Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite

[SOLVED] Can't connect to 1 website that I could a few hours ago.

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] Can't connect to 1 website that I could a few hours ago. within the Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi, I'm a website designer and I have a customer who insisted on using his own hosting company rather than


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-29-2013, 10:21 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 5
OS: Windows 7



Hi,

I'm a website designer and I have a customer who insisted on using his own hosting company rather than mine. That's no problem, until earlier in the day I can no longer get access to the website.

If I use a proxy I can access it no problem. Similarly, if I use another internet connection I can also access it OK.

After doing research online, I did the following steps.

Checked my host file - No problem.
Reset my router - No change.
Change my IP - Can't because I have a static IP address.
Change DNS settings - used googledns, still the same problem.

I don't know how to post the results of tracert because I can't click the text in the command prompt to copy it!

The company that hosts the website uses a dedicated server from Singlehop and I can't access some of their other websites. But some of theirs I can.

I contacted them to enquire about my IP being banned and they said I had to contact the hosting company. The hosting company won't deal with me because I'm not their customer.

Does it sound like my IP has been banned? It's driving me crazy and my customer will want to know why I've not progressed with his website.

I think I need him to contact the hosting company for me.

I don't want to post the URL here, but I can supply it if you need it.

Please help!

__________________
CAMUK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2013, 12:08 PM   #2
Management Team Networking
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Oregon
Posts: 15,093
OS: Vista/Win7



Welcome to TSF!

What you list is every indication of your ip is being blocked. Most likely a novice security "expert" at the hosting site who is misinterpreting your traffic.

Looks like your customer needs to get you "approved" by the hosting company.

Wand3r3r is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2013, 09:13 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 5
OS: Windows 7



I think you're right. I've emailed my client and asked them to contact the hosting company.

It's a wordpress site so I have no idea whey they banned me. I have two windows open, one for the dashboard and one for the page I'm editing.

Still, I did use it as an excuse to upsell my hosting!

I'll update you if this resolves the issue.
__________________
CAMUK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2013, 03:43 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Dennis_Fused's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Potsdam, NY
Posts: 134
OS: Windows 7 x64



If it were just that one website, could it be possible that a major Uplink being down outside of the hosting center?

Easiest way to determine may be to run a Tracert to the site and see if it drops after any number of hops.

If it can't find the site at all, it's possible that your IP was blocked by some automatic system, or perhaps have you tried to access the site's IP directly? Any changes to the DNS Records may cause the site to not respond for up to 24-72 hours.
__________________
Dennis_Fused is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2013, 10:18 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 5
OS: Windows 7



Hi,

Here is the Tracert result. I have no idea how to read it and whether it says there is a problem or not! Could you please decipher it for me and if possible explain what it all means. I know it's the route between me and the website and there is a lot of "Request time out" but does that mean there is a problem?

Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

tracert mekongproperty.com

Tracing route to mekongproperty.com [173.236.56.106]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 1 ms 2 ms 1 ms 192.168.0.1
2 48 ms 57 ms 80 ms 113.29.251.41
3 57 ms 49 ms 69 ms 113.29.248.65
4 66 ms 63 ms 74 ms 175.28.2.1
5 154 ms 107 ms 106 ms pos2-0-1.ar02.hkg04.pccwbtn.net [63.218.241.225]

6 477 ms 458 ms 451 ms TenGE1-1.br03.sjo01.pccwbtn.net [63.218.6.234]
7 298 ms 292 ms 285 ms 69.22.130.89
8 293 ms 273 ms 276 ms 69.22.143.117
9 289 ms 271 ms 271 ms ae1-70g.cr1.pao1.us.nlayer.net [69.22.143.166]
10 280 ms 284 ms 283 ms 69.22.142.0
11 279 ms 288 ms 299 ms xe-0-0-0.cr1.den1.us.nlayer.net [69.22.142.167]

12 323 ms 341 ms 391 ms xe-4-0-0.cr2.ord1.us.nlayer.net [69.22.142.168]

13 338 ms 405 ms 368 ms 69.31.110.254
14 455 ms 476 ms 493 ms as32475.ae6.ar1.ord6.us.nlayer.net [69.31.110.20
2]
15 338 ms 366 ms 343 ms 69.175.1.98
16 * * * Request timed out.
17 * * * Request timed out.
18 * * * Request timed out.
19 * * * Request timed out.
20 * * * Request timed out.
21 * * * Request timed out.
22 * * * Request timed out.
23 * * * Request timed out.
24 * * * Request timed out.
25 * * * Request timed out.
26 * * * Request timed out.
27 * * * Request timed out.
28 * * * Request timed out.
29 * * * Request timed out.
30 * * * Request timed out.

Trace complete.
__________________
CAMUK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2013, 10:19 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 5
OS: Windows 7



Yes, I've tried accessing the website using the IP address, but it doesn't work too.

Thanks for the help.
__________________
CAMUK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2013, 07:52 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 5
OS: Windows 7



RESOLVED

I was banned for spamming apparently. I love these 'novice' security experts!
__________________
CAMUK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2013, 08:19 AM   #8
Management Team Networking
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Oregon
Posts: 15,093
OS: Vista/Win7



Yep not the first and surely not the last. Thanks for the update

Wand3r3r is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't connect TENDA W307R to W309R (WDS), spent 6 hours already!!
I wasted 6 hours on something that I thought could be done in minutes. I bought a Tenda W309R to accompany my 307R in hopes to expand my coverage. They both support WDS. I thought I could just set them both in WDS and find my router and boom I'd be done. But no, Tenda made it so complicated,...
OnlySkills Networking Support 0 09-21-2013 04:06 PM
[SOLVED] I Cant Connect To ONE Website - Help!
Hello All..I have been connecting to this website DXPnet.com for weeks. now all of a sudden I cant. Ive tried clearing cache and cookies, other browsers too. Nothing. I havent added any firewalls or changed settings. This is the only site I cannot connect to. Any suggestions? Thank you!:sigh:
elvenom Networking Support 14 02-18-2011 08:32 PM
cannot connect to website
when i try to connect to a certain website it lkeeps comming up dns error cannot connect, any ideas on how to solve. many thanks
grandkids Networking Support 3 02-14-2011 12:12 PM
Cannot access our own website or emails
Hi I came on here a few weeks ago with a related posting (see thread here: http://www.techsupportforum.com/forums/f31/solved-internet-phone-network-issues-542784.html). Very shortly after we thought it was (SOLVED), the issue is now very much (UNSOLVED)! We are now losing business due to...
truffle32 Networking Support 9 01-28-2011 07:06 AM
Lush website hack 'exposes credit card details'
Luxury cosmetics firm Lush has ditched its UK website in response to a sustained hacking attack which left users vulnerable to credit card fraud. The firm warns that credit card details submitted to the Lush.co.uk site between 4 October and 20 January may have been compromised by the assault by...
sjb007 Computer Security News 0 01-21-2011 10:59 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:54 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts