Link unit the light is under a button
__________________
Ruzzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2010, 08:31 AM   #4
Microsoft MVP
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 50,847
OS: Windows 7, XP-Pro, Vista, Linux

My System


The blue button is the WPS button, it's active for a short time to automatically configure your network if you have compatible adapters and drivers.


The following procedure should get you a connection with any broadband modem that is configured to use DHCP for the router connection, such as cable modems, and many DSL modems. If you require PPPoE configuration for the DSL modem, that will have to be configured to match the ISP requirements.

Note that the wireless encryption and channel selection will have to be done after the basic wired connection is established, the first step is to get wired connections working.

  • Reset the router to factory defaults by holding the reset button down for 15 seconds with power on.
  • Turn off everything, the modem, router, computer.
  • Connect the modem to the router's WAN/Internet port.
  • Connect the computer to one of the router's LAN/Network ports.
  • Turn on the modem, wait for a steady connect light.
  • Turn on the router, wait for two minutes.
  • Boot the computer.

When the computer is completely booted, let's see this.

Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD (COMMAND for W98/WME) to open a command prompt:

NOTE: For the items below in red surrounded with < >, see comments below for the actual information content, they are value substitutions from the previous command output!

In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following commands one at a time, followed by the Enter key:

IPCONFIG /ALL

PING <computer_IP_address>

PING <default_gateway_address>

PING <dns_servers>

PING 206.190.60.37

PING yahoo.com


Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter to copy the contents to the clipboard.
Paste the results in a message here.

<computer_IP_address> - The IP Address of your computer, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above.

<default_gateway_address> - The IP address of the Default Gateway, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above.

<dns_servers> - The IP address of the first (or only) address for DNS Servers, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above.


If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
__________________
If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!

Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
johnwill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2010, 06:44 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Ruzzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Kettering, Northamptonshire, UK
Posts: 251
OS: XP Pro SP2


Send a message via MSN to Ruzzy

Right, I did the steps you asked for and when I turned the wireless router back on it still had the blue light on and none of the face lights were lighting up but heres the information you asked for

Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Ruzzy>ipconfig/all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : melissa
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : ADMtek AN983 10/100 PCI Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-E8-12-B3-6A
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration IP Address. . . : 169.254.11.212
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :

C:\Documents and Settings\Ruzzy>

I think there is no Default Gateway as it couldn't establish an internet connection
__________________
Ruzzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2010, 06:57 AM   #6
Microsoft MVP
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 50,847
OS: Windows 7, XP-Pro, Vista, Linux

My System


If you don't get an IP address, and you've checked the cable and the computer, maybe the router has really died.
__________________
If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!

Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
johnwill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2010, 01:10 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Ruzzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Kettering, Northamptonshire, UK
Posts: 251
OS: XP Pro SP2


Send a message via MSN to Ruzzy

I was wondering if it had properly died. In a way no biggy since I got it free with the internet kit but still an inconviniance. Thanks for your time
__________________
Ruzzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2010, 04:06 PM   #8
Microsoft MVP
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 50,847
OS: Windows 7, XP-Pro, Vista, Linux

My System


Well, I'm sure the ISP should replace it if it's dead. A factory reset should allow you to connect to one of the LAN ports and call up the router's web based setup, if it doesn't, it's dead.
__________________
If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!

Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
johnwill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2010, 09:53 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Ruzzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Kettering, Northamptonshire, UK
Posts: 251
OS: XP Pro SP2


Send a message via MSN to Ruzzy

Yeah I tried that by plugging the router into a LAN port and i still couldn't pull up the web based setup or get into the router settings via a browser so i guess its R.I.P Router?
__________________
Ruzzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2010, 08:18 AM   #10
Microsoft MVP
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 50,847
OS: Windows 7, XP-Pro, Vista, Linux

My System


That would be my analysis. I'm assuming the cable and NIC work for other connections, all that's left is the router.
__________________
If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!

Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
johnwill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2010, 10:04 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
Ruzzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Kettering, Northamptonshire, UK
Posts: 251
OS: XP Pro SP2


Send a message via MSN to Ruzzy

Righteo then! Consider this thread closed now then eh
cheers again

__________________
Ruzzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:04 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts