Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite

[SOLVED] EXCELLENT SIGNAL, SLOW INTERNET

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] EXCELLENT SIGNAL, SLOW INTERNET within the Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hey everyone, This issue has really been frustrating, hope someone can help :p... My laptop (Dell Inspiron E1505) runs very


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-15-2011, 01:09 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 8
OS: XP



Hey everyone,

This issue has really been frustrating, hope someone can help :p... My laptop (Dell Inspiron E1505) runs very well when at friends/family houses, however, at my house its not this way. On my laptop the connection says excellent but runs extremely slow at my house which baffels me. I have a year-old netgear router (n600) and it works well with my brothers MacBook. Im not a computer genius and dont know much terminology so bear with me, but i think the wireless card in my laptop is fine, and i personally think this problem lies within the router settings. any suggestions???

__________________
cphillips is offline  
Old 08-15-2011, 01:22 PM   #2
Administrator

Team Manager
- Networking
- Microsoft Support
- Hardware
 
Old Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 46,641
OS: XP, Win 7



and welcome to the Forum

I would run a speed test at DSLReports Home : Broadband ISP Reviews News Tools and Forums and record that result, then Try connecting your laptop to the router with a nethernet cable and run the sped test again to see if the speeds are any different.

Old Rich is offline  
Old 08-15-2011, 01:41 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 8
OS: XP



I did not perform these tests, but i can tell by looking on my laptop, Wirelessly the speeds go anywhere from 1-5.5Mbps.. Wired it goes at 100Mbps
__________________
cphillips is offline  
Old 08-15-2011, 02:07 PM   #4
Administrator

Team Manager
- Networking
- Microsoft Support
- Hardware
 
Old Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 46,641
OS: XP, Win 7



Those readings do not mean much . . how far is the laptop from the router?

Download and run this Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector, click the Networks link on the upper left and paste a screen shot of that screen here. Note that this application requires NET Framework to run. If you get an error about a missing function, download and install NET Framework.


To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file. To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.se reading don't mean much . . How far is the laptop from the wirless router?
Old Rich is offline  
Old 08-15-2011, 02:13 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 8
OS: XP



the laptop is currently within 5 feet of the router so the distance should not be an issue. i am downloading the inspector and will reply back as soon as i get the results
__________________
cphillips is offline  
Old 08-15-2011, 02:23 PM   #6
Administrator

Team Manager
- Networking
- Microsoft Support
- Hardware
 
Old Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 46,641
OS: XP, Win 7



. . I would do the speed tests also
Old Rich is offline  
Old 08-15-2011, 02:31 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 8
OS: XP



Click image for larger version

Name:	errorrrr.JPG
Views:	21
Size:	16.4 KB
ID:	96309

error i guess downloading Xirrus.. i had it downloaded at first but then my AVG antivirus program warned me and i accidentally terminated it....\
__________________
cphillips is offline  
Old 08-15-2011, 02:36 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 8
OS: XP



the wired speed test came out as 17080KB/s for download, 1824KB/s upload, and 48ms LAtency. When i wirelessly tried to get to that site from my laptop it took forever and the test never came up when it did load.
__________________
cphillips is offline  
Old 08-15-2011, 03:14 PM   #9
Administrator

Team Manager
- Networking
- Microsoft Support
- Hardware
 
Old Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 46,641
OS: XP, Win 7



Please download it again . . it will tell us a lot about your network
Old Rich is offline  
Old 08-15-2011, 03:26 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 8
OS: XP



Click image for larger version

Name:	use thisss.JPG
Views:	127
Size:	72.4 KB
ID:	96315

re download worked after allowing the program.. heres the results^^^^
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	xirrus wifi.JPG
Views:	179
Size:	118.5 KB
ID:	96314  
__________________
cphillips is offline  
Old 08-15-2011, 04:41 PM   #11
Administrator

Team Manager
- Networking
- Microsoft Support
- Hardware
 
Old Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 46,641
OS: XP, Win 7



Which is yours? If it is the first one, there is no security on it and others may be hitchhikeing on your connection. It's also running on the same channel as another one nearby ( 11 ) Which may cause interference. Change it to 7,8 or 9 and see if it improves
Old Rich is offline  
Old 08-15-2011, 05:18 PM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 8
OS: XP



well i have WEP security right?? and i just changed my channel to 9 and it seems to be staying at 54mbps which is amazing! ha all of the things i went through and this seems to have done the trick. greatly appreciated for taking the time to help me. thanks a lot
__________________
cphillips is offline  
Old 08-15-2011, 06:00 PM   #13
Administrator

Team Manager
- Networking
- Microsoft Support
- Hardware
 
Old Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 46,641
OS: XP, Win 7



The Xirrus report indicates it is "open" . . do you have to enter a key to sign on?

Glad the speed is back . .
Old Rich is offline  
Old 08-16-2011, 08:48 PM   #14
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 8
OS: XP



yeah you do have to enter a key, but yes so am i!
__________________
cphillips is offline  
Old 08-17-2011, 05:38 AM   #15
Administrator

Team Manager
- Networking
- Microsoft Support
- Hardware
 
Old Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 46,641
OS: XP, Win 7



Looks like you are good to go!!

Old Rich is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] very slow wireless internet
Hi, someone I know is using a USB stick for wireless internet on an older computer, and he says that the internet is very slow especially when trying to watch youtube videos. I was wondering if, because the computer is older, that maybe it's USB is too slow and that it may make more sense to buy a...
computersrkool Cabling and Network Cards 12 04-06-2011 07:31 AM
Possible Malware? help!
Computer has started to run really slow in the last week. Also google searches in all browsers (chrome, firefox, IE) are being redirected to other websites and different search engines. I have also found unknown files in c: directory (up to 2000) that are being created by themselves every few...
h4dman Inactive Malware Help Topics 6 04-03-2011 10:56 AM
Possible Virus/Trojan?
I'm having issues with ZoneAlarm not being able to activate anti-virus/anti-spyware. I've updated the a.v. database as well as the app itself to the latest versions but still cannot get av/as to activate. It remains disabled and the option to turn it on is grayed out. I'm also unable to get...
Dan V. Resolved HJT Threads 35 03-28-2011 08:29 AM
Internet Slow, Download/Upload Speeds slow
OK so a couple of months ago I posted about having issues with signal strength, internet speed and download speed being slow. After a bunch of trouble shooting I ended up buying a new (refurbished) router. I now own a Linxsys E2000. Right out of the box it ran great! My speedtest results were in...
odarango Networking Support 15 03-27-2011 07:37 PM
After closing previous thread my problems continue
Hi there. After lots of great help from CatByte all the memory I had lost was returned and it looked like my problems were solved. However I've noticed that the memory I got back has been going down at the same rate as before (see link to thread below). It also takes a long time to shut down with...
Oberjeen Resolved HJT Threads 7 03-19-2011 03:48 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:13 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts