Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite

[SOLVED] Netgear Router with Windows Vista/Local Access ONly???

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] Netgear Router with Windows Vista/Local Access ONly??? within the Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have Windows 7 on my Dell Laptop, we just recently got a NETGEAR N600 dual band router and it


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-08-2012, 05:40 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 3
OS: windows 7/windows vista



I have Windows 7 on my Dell Laptop, we just recently got a NETGEAR N600 dual band router and it connects to my laptop but not to my other laptop which is a Toshiba Satellite which runs Windows Vista...on that laptop it says local access only, it connects if its wired but not on wireless...please help!?

__________________
andreamikale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 06:34 PM   #2
2xg
Team Manager, Networking Forums, Microsoft MVP
 
2xg's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 19,896
OS: Windows O/S'es



Welcome to TSF,

I have deleted your other Thread, there's no need to create another one with a similar issue.
====================

We will need some additional information and also output coming from the troubled computer. Please follow the guidelines here:
Pre-posting Requirements - for both Wired and Wireless Connectivity Issues

__________________

Microsoft MVP 2011-2013 Windows Expert Consumer
Networking Articles & Tutorials
2xg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 09:47 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 3
OS: windows 7/windows vista



I didn't realize i created two..my bad...so it's Wireless, ISP is Midcontinent///I know how to run an ip/config/all////runs on DSl//Netgear N600 is what we use//on that computer it's running on Norton Anti Virus//


Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6001]
Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Users\radamson>ipconfig/all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : radamson-PC
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros AR5007EG Wireless Network Adapter

Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-21-63-5A-E1-F7
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8102E Family PCI-E Fast Ethern
et NIC (NDIS 6.0)
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1E-33-61-43-FB
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{33938668-6963-43A1-BF98-6F032D4A8
B80}
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 7:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{BD700D70-4407-43E8-AA8B-DDA1E4D7C
854}
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 11:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : 6TO4 Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 12:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	kdfjskfjd.jpg
Views:	31
Size:	104.3 KB
ID:	117161   Click image for larger version

Name:	kdjfdkfjdslkf.jpg
Views:	26
Size:	176.3 KB
ID:	117162  
__________________
andreamikale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 10:07 PM   #4
2xg
Team Manager, Networking Forums, Microsoft MVP
 
2xg's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 19,896
OS: Windows O/S'es



No worries, we are here to sort things out.

Thanks for the info., it does help a lot. Make sure that the Windows Vista laptop has the latest Service Pack which is SP2 then let's update the Atheros Wi-Fi driver, you'll have to manually download the zipped file from this site. After you have downloaded you will have to unzip the file then follow this Tutorial on how to manually update the driver.

Test the wireless connection after and post an update.
__________________

Microsoft MVP 2011-2013 Windows Expert Consumer
Networking Articles & Tutorials
2xg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 07:24 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 3
OS: windows 7/windows vista



after I did all of that, It worked on the wireless, thank you so much! :D
__________________
andreamikale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 02:53 PM   #6
2xg
Team Manager, Networking Forums, Microsoft MVP
 
2xg's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 19,896
OS: Windows O/S'es



Glad to hear that it worked out for your. You're Welcome!
Quote:
Originally Posted by andreamikale View Post
after I did all of that, It worked on the wireless, thank you so much! :D

__________________

Microsoft MVP 2011-2013 Windows Expert Consumer
Networking Articles & Tutorials
2xg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Repost Per: CatByte Trojan:dos/alureon.e and SmartHDD problem
Trojan:dos/alureon.e and SmartHDD problem Hello, I hope I'm at the right area for help. This pc I'm on was infected with Trojan:dos/alureon.e and SmartHDD. I was able to get to the net somehow and I installed and ran Malwarebytes and got rid of SmartHDD. Then I ran Windows Defender and it found...
mg67 Resolved HJT Threads 23 07-30-2012 06:24 AM
HELP PLEASE!!!!!!!
Hi, For 2 weeks now, I have a problem with my laptop. Finally I just found you via http://www.techsupportforum.com/forums/f100/malware-removal-help-438072.html] and now I began hoping (please forgive my English!!). Could you please please help me too?? I have this laptop and more or...
Vladia Virus/Trojan/Spyware Help 1 01-08-2012 08:16 AM
Probably Phished; Avira scans incomplete; Winpatrol stalls while"verifying startup pr
Hi there, E here. Probably got Phished while signing into redbox.com located via google search vice saved link :( Multiple Avira scans incomplete; Winpatrol stalls while "verifying startup programs" forcing reboot; linking attach.zip to post also froze pc requiring reboot. 2nd attempt at...
ebernheisel Resolved HJT Threads 50 09-29-2011 11:27 AM
Being Redirected to other sites when Searching on Google
Hello, My problem is that I am being redirected to other sites when searching using Google. I searched around and was told it is a redirection malware/virus that cannot be detected with my normal virus scanner. I was also told I could use "Combofix", but not to use it unless directed to...
cheriserandle Resolved HJT Threads 24 07-31-2011 08:11 PM
Can someone help me see what's up?
I'm a real computer noob I don't know exactly what's going on but ill try to describe it, mostly I'm concerned about a keylogger though. The other problems are every now and then on Google I'll click a link and I'll get sent to some random website, sometimes outta nowhere a new tab will open up to...
soboman Virus/Trojan/Spyware Help 13 05-13-2011 02:20 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:38 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts