Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite

red light on modem

This is a discussion on red light on modem within the Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello I am new to the forum and am actually asking for help with a problem with my son's modem.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-20-2006, 09:15 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1
OS: windows XP



Hello I am new to the forum and am actually asking for help with a problem with my son's modem. I have kind of limited information but he has a Westell 6100 modem and has verizon for an internet provider. They have been using their computer without difficulty and this morning were unable to connect to the internet or e-mail. They tell me that the red light is on where it says "intenet" on their modem box. Device manger says that the modem is working correctly. Any answers or suggestions, I hope? We use our web cams frequently because he is across the country in oregon. Thank you!

__________________
kittycats is offline  
Old 05-20-2006, 11:47 AM   #2
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,478
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm


turn the power off to the modem and then back on again

__________________
dai is offline  
Old 07-16-2006, 10:13 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 28
OS: Windows Xp


When the red light on the modem appears at internet it means the modem has disconnected from the service this could be an authentication issue, or maybe there´s a problem on the line I would strongly advice you to contact verzion tech support, to verify which one of this problems is affecting the modem.
__________________
humsanchez is offline  
Old 08-14-2006, 07:45 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 17
OS: winxp,win 2000


Send a message via Yahoo to tehnnec
red internet light detects an authentication failure with your isp;make sure that you have the correct username and password
:)
__________________
tehnnec is offline  
Old 08-20-2006, 10:02 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
kugureama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 22
OS: win xp


this is how to resolve your issue
-push and hold the reset button at the back of the modem for 30 secs.
-access 192.168.1.1
-if it asked you for authentication, the username will be admin and password is password
-another authentication will appear, just enter "admin" on the 3 boxes the click change then ok button
-you will see the westell home page, click the profile editor button
-then another page will appear
-click the "release button"
-after that, click renew button
--powercycle your computer and modem
-that's it!

__________________
kugureama is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:07 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts