Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite

TP-Link TL-WA801ND Repeater Setup

This is a discussion on TP-Link TL-WA801ND Repeater Setup within the Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Sorry to bring this up but I'm needing help with this same issue. I've followed the steps with success previously


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-19-2013, 03:01 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 4
OS: Winxp with sp2



Sorry to bring this up but I'm needing help with this same issue.

I've followed the steps with success previously but with a new router i've had to set it up again and I'm struggling. Sometimes I can log on to the TP page to amend settings other times I can't. This is due to an IP conflict.

The guide suggests using 192.168.1.254 but this will bring me to my ISP router settings opposed to TP link.

On the occassion I was able to connect to TP link and followed the instructions, I did not receive any change to signal but the device was running and receiving data.

Currently I can't login to TP page as it loads to my router settings instead for my ISP. However, I am not receiving a 'fair' connection with 3 bars out of 5 opposed to 'poor' and 1 bar. This is with TP link connected via ethernet to my PC which is set up wirelessly.

Any help would be great!

__________________
Deathx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 03:34 PM   #2
2xg
Team Manager, Networking Forums, Microsoft MVP
 
2xg's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 20,026
OS: Windows O/S'es



Hello,

You were originally subscribed in this Thread, I have created your own Thread to better assist you.

__________________

Microsoft MVP 2011-2013 Windows Expert Consumer
Networking Articles & Tutorials
2xg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 03:43 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 4
OS: Winxp with sp2



Thanks Admin.

FYI (anyone willing to help)

I've followed this link: [SOLVED] TP-Link TL-WA801ND Repeater Setup

Essentially, the following:

The step by step configuration process goes like this :
1- Connect the repeater to your laptop with a cat-5 Ethernet cable
2- Set your Ethernet port to the address 192.168.1.100
3- Go to 192.168.1.254 in your browser
4- Enter admin for the user and admin again for pass
5- Go to network tab from the left menu
6- Make sure the ip isn't included in your main routers ip range
7- Go to wireless and put it as universal repeater and then hit survey and click connect on your main router's network
8- Go to the wireless security tab and enter in your main router's security settings
9- Go back to the network and their should be a new setting there called gateway in that field put in your main router's gateway (the ip address you use in your browser to connect to the main router it's usually 192.168.1.1)

But I can't get on the relevant TP page due to IP conflicts :)
__________________
Deathx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 04:55 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 4
OS: Winxp with sp2



Latest update:

I'm now set up with a full signal as previously however I can't unplug the ethernet connection between the wa801nd and my PC. If I do this, I retain full signal but can't access the internet. To resolve this I have to plug in my ethernet cable or unplug the WA801ND (which returns the signal to very poor).

I'm assuming this is something do with LAN connection if removing the ethernet causes the issue.

Ethernet on PC set to 192.168.1.100
The WA801ND is set to 192.168.1.254 (changing my pc ethernet connection to this results in conflict, and I can't log on to tplink page).
__________________
Deathx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2013, 06:51 AM   #5
Moderator - Networking
 
TheCyberMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: The Cyberverse
Posts: 6,935
OS: W8 Prox64,Windows 7 Ult 64-Bit SP1, Mac OSX 10.8.2 Mountain Lion, Android 4.1.1 Jellybean, IOS 6

My System


Please give IP address of the main router please.

Also the guide below will help to setup your repeater:
How to setup a Wireless Repeater | Tech Support Forum

__________________
TheCyberMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] Internet Dropping Off When Ever It Feels Like it
Folks I am using a new netgear N105 wireless modem, on a HP Pavilion a6440a system with windows xp. The Internet seems to drop off. Things I tried: Firstly I recently changed from Netcomm to Netgear as the Netcomm modem start dropping of at random. The new nettgear N105 wireless modem now...
duncvr Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite 14 02-15-2011 12:32 PM
RAM memory in BIOS
Hello When im trying to clock my RAM memory in BIOS its all gray. Any suggestions? "BIOS-Version and -date. American Megatrends Inc. 3.24, 2005-08-11" And installed RAM is only 512
Abfe Overclocking 6 01-27-2011 01:33 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question

Gear in this thread


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:44 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts