Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Cabling and Network Cards

Connect my Thinkpad to a TV?

This is a discussion on Connect my Thinkpad to a TV? within the Cabling and Network Cards forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi, I have an IBM Thinkpad T60 with an Intel 945GM video card. I would like to connect my laptop


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-25-2007, 07:06 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 6
OS: XP SP 2



Hi,

I have an IBM Thinkpad T60 with an Intel 945GM video card. I would like to connect my laptop to my sharp telelvision so I can watch movies on it. Do you know what cables are required to do this. I need both video and sound to appear on my TV. Thanks. Appreciate any feedback

__________________
iamlegend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2007, 08:44 PM   #2
Microsoft MVP
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 50,845
OS: Windows 7, XP-Pro, Vista, Linux

My System


What outputs does the laptop have for video? What inputs does the TV have for video?

__________________
If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!

Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
johnwill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2008, 05:20 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 6
OS: XP SP 2



Hi,

sorry for the late reply. for the TV, i have audio/video terminals and a S-video port. There are also "component" video output terminals.

For the IBM thinkpad, there is a VGA out port
__________________
iamlegend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2008, 04:29 PM   #4
Microsoft MVP
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 50,845
OS: Windows 7, XP-Pro, Vista, Linux

My System


You can get a VGA -> composite adapter to connect it, it's just a simple and cheap thing.
__________________
If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!

Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
johnwill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2008, 11:15 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 6
OS: XP SP 2



thanks for the reply johnwill. I had another question. a friend of my mentioned that the HDMI DVI (TV) component cable or the VGA 25 pins (computer) cable would also do the job. is this a better option? is it compatible? will it provide better picture quality? thanks a lot.
__________________
iamlegend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2008, 01:59 PM   #6
Microsoft MVP
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 50,845
OS: Windows 7, XP-Pro, Vista, Linux

My System


Again, it's dependent on the capability of the computer and TV. My HP laptop has an HDMI output, and I've connected it directly to my plasma TV, works great.

What outputs does the laptop have, and what inputs does the TV have? You can't convert VGA outputs to HDMI, one is analog, the other digital.
__________________
If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!

Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
johnwill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2008, 04:44 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 6
OS: XP SP 2



My laptop doesnt have an HDMI output. Just the regular VGA output. In addition, I am planning to use this cable with my desktop too. The PC also has a VGA output. So I think the VGA composite adapter is the cable that will work. I went to Radioshak and Best Buy but none of them have the cable.

Is this the VGA>composite adapter that you mentioned:

http://cgi.ebay.com/VGA-to-S-Video-R...QQcmdZViewItem

I just want to be sure before I purchase it online. Thanks a lot.
__________________
iamlegend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2008, 05:10 PM   #8
Microsoft MVP
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 50,845
OS: Windows 7, XP-Pro, Vista, Linux

My System


What inputs does your TV have? If it has VGA, you can use a 1:1 cable for better quality video.

__________________
If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!

Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
johnwill is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question

Gear in this thread


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:11 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts